We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favored by the locals”
Review of Bella Ilha

Bella Ilha
Ranked #183 of 637 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This restaurant/bar is located opposite The Melia Madeira Mare hotel ,Its a great little restaurant thats a pizzarria/local cuisene / barbecue /fish meats etc.
Turku, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Favored by the locals”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We have local friend and she wanted to take us here. I ordered pasta carbonara and my girlfriend ordered lasagne. My carbonara was a bit tasteless but the lasagne was cheesy and delicious:) Big portions and nice place.

Helpful?
Thank ouzooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    65
    29
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pizza very Good!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Nice little place, would call in again for a pizza which was really nice, but the tuna steak was pretty Naff!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank KCTCCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Sunny Island
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Nice salads and pizzas”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Lovely salads, pizzas and other nice dishes. Been a couple of times for coffee and one meal.outdoor patio nice if no one is smoking

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank quillingartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overcooked and not fresh fish”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit to Madeira. We went to Ilha for a lunch yesterday and ordered tuna fish steak, grilled sea bass and sea food salad. The size of the dishes was ok, I got quite a lot of prawns, squid and tuna, and we got the food quite fast. However quality of the food was even slightly below average. The squid and prawns in the salad were not fresh. The tuna steak was completely dried out and overcooked probably since it was not fresh. Concerning the sea bass we expected a whole grilled seabass that you get in all other restaurants. However what we got was a cut of a larger fish (sea bass ?) which was definitely not fresh, a bit dry and chewy.
In addition to the "below average" food we got, a dog belonging to a guest was barking non stopping during the whole lunch and not only the owner cared to keep the dog quiet but none of the personnel said anything to the nonchalant guest. This turned the already bad lunch experience even to worse.

Having read all 4 and 5 scores I read before visiting the place, I was really disappointed. The fish you are served at PvP just 30 meters further down is a lot fresher and tastier. I have tried it twice already.

Helpful?
1 Thank ArashBz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Value!!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Fun friendly cafe / bar offering exceptional value for money.

always busy with a great mix of locals and tourists!!

Phil & Sandy

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank sandyphil7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Ilha also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
 
Funchal, Madeira
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Bella Ilha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing