We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (551)
Filter reviews
551 results
Traveler rating
244
226
63
16
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
226
63
16
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews village hotel timeshare exchange self catering other resorts bedroom apartment small kitchen cocktail bar lovely hotel stunning gardens indoor pool sister hotel reception area pool staff turn right lido area downtown funchal main road
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 551 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2018

We stayed at the Pestana Miramar for our first holiday travelling as a family. Our little boy was 4 months old. The staff couldn't have been more helpful with our baby. We stayed in a studio and it was brilliant - spacious enough for the three of us, and always spotlessly clean after the maids had been. We ate in the pool bar and the restaurant a couple of times each. Found it all to be reasonable without being overwhelmingly good. We often wandered to the bakery next door for breakfast - we found this to be both economical and delicious! Pools in the hotel are lovely. Our little boy found it to be a little chilly so we used the indoor pool, and basically had this to ourselves most days. The hotel is a 20-30 minute walk to the main promenade in Funchal, and can involve working by a sewage treatment works, and a similar distance to the lido walk in the opposite direction. All in all a lovely holiday.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Shmooey87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susana F, Gestor at Pestana Miramar, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2018

Dear Shmooey87,

Thank you for posting your review on tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with your family.
We are glad to know that your experience at Pestana Miramar was lovely and we look forward to welcoming you back to Pestana Hotels & Resorts.

Kind regards.

Rui Feiteira
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2018

The Hotel was in a perfect location from bars, restaurants, shopping and activities. The staff at the hotel was very professional and friendly towards all my family ranging from 57 to 20 years old. The hotel itself was fantastic with regards to scenery and layout, the setting from my room was splendid top notch place to stay for all ages well done.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
1  Thank Getaway31433606311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susana F, Gestor at Pestana Miramar, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2018

Dear Getaway31433606311,

Thank you for your visit and comments.
We were happy to know that our Hotel was a fantastic experience. We are glad that through your visit you feel well taken care, we believe that makes a huge difference.
We hope to welcome you in Madeira Island in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rui Feiteira
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2018

What lovely hotel set in botanical garden like with two pools and so much relaxing space restaurants are excellent and staff goes the extra mile for every guest truely amazing love to come back in the future anytime

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
Thank rwilder2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susana F, Gestor at Pestana Miramar, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2018

Dear rwilder2014,

Thank you for the excellent review!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Rui Feiteira
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2018

Having just returned from a ten day holiday here I must say it was great. We had room 6509 towards the front of the hotel. Perfect close to the pool and cocktail bar also the dining area. The room was spacious with a kitchen sink and hob, also a fridge. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble, their pace may be a little slower than you are used to but hey relax go with the flow you are on holiday. A nice touch for me was the birthday cake, glass of champagne, and signed photo of all the staff nice touch. We stayed half board the food was good with enough rotation to keep you interested. The old part of the hotel is stunning being very original. Would I satay here again yes I would thanks again

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank poetyorky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susana F, Gestor at Pestana Miramar, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2018

Dear poetyorky1,

Thank you very much for your kind words which serve as the best incentive for all and each one of us. Again we feel the feeling of mission accomplished and are very proud to know that you wish to come back in the future.
We look forward to see you again.

With kind regards,

Rui Feiteira
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2018 via mobile

Had a excellent dinner at reasonable price in this restaurant.
Service was slow to start but once the staff had caught up with influx of customers was excellent.
The food was very good. Best lamb cutlets I have had for some time.
Will return next year

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank K3133PWdavido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susana F, Gestor at Pestana Miramar, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2018

Dear David O,

Thank you very much for your comments. The fact you have enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to gives feedback it’s the best award we can get. That’s what makes work even harder to meet all our guests’ expectations!

Best regards

Rui Feiteira
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews