We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time visit to Madiera”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pestana Casino Park
Ranked #33 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The hotel contributed greatly to the enjoyment of our weeks holiday,having booked a very reasonable late booking,the hotel was everthing it proffessed to be.Our room was just fine,we knew we would not have see view but the room was very clean and well cared for,comfy bed,a fridge,TV,DVD player and balcony to side street.
The hotel layout is very attractive,excellent staff on reception with friendly and very proffesional attitude.Breakfast couldn't be better for us with so much healthy choice and all the fruit at it's peak of ripeness and a great selection of all food and drinks.Tables well laid with linen napkins and sparkling cutlery,well organised restaurant.
The beautiful outdoor pool was alittle cold for us at this time of year but looked gorgeous,we used the indoor pool most days and it was never noisy or too busy and excellent provision for relaxing.
We tried the casino...but it wasn't for us and didn't reflect the class of the hotel,and some of the clientele were noisy as they left late at night,which was a shame!
All in all we really liked staying at Pestana Park and will return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josecarlos_fernandes, Manager at Pestana Casino Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,

Thank you very much indeed for choosing the Pestana Casino Park Hotel for your recent holiday in Madeira and for sharing your kind comments with other TripAdvisor reviewers.

We are delighted to hear that you were made to feel at home and that you found our staff to be friendly and informative. This is exactly how you should feel!

Now we are indeed very happy to know that you intend to to return soon.

Looking forward to hear from you where no efforts will be spared to make your stay a most enjoyable and memorable one again.


José Carlos Fernandes
Unit Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,907)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,225 - 1,231 of 2,907 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week whilst attending a wedding. Hotel is well located for access to the old town. Rooms are clean an spacious as are all of the public areas of the hotel. The outside pool are could do with a little renovation the non slip material is coming away and spoils what is a really nice and we'll designed area looking out over the Harbour and out to sea. Only ate breakfast which was byffet style all you can eat catering for all tastes, so cannot comment on the quality of dinner. Would stay again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank PatronSilver_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josecarlos_fernandes, Manager at Pestana Casino Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,

Thank you very much indeed for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay here. We are simply delighted that you chose our special Pestana Casino Park Hotel for attending a wedding.
We are so glad to know that you would not hesitate to visit us again in a not too distant future and eagerly await your return.
Assuring you of our best attention at all times we remain with kindest regards from
the Paradise!

José Carlos Fernandes
Unit Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This hotel according to many reports on trip advisor was past its best . I cannot agree with this . It is spacious light and roomy , the rooms are large, everything seems to be changed daily, and the staff are smiling and friendly from the little doorman[Aires] to the chef who does your breakfast eggs and all at reception especially Judite Freitas the front desk manager . I was fortunate to have a talk with the manager Jose Carlos Fernandes and he is the most approachable hotel manager I have ever met .If you have any complaints whilst you are there please speak to them they truly want to know if you have a problem.The outdoor and indoor pools are magnificent and what a view you have at breakfast . Okay the towels aren't fluffy and the rooms haven't got Wi Fi but the towels aren't old and the Wi Fi installation is planned to start soon. One tip is to try to get a harbour view the opposite side to the casino as there can be minor noise for light sleepers at weekends. A large television with Sky Sports might keep people in the bar instead of them going to the three British bars just around the corner to watch the six nations and premier league football and where there are also several very good restaurants All in All though a good friendly and beautiful hotel and I would certaintly go there again.Thank you to everyone who helped to make my visit enjoyable Kenneth Wilkinson

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josecarlos_fernandes, Manager at Pestana Casino Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,
We are simply delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Pestana Casino Park Hotel and we thank you for your kind support in sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to know that you have found our staff accommodating. The constructive comments you posted on Tripadvisor were so very welcome!
Now we are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in a not too distant future where no efforts will be spared to make your stay a most enjoyable and memorable one.
With best regards from the island of flowers and eternal Spring.

José Carlos Fernandes
Unit Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

My friend and I recently returned from a week at this hotel. We got an amazing deal as they price matched with 5% discount. The staff were welcoming most of the time. The hotel is very spacious. The pool, gardens and indoor pool and spa are fantastic. We relaxed here all week, something I rarely do on holiday. The breakfast buffet was great and we ate out by the pool in the sun.

The only complaint was that the room was too hot at night and we didn't get a good night's sleep as we had to sleep with the balcony door open and there was noise from the road. The hotel only one switch for air con or heat - not both at the same time. It is not controlled in the room. The hotel manager said that many guests were cold at night so they couldn't turn the air con on. They gave us a large fan but it wasn't much use.

It's a great location to walk to town or out towards the lido area. Our favourite restaurant was Dona Amelia not far from the hotel. The seafood soup and beef kebab.

Room Tip: We had a garden room. Nicer then hill view but not close to sea end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tango008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Pestana Casino Park is a very good hotel with a superb location in Funchal. The hotel is designed by Oscar Niemeyer and is a 70ies icon. Much of the original interior is still used and together with the original design it gives the hotel a special ambiance. From the hotel there is a fantastic view over the city, the harbour and the sea. We only met friendly staff and we were impressed by the very big and very nice breakfast buffet. The only negative things we can say about the hotel is that we found the beds to hard.

Room Tip: The rooms on 4th and 5th floor have the best views. If you like morning sun choose a odd numbered ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josecarlos_fernandes, Manager at Pestana Casino Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to know that you have throughly enjoyed your stay at the Pestana Casino Park Hotel and that you have found our staff accommodating. The constructive comments you posted on Tripadvisor were so very welcome!
Now we are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in a not too distant future where no efforts will be spared to make your stay a most enjoyable and memorable one.
With best regards from the island of flowers and eternal Spring.

José Carlos Fernandes
Unit Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

My abiding memory of this hotel - and this is our second visit - is space; everywhere you go from the enormous restaurant to the reception area, to the bars, to the rooms and even the quiet spaces halfway along the corridors on each floor. There is wide open space everywhere even on the two below ground level floors. The rooms themselves are well equipped and all have balconies but why no wi-fi in the rooms. It does seem strange that you can go out of the door, walk 20 paces along the corridor and find wi-fi but the minute you head back into your room you lose it. The pool and the surrounding areas are magnificent and there are enough sunbeds in various sections to avoid the unseemly scramble for position. Breakfast is superb as is the evening buffet but we would echo earlier comments about luke-warm main courses. The mark of a good hotel is to ask yourself as you walk out the door: Would I comeback? Our answer is a resounding Yes! And we will.

Room Tip: Like most hotels the higher up you go the better the view; and it's worth paying that bit extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josecarlos_fernandes, Manager at Pestana Casino Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

It was with real pleasure that we read your very nice thoughts about your stay with us and we thank you for posting your lovely comments on the TripAdvisor.Thank you for making it so special!

On behalf of the management and all staff of the Pestana Casino Park Hotel we look forward immensely to your next visit in a not too distant future, where no efforts sill be spared to make your next stay a most enjoyable and memorable one again!

Kindest regards from the Sunny Madeira!

José Carlos Fernandes
Unit Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

The location of this hotel is one of the best, it is at the start of the hotel area and so the nearest. The ten minute walk into town is down hill and there is a reasonably steep hill back, However if you are walking back to the other hotels you still have to climb the hill, anyway there is always a bus.
The staff are friendly and helpfull and the breakfasts offer a large varied selection.. The mini sausages may not taste like Walls but hey you are in Portugal. The hotel was designed by Oscar Neimeyer the would famous Brazilian architect who did not like straight lines and this can be seen in the design of this hotel, it is worth stopping every now and then to look at the perspectives, for instance the ceiling and external canopy lines - the latter appears to sweep into the lower level dining room and transform into the balcony of the upper dining area. Likewise the view from the dining room over the infinity pool is first class. Some reviews have said that the hotel is not five star, well it may not be up to the same standard as Reids hotel (we went there twice) but it is only 40% of the cost. You gets what you pay for and if you want to stay in one of the better hotels, then we would recommend Pestana Casino.

Room Tip: There has been some adverse comments about the none refurbished rooms, we cannot comment because our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DWB211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 88 in Funchal
2,356 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.3 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#17 of 88 in Funchal
2,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 88 in Funchal
272 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
2,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Casino Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Casino Park

Address: Rua Imperatriz D. Amelia 55 | Quinta da Vigia, Funchal, Madeira 9004-513, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Funchal
#24 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#25 Family Hotel in Funchal
#31 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#32 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $91 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Casino Park 5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Casino Park is a 5-star hotel in Funchal, Madeira, surrounded by 15,000 m² of private gardens. Designed by world-renowned master architect Óscar Niemeyer, this hotel is adjacent to the Funchal bay cruise port. Plus, it is only 5 minutes on foot from the city centre and the epicentre of the city's social and cultural life. Its privileged location on the shores of the Atlantic Ocean makes it one of the most famous hotels on the island of Madeira. It features an infinity swimming pool, gardens with peaceful alcoves, a private car park available for a fee, a Spa where you can schedule a massage and/or Magic Spa treatment, and an indoor swimming pool with water jets, jacuzzi, Turkish bath, sauna and gym. You can enjoy four restaurants and bars with views overlooking the tennis court and access to the Casino da Madeira, with games, shows and a nightclub. All rooms have Wi-Fi and a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pestana Casino Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Hotel Park
Pestana Casino Park Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing