We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas in Madeira” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel to your Saves list
Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental 182-184, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Christmas in Madeira”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment, No. 7507, which was on the 5th floor and was a timeshare exchange. The bedrooms were roomy with king size beds and plenty of storage; the master was at the front, overlooking the pool and the 2nd bedroom was at the back of the apartment. Overall the apartment was very good and very spacious, although the kitchen was a little tired and the cooker seemed to be rather old and needed updating; a few more cooking utensils would have been useful as well. The view from the balcony was of the sea and harbour in one direction and of the complex swimming pool in the other. Everything was spotless and the maid came in daily to keep it that way. There is a main road just outside, but the noise from the traffic wasn't too bad during the day, and with the doors and windows shut it couldn't be heard at all. We found the bed in the master bedroom very comfortable and our sleep was not disturbed at all.

The indoor swimming pool was very nice and warm, (we didn't try the outdoor one). There were plenty of sun loungers as very few were being used. (Probably because of the time of year). The gardens were very small, but still pleasant.

There was an indoor walkway to the sister hotel, Pestana Village, where you are allowed to use all the facilities. We used the bar in the Winter Garden at the Village Hotel quite a lot. We enjoyed some of the cocktails, but found them a little expensive at €6.50 each. The seating was very comfortable, and the evening entertainment, (which was usually music and singing), was also in this area.

The staff were very efficient and friendly. Marco Bruges, on the reception desk, was fantastic. He always smiled and seem to remember the guests. He also helped with advice on where to eat and what to see, and would help with anything else you needed. Thank you Marco.

Not all of the restaurants on the complex were open. The Restaurant Miramar was, but we didn't use it this week. The Christmas gala dinner was taken in the sister hotel, but there were too many courses for us, so we didn't use it. We either ate in the apartment, or at local restaurants. One we enjoyed was called Lareira Portuguesa.

Funchal was fairly close by, but the city is built on hills with the old town in the valley; which is where the interesting streets and buildings are. There are busses, but it is also within walking distance if you feel up to walking up and down fairly steep hills. The city is fantastic at this time of year. They really go all out with the lights and it took several days to see them all. We enjoyed sitting on the top deck of the tour bus, (cost 12 euros each for a 2 day ticket, but you can get on and off as many times as you like). We also had a lovely day going up to Monte and the gardens in the cable car.

We think that children would enjoy seeing all the Christmas lights in the city, but there seems to be very little else for them to do, unless they like walking.

Overall, we had a wonderful Christmas week here and would highly recommend it. We would like to return at another time of year.

Room Tip: The higher floors have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alpine-lovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVMH, Executive Secretary at Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing the Pestana Miramar for your Christmas Holidays in Madeira, and we hope you had a safe journey back home.
We also take this opportunity to thank you for your comments and feedback on your stay, which has deserved our best attention, and also would like to thank you for your kind words regarding our staff, the message have been put across.
We hope to have the opportunity to receive you once again in our Hotel.

With kindest regards .

Liliana Silva
Pestana Village Miramar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    139
    37
    13
    0
See reviews for
70
205
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Studio room was good - staff very helpful - pools very good but cold (February) - restaurants ?? - grill by pool - poor choice had to ask for something to go with salad - overall will use again as location is good for town either walking or bus

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petert27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVMH, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your kind contribution and honest opinion.
I am glad to read that in general you did like the service and the hospitality we deliver. Your comments will also help to address any future situations and for the constant training we do.
we do really look forward to your next visit, where no efforts will be spared to make your next stay a most enjoyable and memorable one.
With best regards from the island of flowers and eternal Spring.

Susana Freitas
Front Office Manager
Pestana Village Miramar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great hotel in a good location. The place is aesthetically beautiful, the amenities are good and everything works fine. If you're lucky enough to talk to Marco Bruges at the reception, he'll help you with anything you might need during your holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Milla80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Wall to wall quality in the most wonderful of locations. The Miramar was just about perfection: we had two spacious and well equipped apartments overlooking beautiful gardens, top quality interiors and service from the staff that I didn't know still existed.
For their sake I am writing this review but actually I am reluctant to tell others how good it is in case it gets spoiled!!!
Madeira is not for families with young children - stay heading south, the Canaries will suit you perfectly - but for those wishing to enjoy some culture, scenery, walks, views, quality food & drink and what could be called an 'old-money' experience it is a paradise set in a deep blue sea.
Miramar encapsulated all this and it's location was ideal for restaurants, bars, shops and the City itself. Okay, you walked up and down hill to get everywhere but that's what a holiday in Madeira entails.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tortoise69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarpsborg, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed at Prestana Village/Miramar for a week at Christmas and we are very pleased with the stay. Extremely nice hotel, pleasant staff and a very good atmosphere. What we enjoyed most was the garden with all the beautiful plants and flowers. It was like an oasis in a rather busy city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica19682013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

I read previous reviews with trepidation, as I wanted somewhere extra special for Christmas, as it's the first christmas in 15 years that I haven't worked Christmas Day!!. This hotel has not disappointed. It's beautifully decorated for Christmas, the staff couldn't be more pleasant and helpfull, and champagne receptions on Christmas Eve really set the mood. We arrived on 23rd and had a very pleasant apartment overlooking the road with views of the hills and sea. I found I had difficulty sleeping the first night due to a generator humming, ( my husband slept soundly) I went to reception to ask if they had ear plugs, and I kept reassuring them I wasn't complaining, and they immediately moved us to a bigger apartment overlooking the pool. Nothing was too much bother and they gave us a bottle of Madeira wine too. On Christmas Day I was on FaceTime with family and as I showed them the reception area, the staff behind reception wished my family happy Christmas , which really amused them back home . It rate this place 10 out of 10 for customer service. They all looked like they WANTED to work Christmas Day. Many thanks

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank trisha19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The Pestana Mirama is the ideal place to stay, the staff at reception were very welcoming on arrival and throughout our stay, first impressions were impressive spotless. Our appartment was really spacious very clean with a en-suite bath, with seperate shower room,sitting room and kitchen, two balcony's one over looking the sea and Funchal harbour were the cruise liners come and go. You also have use of all facilities of the Pestana Village Resort next door, which is all linked together, everywere clean and nothing out of place. Two outdoor pools and one indoor pool, bars and a spa, there are several restaurants to choose from.
Just out side the Hotel 50 meters there is a Spar shop also a bakery very handy for stocking up with the essensials. Funchal is within walking distance, bus stops right outside the Hotel.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a view, there is a little road noise if situated on the front of the Hotel if you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.0 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
0.5 mi away
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
0.2 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#30 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#12 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,549 reviews
0.5 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#11 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madeira Regency Club
Madeira Regency Club
#45 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel

Property: Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel
Address: Estrada Monumental 182-184, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#33 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#33 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the premises of the historic and elegant hotel Miramar, which was built in 1924 and considered a very special place to stay, the new Pestana Miramar Hotel benefits of the attention given to the architecture and landscaping of its gardens. The Pestana Miramar shares the grounds and services of the Pestana Village Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Miramar Garden Funchal
Pestana Miramar Garden Hotel Aparthotel
Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing