We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 5 star and more than a bit tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Ranked #35 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not 5 star and more than a bit tired”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We booked this holiday with Atlantic Holidays mainly due to the fact we could fly from our local airport, they advertised several hotels in Madeira but the Casino Park was the only one with vacancies, having stayed for the week we now know why. The public rooms are very nice, lots of space and very clean. The rooms are small and the furnishings are shabby and tired, not much storage space, no Tea and Coffee facilities there has been provision for this built in to the room but you had to pay extra for a kettle. It took 20 minutes to get served a pre dinner drink from the bar mainly due to lack of staff and this poor service continued for dinner when trying to order water and wine and waiting for the buffet dishes to be replenished. The staff we very pleasant and helpful throughout our stay but understaffed and under pressure in the dining room. The food was good and plenty of choice, lots of fresh fruit and some lovely sweets. Overall we have to say we paid for 5 stars but we certainly did not get 5 stars. We have stayed in 5 star hotels around the world including previously in Madeira so we know what to expect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,194
    1,063
    415
    108
    39
See reviews for
488
1,738
109
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (742)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Good location but tired hotel in need of an update. Food was very disappointing with limited selection available and dishes that lacked flair or flavour, we found much better good in local restaurants which we found we had to use despite our half board accommodation basis. Additionally service in the buffet restaurant both at breakfast and dinner was often poor, and certainly not 5 star! Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frin233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Please ignore the negative reviews of this hotel! We cannot comment on evening meals as we were B&B only but in all other respects the hotel was excellent and the staff could not have been more helpful. For example we forgot our travel adapter and were loaned one at no extra charge. The surroundings are beautiful and well maintained and the views stunning. This is the nearest hotel to the centre of Funchal but is still a peaceful location. Nearby restaurants are plentiful and excellent - the Casa Velha next door to the hotel is a must.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stratford on avon
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

But we did not pay 5 star prices either! So overall not too bad at all.

Good points:- Location,Pool Area, Cleanliness, Room Amenities, some friendly staff espeicially the Doorman and the Hotel main bar staff and a very efficient Restaurant Manager.

Bad Points :- The food was average at best. Whoever said that the "breakfast buffet was the best he had ever seen" ( a review on here) has obviously not travelled much. It was average lots of quantity but mixed quality.For example fruit excellent, sausages and bacon very poor,cheap and swimming in grease!

The buffet was very poor indeed on the first 2 nights we were there but was better on the pirate and cowboy "speicial nights" . So overall average at best.

Service was I am afraid to say overall very mixed. Some staff did not really want to be there. Pool bar service was very slow, some waiters were grumpy but as I said above there were very honourable exceptions.

So if the price you pay is right why not but don't expect 5 star.

We would not go back to this hotel but Pestana have some loverly properties in Funchal all of which would be a better bet than the Casino Park.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mebotwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barendrecht, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The only thing that gives this hotel a 5 star rating is the doorman who welcomes you, opens the door of the taxi, always is very kind and willing to help and drags along with the suitcases.
Apart from that, no way this hotel earns its 5 stars,
The rooms are very small, there is only one very small closet with only a few hangers. There is hardly space to store your suitcase.
The rooms were kept reasonably clean, after I asked them they also did the balcony each day, for I had to walk on my bare feet.
But the breakfast/dining area was a disaster. That is, we always had breakfast in the outside area. We saw the same cigarette stubs lying around on the ground a few days long. And a lot of the times when we came down around 7.50 where breakfast starts at 7 we were told that outside was not ready yet. We just said, ok, we'll wait outside.......
So can't really judge the inside part. That is, each morning I had to look for 2 CLEAN glasses for water and juice, which I never was able to find by the way.
The breakfast was reasonable, but always exactly the same in choice of sausages, meat to go on bread and the bacon was really disgusting. As if it was boiled instead of baked (fried?), not crispy at all.
And each morning the same sausages, and belief me, they have a lot of different sausages on Madeira, which I tasted once! They were disgusting, as if they were off.....
If you don't really care about all above then well, the location of the hotel is great and if you can get a cheap deal..... For all the others I will never go to this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you are used to live and sleep in a quiet area and you want to sleep with your door open you shou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 111Paula1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Pestana Casino Park & Spa – 9 to 16 Sept 2013

We booked only 2 weeks prior to going so didn’t have much time to find out about the hotel and its location. Trip Advisor reviews were useful and matched our experience. I don’t think the first impression of the hotel is good - I saw concrete and worn carpet. But the more we explored the more I admired it and grew to love it. It is so well designed. The use of space, lighting, water and sculptures is clever and beautiful. Hotel staff were helpful and friendly.

Location is excellent, as it only takes 10 minutes to walk into the town, but bear in mind that you are going down a steep hill so walking back is heavier going. Views from the pool/garden area are fabulous. The infinity swimming pool was cold but enjoyable once in! The indoor pool is the best I have ever used. Warm, well designed with Jacuzzi areas - beautifully lit.

Breakfast: Well organised and a large choice. We were on B&B, but other guests on half board were not that impressed with the evening meals. There is a huge variety of restaurants, both very near the hotel (Restaurante Bernini being one which we visited a couple of times), and within walking distance in the town and the old town.

Standard rooms have 3 electric sockets but none are near a mirror so, if you use hair straighteners, you will need to take your own mirror. Good magnifying mirror in bathroom with a hairdryer. If you want a kettle you ask for it at Reception. We paid 6 Euros which included some milk, tea/coffee bags. There would be additional charges if you renew the tea/milk etc., but we went to the Spa (2 mins from hotel) for milk and we had our own tea bags.

We explored Funchal – many boat trips on offer from the harbour – the old town has character and a visit to the Fort is a must, which contains Restaurant Forte (fabulous food).
The Cable Car is located in the old town and takes you up to Monte Palace Tropical Gardens. Well worth a visit. Near the gardens is the traditional Basket Toboggans. I wasn’t brave enough but fellow travellers enjoyed the experience. Note that if you are going on an excursion, the coach will meet you at the end of the Toboggan journey, but if you are doing your own thing, there is a 40 min walk down the mountain to the town or an expensive taxi ride.

We would go back. Beautiful island – welcoming people.

Room Tip: 4th or 5th floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeeKayHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Had a great 10 day holiday. The pool and grounds are superb with wonderful views across the harbour, ocean and town. A nice touch for keen gardeners is that many of the plants and trees in the gardens are labelled with botanical and common names. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and efficient. the rooms are comfortable and all have balconies with views over either the sea or the town and hills. We had B&B the breakfast buffet was very good with a wide choice of both hot and cold dishes, the only downside was that virtually all meals are buffet and we were very dissapointed with the quality of the only evening meal we had at the hotel. My advice go B&B as there are loads of good restaurants in and around Funchal.The walk to the old town is down hill and easy and part of the walk can be taken through a small park. tha walk back is all up hill but if you don't fancy that a taxi from the old town is about 6 Euros. There are plenty of coach tours available which are fairly good value. taxi drivers will also offer private tours we took one and it was excellent as the taxi can take you to places coaches can't reach. You do however need to agree on a price and itineraryup front. We will return to the Casino Park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philip r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 86 in Funchal
2,280 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
1,907 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#16 of 86 in Funchal
2,154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Casino Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Property: Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Address: Rua Imperatriz D. Amelia, 55 | Quinta da Vigia, Funchal, Madeira 9004-513, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Funchal
#25 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#25 Family Hotel in Funchal
#31 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#33 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Casino Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Casino Park is a 5-star hotel in Funchal, Madeira, surrounded by 15,000 m² of private gardens. Designed by world-renowned master architect Óscar Niemeyer, this hotel is adjacent to the Funchal bay cruise port. Plus, it is only 5 minutes on foot from the city centre and the epicentre of the city's social and cultural life. Its privileged location on the shores of the Atlantic Ocean makes it one of the most famous hotels on the island of Madeira. It features an infinity swimming pool, gardens with peaceful alcoves, a private car park available for a fee, a Spa where you can schedule a massage and/or Magic Spa treatment, and an indoor swimming pool with water jets, jacuzzi, Turkish bath, sauna and gym. You can enjoy four restaurants and bars with views overlooking the tennis court and access to the Casino da Madeira, with games, shows and a nightclub. All rooms have Wi-Fi and a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, PESTANA MANAGEMENT – Serviços de Gestão S.A., Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pestana Casino Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Hotel Park
Pestana Casino Park Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing