We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
Ranked #27 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Blakeney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our stay here was most enjoyable. The one bedroom apartment was spacious and pleasantly appointed. We had daily cleaning service and a balcony overlooking the splendid gardens. The staff were friendly and helpful. This hotel is more for couples than for young families, It is quiet and convenient for the town and for the many restaurants and cafes in the Lido area of Funchal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    278
    65
    8
    4
See reviews for
147
413
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amaliendorf
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The hotel is situated in a great garden with two nice pools within Funchal. The city is quite loud, but since the hotel is within a garden, that's no problem.
Breakfast was good, Dinner was very good.
If you have a car, you need to pay extra (around 3€ per day).
Right outside of the hotel there is a small supermarket, but - more important for us - a bakery with delicious cakes and very good coffee. Thats a great place for afternoon tea (or coffee)!

The staff of the hotel were extremely nice and helpful. Almost everybody even speaks german and of course english.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heinz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I chose the Pestana Village because of the gardens and the location. For both of these I give it full marks. We attended a Pestana Options 'sales presentation' at a nearby hotel and visited another to watch the fireworks. I can safely say the Village Garden was by far the nicest of the ones visited and probably one of the least soulless hotels I've stayed at.

There are bus stops right outside but we preferred to walk either down the front past the Carlton or straight on past the casino, neither take long.

We were half board as we planned to be out walking most of the day and knew we wouldn't feel like going out to eat, but there are plenty of places. The food was very good, everything you could want. The special traditional night with Espada and the Italian night were very nice.

My only criticisms are regarding the cleaning of our room. Although I never really felt as though it was dirty as such it just seemed as though the chamber maids just made the beds. The same soap scum and marks remained on the sink surround and taps and the bathroom floor was never cleaned. However, the Pestana Village is perfect for me and I will definitely stay there next time I visit Madeira.

I meant to find out his name to put on the employee of the month form but forgot so this might seem rude. The young short(ish) waiter with dark brown hair and reddy cheeks was extremely polite and attentive and stood out from some of the other young waiters that didn't talk or even make eye contact.

Room Tip: I think it'd be hard to get a bad view if you like pretty plants!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley
Level Contributor
106 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this resort. Our apartment was well appointed with a large balcony which had a marvelous view over Funchal. The gardens are wonderful, - lush with mature and exotic trees, flowers and bushes. The pool is good. There is free wifi in certain areas. It is a fairly easy stroll down into town or along to the Lido.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laretal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This resort is big and well centred in Funchal to get to most places our first time in Madeira staff were not too helpful in fact gave back wrong pass port so on arriving at airport on the return trip we had a panic and had to return to resort and get correct one nearly missed the flight they said it was our fault for not checking and were not willing to accept any blame or pay anything towards the taxi fair which spoilt our memories of the place a little Funchal itself is on lots of hills although it caters for mostly people of a certain age there are lots of taxis and buses but if you are to get out and about be prepared to have lots of steep hills to climb but the views in most places are spectacular if over crowded mini bus tours seemed to be the best option as the roads are narrow with steep drops and cliffs but the drivers are very good the famous sled ride in Funchal is over rated but we still ticked it off the list pricy too for 4 minutes ride 30 euros for two over all had a good time mostly because of the company we were with on the holiday don't expect beaches there are none you have to have a pool like the one on the Pestana village they also have a gym which is average if you know where it is with sauna and jacuzzi for those early morning workouts will go back to Funchal one day maybe when were older

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVMH, Manager at Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your recent stay in our hotel. We take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenient caused upon check in or check out. Nevertheless we wonder how we could have given you the wrong passports as we do not keep them after check-in? And if we do not keep any passports at the reception, how would we have the correct ones?

We believe there has been a misunderstanding in regards to this subject.

Please feel free and contact if you need any further explanation.

With kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
540 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were really impressed by the Village in so many ways. The gardens are beautiful and provide such a peaceful backdrop. Our room was very comfortable and kept spotlessly clean by a charming chamber maid. We only eat in the hotel once but were very happy with the food and wine. The staff generally were very friendly and those arranging trips out for us - taxis and tourist buses, levada walks, sailing - particularly helpful, The walk into Funchal centre is downhill and we did go into the centre most evenings to visit various restaurants so it was a taxi back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MedEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

just got back from the village hotel funchal what a lovley hotel funchel is a lovley place to go on hols my first time there will be going back there rooms are good size and very clean food very good it is perfect place for relaxed week in the sun

Room Tip: go there you will love funchel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anthonyjohnclarke123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.0 mi away
Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel
1.3 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#14 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,584 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
0.5 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
1.0 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel

Property: Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
Address: Estrada Monumental 194, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#24 Family Hotel in Funchal
#24 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#26 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The architectural design of Pestana Village and the landscaping of its gardens have been especially planned to be in harmony with the natural beauty and tranquility of the resort’s setting. This sensitivity to the environment will give the resort a truly village-like feel, with low-rise traditional style buildings surrounded by a wealth of colorful and immaculately cared-for gardens. The Pestana Village shares the grounds and services of the Pestana Miramar Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Hotel Aparthotel
Pestana Hotel Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing