We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Hotel :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
Ranked #25 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Hotel :)”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We were staying in the Pestana Village Hotel for our 'first holiday' as a couple, which naturally causes it's own nerves - however, upon checking in we were greated by Michaela, who was so accommodating and helpful - booking a restaurant for us and giving us little tips of nice places to eat whilst we were staying with them.

The breakfast room has a wonderful selection of food - both cooked items (sausages, bacon, tomatoes, eggs etc), plus continental options and extras like fresh pancakes. The only way that this experience could have been improved would be with the 'toaster' which essentially just created warm bread or cremated bread. But it was a pleasant touch to have an unusual selection of juices outside of the norm - passionfruit was a particular favourite of mine.

We decided not to dine at the hotel for lunch or evening meals as the prices were somewhat extortionate & there are many, many reasonably priced restaurants just outside of the hotel. One aspect that we did indulge in was the 'Happy Hour' each night between 6-7.30pm, as the cocktails were 20% off & all the barmen were particularly amusing and speedy.

The rooms were spotless all the time and cleaned daily. I cannot fault the maidservice at all, as they were always so prompt.

I am so pleased that we stayed at this hotel and we shall definitely be returning in the future.

Room Tip: The 'double beds' are actually 2 single beds pushed together, but that does mean that you ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    358
    87
    11
    7
See reviews for
188
528
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Wonderful village with beautiful plants everywhere. Rooms very large and nice.
Nice swimming pools.
Nice internet room.
Half board(buffet breakfast and dinner) quite UNSATISFACTORY!
Onion and/or garlic everywhere. Every day the same desserts of industrial quality.
Drinks were not included: 4,20 euro for 1 bottle/liter of water!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank francesco p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Having spent the previous week at a 5 star very expensive hotel , this was a cheaper option for our second week but we were not disappointed. Our room was comfortable with a good view of mountains and city . The staff were friendly and helpful, pools lovely and the whole hotel had a nice vibe to it. Breakfast buffet was excellent. Not too far to walk into town.

The only downsides were ; a 2 euro charge for the sunshades around the pool - although there was plenty of shade around just need to move your sunbed every now and then during the day and the facilities for self catering were limited to one pot, no serving spoons or utensils and no large dinner size plates. However we managed to cook ourselves a couple of meals .

Luigis pizza place - underneath the hotel was also excellent.

All in all very good value for money. Nice place for families

Room Tip: some of the rooms are noisy - avoid being near the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

After reading reviews of this hotel and Madeira I didn't know what to expect. I travelled with my husband and two children 8 and 5. Everything from our airport transfer to our departure was perfect. Attentive staff especially Manuel and Caitia. Lovely spacious room, balcony had a great view. The hotel is linked to the Miramar next door and we used all 3 pools and the jacuzzi everyday. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the gardens are lovely and my children enjoyed exploring them. There was a giant chessboard that we all enjoyed playing. Breakfast was lovely Witt something for everyone which was very relaxed. Plenty of young families were there so children had fun too. The evening entertainment was fine but lots of restaurants and bars to enjoy within walking distance all with attentive service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vsilvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The hotel is set in lovely gardens almost as much variety of plants as in the botanical gardens. Gives the place a relaxed feel. Two lovely pools and plenty of sun beds so no need to reserve them. Went in July so busy time but never had a problem at getting a sun bathing spot near the pool. Staff friendly and place very clean, we saw them sweeping leaves every day.
Set in an ideal location ( opposite Reids hotel ) as only about a twenty minute walk to Funchal centre ( for those who are generally good at walking). However all of Madeira is hilly so you do have to be prepared to climb a little on your walk.
We used the hotel buffet restaurant the first evening as arrived late and hadn't found our feet but be prepared it is around 28 euros per person. Every evening after that we ate out and found the average meal around 10 euros for pizzas or pasta. We used the Casa Madeirense pizza place nearby and found the staff really friendly and always got free olives for starters while we decided on the meal.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and would return again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanetB132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We chose this hotel after a lot of research online and were not disappointed. Room was fine, nice patio with garden views. Amazing views from restaurant at breakfast and a very impressive breakfast selection. Staff very helpful whenever we had a problem or question and within a few days the staff at breakfast had remembered all of their guests' room numbers! If you're under 50 then skip the evening entertainment provided in favour of town where there's a great selection of bars and restaurants. Our favourite restaurant was the 'Kon Tiki' 5 minutes' walk away but restaurants in the hotel complex were good, although pricey. Sightseeing tours around the island will pick up from the hotel. Really enjoyed our 1 week break here. If you're going in February then try and time your visit with the festival!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We went as a family of three, deciding in advance to eat out for lunch and dinner. This made the choice of hotel just about perfect. Everything about the place, including the rooms and room service was fresh and clean. We used the outdoor pool a lot and I used the very well fitted out gym every morning; I was generally the only person there, but my wife used it late afternoon when it could get fairly full. Each day, we took off after breakfast, returning mid afternoon, then went out for dinner. The buffet breakfast was good with plenty of choice. The reception staff were very helpful, booking restaurants as we required and giving useful advice. We booked a room, with a third bed for our nine-year old; it was spacious with a good balcony overlooking the sea. The ceiling fan kept the temperature fine at night. We also kept the balcony door open - no mosquitoes or other biting insects. A very comfortable experience, would certainly return.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel
0.2 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 86 in Funchal
2,246 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
0.5 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#26 of 86 in Funchal
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel

Property: Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
Address: Estrada Monumental 194, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#23 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#23 Family Hotel in Funchal
#25 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The architectural design of Pestana Village and the landscaping of its gardens have been especially planned to be in harmony with the natural beauty and tranquility of the resort’s setting. This sensitivity to the environment will give the resort a truly village-like feel, with low-rise traditional style buildings surrounded by a wealth of colorful and immaculately cared-for gardens. The Pestana Village shares the grounds and services of the Pestana Miramar Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Hotel Aparthotel
Pestana Hotel Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing