We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pestana Casino Park
Ranked #34 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Have been to this hotel several times
Room we stopped in 450 could do with
Upgrading One wall needs repainting ,
Side of bed valance stained should be replaced
Stopped bed and breakfast , Breakfast ok ,
All tables chairs replace they must be 25years old ,
But please stop pigeons from flying about
While you are trying to eat , Ok falcon outside
But what did it do ??
We will still return next time in Funchal .

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank tony194015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josecarlos_fernandes, Manager at Pestana Casino Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,
Thank you very much for your constructive comments and honest opinion about your recent stay at the Pestana Casino Park Hotel.
It is anyhow with great regret that in spite we have assigned your preferred and required room, we were not able to meet your expectation this time. I apologize for it and hope that the good memories will prevail.
Your comments will also help us to address any future situations and for the constant training we do.
As for the falcon, we would like to inform you that in fact we believe this was the best solution we encountered to sort out this big issue, since we are no longer having pigeons approaching the Restaurant during breakfast time. Thinking on a positive way, this is definitely due to the fact we have a much privileged location and view over the ocean!
Now we are looking forward to welcome you soon and assuring you of our best attention at all times we remain with kindest regards from the island of flowers and eternal Spring.
José Carlos Fernandes
Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,258 - 1,264 of 2,961 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

We have just got back from a wonderful week at this hotel. On arrival, we were upgraded to a suite, which was a fantastic surprise. It is not the first time I have visited and I was so glad to be back.
My husband was particularly impressed with the breakfast choice, which was wonderful. Since the Pestana group has taken over this hotel, there have been a number of significant changes, all good I might add. Firstly the infinity pool and the new landscaping of the grounds was very impressive. Secondly, the spa and heated pool complex. I treated myself to a facial and was not disappointed. The luxury was wonderful. I love Madeira, and would prefer to stay at this hotel more than any other.
There is absolutely nothing negative I can say about this hotel.

Room Tip: If you go higher up, you get wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josecarlos_fernandes, Manager at Pestana Casino Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

We are simply delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Pestana Casino Park Hotel and we thank you for your kind support in sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.

We are so pleased that you made use of our Spa facilities. We always have some excellent promotions on a monthly basis, which represents great value for money.

We look forward very much to welcoming you, your family and friends to the Pestana Casino Park Hotel in the near future and we thank you for your recommendations.

With best regards from the island of flowers and eternal Spring.

José Carlos Fernandes
Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We have just returned from our 7th visit to this beautiful hotel . As always, the service we received was perfect . The staff are universally helpful, kind and appear to enjoy their jobs . Nothing is ever too much trouble . The food is tastefully prepared and presented . We particularly enjoyed the breakfasts whilst sitting outside . The hotel enjoys an enviable position overlooking Funchal and has lovely grounds . I would recommend this hotel to anyone . We shall certainly be returning for an 8th visit !

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josecarlos_fernandes, Manager at Pestana Casino Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your so valuable comments on the Tripadvisor.
The fact you have enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to gives feedback it’s the best award we can get and that’s what makes work even harder to meet all our guests’ expectations! Also the fact that you found our staff so friendly and accommodating was highly appreciated. Thank you!
We now look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon and assuring you of our best attention at all times we remain with kindest regards.

José Carlos Fernandes
Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful week at the Pestana Casino Park, A fantastically positioned hotel on the edge of Funchal. Our room on the 2nd floor was great, very clean and had lovely views out to sea. The breakfasts were just wonderful, we ate out on the terrace each morning, fruit, pastries, bacon & eggs with lovely fresh bread washed down with Sparkling Wine. ALL staff were very helpful and so polite. We enjoyed our time lounging by the pool but my god the water was cold. We will certainly return in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms with even numbers have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulabrook40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josecarlos_fernandes, Manager at Pestana Casino Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments. The fact you have enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to gives feedback it’s the best award we can get and that’s what makes work even harder to meet all our guests’ expectations! We have passed your comments to the staff who asked me to thank you on their behalf!
We now look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you soon where we will do our utmost to make your stay a most enjoyable and memorable one again.
Best regards from the Pestana Casino Park Hotel family!

José Carlos Fernandes
Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We were a couple. dates 31st March 8th April. We asked for, and paid for a room with view of garden. First room we were given was as far away from the THREE lifts this hotel has. We asked to change and had to wait two hours for this. We were on half board. There were lots of queues at mealtimes. Dinner time no liquids at all were supplied. A bottle of water cost us almost 4 Euros. No idea what the wine cost. The hot food, according to us was terrible. We had to eat lots of cakes. I spoke to the manager regarding the lack of drinks and told him we would bring our own water, which cost 60 cents for a litre and a half at the local supermarket. I was told this wasn't allowed.. The entertainment was none existent. One man singing with backing tapes one evening, one with a guitar the another. In the evening there was nothing to do. Would I go again? NEVER!!

Room Tip: If you must go to this hotel, go bed and breakfast only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank louiechurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josecarlos_fernandes, Manager at Pestana Casino Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

Thank you very much for your feedback about your recent stay at Pestana Casino Park Hotel, which contents have already been shared with our management team.

May we take this opportunity to inform that Guests in Half Board basis does not have drinks included during dinner. In that case the Half Board Plus should be required.
We charge 14,65€ for a bottle of house wine which is definitely lower than other 5 stars' Hotel prices in Madeira.
We do charge for water, which in some hotel are for free, however we still have the best value for money in the island for your accommodation as we only charge extras if you consume.

Assuring you of our best attention at all times we remain with kindest regards.

José Carlos Fernandes
Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

This hotel lives up to its reputation. Well appointed rooms (we had a suite). Staff very attentive, nothing too much trouble. Very comfortable even though it is very large. Beautiful pool and gardens. Food excellent and varied. Very close to centre of Funchal. Can recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Norma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

First room (372) small, in need of refurbishment. Drawers along the base of the wardrobe meant no hanging space for dresses! Offered room 451 - much bigger with better finish. However aircon did not work and hair dryer cut out after a few seconds. Very low pressure on the shower. Asked for a kettle and told a 6euro charge for the week. Asked for an iron and board - 5 euros! I have never been charged for such things even in a 3* hotel! Choose this hotel for its proximity to old town. Stayed on B&B basis and breakfast was good with lots of choice. Didn't use any facilities as had a car and visited different parts of the island every day. Think I would look at a different hotel next time.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank tripjunkiey0rkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.8 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.3 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#32 of 88 in Funchal
2,391 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,033 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pestana Ocean Bay
Pestana Ocean Bay
#36 of 88 in Funchal
1,974 reviews
1 mi away
Pestana Palms
Pestana Palms
#17 of 88 in Funchal
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Casino Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Casino Park

Address: Rua Imperatriz D. Amelia 55 | Quinta da Vigia, Funchal, Madeira 9004-513, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Funchal
#16 Family Hotel in Funchal
#25 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#31 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#33 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $88 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Casino Park 5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Casino Park is a 5-star hotel in Funchal, Madeira, surrounded by 15,000 m² of private gardens. Designed by world-renowned master architect Óscar Niemeyer, this hotel is adjacent to the Funchal bay cruise port. Plus, it is only 5 minutes on foot from the city centre and the epicentre of the city's social and cultural life. Its privileged location on the shores of the Atlantic Ocean makes it one of the most famous hotels on the island of Madeira. It features an infinity swimming pool, gardens with peaceful alcoves, a private car park available for a fee, a Spa where you can schedule a massage and/or Magic Spa treatment, and an indoor swimming pool with water jets, jacuzzi, Turkish bath, sauna and gym. You can enjoy four restaurants and bars with views overlooking the tennis court and access to the Casino da Madeira, with games, shows and a nightclub. All rooms have Wi-Fi and a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Casino Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Hotel Park
Pestana Casino Park Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing