We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Ranked #35 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Had a nice stay here. Staff very helpful and polite. Spotless hotel with very nice outdoor and indoor pools. Stayed half board and evening food was average, but you could have as much as you could eat. However they charge for water at the table 4€ per bottle. Use loyalty card issued at check in and you will save 5% on all charges to room account. Also go to the aqua bar 7:30 - 8:30 pm as happy hour all drinks less 50%. Overall very nice stay and Mederia is well worth a visit

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McFarland2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,193
    1,062
    414
    108
    40
See reviews for
487
1,737
109
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hotel is impressive upon arriving and welcome drink of Fanta in a champagne glass sort of sums up the experience. It looks impressive as a five star (you think it's Bucks Fizz) then you experience the rude and abrupt reception staff and unclean rooms (you realize you have Fanta).
I hasten to add that not all the staff were rude and some were very pleasant and helpful.
I agree with previous comments about the towels looking tired, the shower facilities are very poor. (Poor pressure). In our 2 week stay our room was never hoovered or mopped. The toilet and bath had long dark hairs on the floor (not ours) and a good layer of dust was obvious on the mirrors and cleanliness was obviously of low priority! The lift mirrors were constantly dirty with sun cream smears on the mirror and it looked as if it hadn't been hoovered or cleaned for weeks. Glasses and cups in the restaurant were often dirty and some of the juices tasted as if they had been watered down, however the food selection was extensive and excellent! It does get busy though and may have to ask several times for tea and coffee.
We were given one beach towel in our room upon arrival despite asking for 2. This towel was never changed by the maid in the whole 2 weeks!!
I agree that more could have been done to create an atmosphere in the hotel bar area. Many evenings we were the only people at the bar and often only stayed for one drink because of the cost and lack of entertainment.
I too agree that eating in the hotel is expensive. We found some inexpensive 2* Michelin restaurants which were excellent value for money and delicious, about a 5 minute walk at the left of the hotel near the Spar.
The indoor pool is to die for and the outdoor pool is beautiful but freezing, however the surrounding area and scenery make up for it. The hotel lets it's self down but is lovely and our room was on the 5th floor and had some lovely views of Funchal. I recommend the tour of Blandys and the cable car trip. Despite the negatives, we will definitely come back!!

Room Tip: 5th Floor partial sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glennywellies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Nice hotel in an excellent location (probably one of the best locations) with great views of Funchal. The hotel is a 10 minute walk downhill into the town centre.

The hotel is quite modern and has all you would expect of a 4/5 star hotel. However, as nice as the hotel is it has the feel of a business hotel about it and indeed a few business people seemed to be using when we stayed in early July. The rooms are very comfortable and kept clean and well stock by the excellent maid service. You get great views from the 4th or 5th floor rooms (odd numbered rooms have great views of the city and harbour). The breakfast is buffet style serve yourself with plenty of choice. Didn't eat in the hotel in the evening as there are plenty of really good local restaurants. Drinks prices seemed a little expensive (happy hour 7-8pm) and the evening entertainment was ok but mainly lounge music. The garden and pool are really nice but can image it being very busy during the peak weeks. If we returned to Madeira we would probably stop here again for the location but there are plenty of other nice hotels too.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms have views of the city and sea / harbour which is nice. Even number rooms also ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I think this is just about the best location in Madeira if you want to be in comfortable walking distance of the town / old town - but not in the thick of it. We enjoyed lovely views over the sea, town and towards the mountains behind, and being right by the harbour where the cruise ships came in, and watching them dock and depart.
Usual Pestana facilities - robes, toiletries, hair dryer, lots of towels, etc. Fridge was very handy (and there were no complaints when we put milk/juice/beer/ wine in it). Nice pool, plenty of loungers and different places to find a favourite spot. The spa in the basement is well worth a visit too, with a pleasant dappled-lit indoor pool, jacuzzi, steam room, ice room, etc which are all included. There's a good buffet breakfast with everything you could wish for. For lunch, there's a pleasant informal outdoor decked bar//caff overlooking the sea. There's also a couple of good bars/pubs within a few metres of the hotel and a clutch of reasonable restaurants withing 5 minutes walk. We didn't eat or drink at the hotel in the evening as it didn't look that exciting or good value compared to what the town has to offer, so we went out every night.
Only downside was that the casino opposite our room was very noisy for an hour or so, when drunk locals left at 2-3am on both Friday nights of our 2-week stay.
I'm quite a tough critic to please - 4 stars is good for me - and we would happily return if we could get a another good deal, which says it all.

Room Tip: Best views from the high floors. They're quieter too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rachelsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is a chain hotel in an an excellent location ten minutes downhill walk into the centre of the town. The reception area was clean and airy with friendly staff.
We had a first floor garden room of reasonable size with a balcony. The room had a nice bathroom but was becoming slightly tired. Cleanliness in public areas were excellent, however it was lacking in the room. Breakfast was good but not 5 Star. Evening meals were buffet style and definitely not 5 Star. In fact despite being half board we did eat out a few times. Overall, it was good hotel and would recommend it on a B&B basis if you got a reasonable deal.

Room Tip: If possible request a room on a higher floor on the garden side (you may get a sea view) No guarante...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monsters_Ink_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times and I already know what to expect! The hotel itself has everything you would expect of 5 stars hotel , the rooms are large with a balcony and offer good comfort. The facilities include swimming pools, sauna, steam room, hairdressers, amazing gardens to relax, a disco and a casino.The breakfast offers a very good selection but it can get really busy at times so be aware that getting there early is usually better. Having breakfast outside facing the sea and the port of Funchal is a very nice experience!
Unfortunately the reception staff and the service lets the hotel down. They are not very friendly and sometimes rude! I also found the room cleanliness is never of a very high standard ( considering 22 to 25 rooms? per room attendant I can understand why) .
When renting a car staying at the Lido area is a better option as parking here is not always easy! Only a few spaces in front of the reception are free parking.
If you are prepared to overlook a few issues this can be a very nice place to stay! Just don't expect 5 stars service all the way! Not even 4 stars!
The location is excellent overlooking the bay of Funchal and a very short walk to the centre.

Room Tip: a room with a view of Funchal above the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberto V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Although this hotel may have been a 5 star when it opened up decades ago, this is no longer the case. Room and food quality are pretty average and offers little to excite you. On a positive note the outdoor areas are roomy and nice.

Good
Out door area and pool
View
Location

Bad
Old towels. Like drying off on sandpaper...
No functioning wireless internet
No walk in showers

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneWorldExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 86 in Funchal
2,276 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
1,900 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#16 of 86 in Funchal
2,147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Casino Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Property: Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Address: Rua Imperatriz D. Amelia, 55 | Quinta da Vigia, Funchal, Madeira 9004-513, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Funchal
#25 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#25 Family Hotel in Funchal
#31 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#33 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Casino Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Casino Park is a 5-star hotel in Funchal, Madeira, surrounded by 15,000 m² of private gardens. Designed by world-renowned master architect Óscar Niemeyer, this hotel is adjacent to the Funchal bay cruise port. Plus, it is only 5 minutes on foot from the city centre and the epicentre of the city's social and cultural life. Its privileged location on the shores of the Atlantic Ocean makes it one of the most famous hotels on the island of Madeira. It features an infinity swimming pool, gardens with peaceful alcoves, a private car park available for a fee, a Spa where you can schedule a massage and/or Magic Spa treatment, and an indoor swimming pool with water jets, jacuzzi, Turkish bath, sauna and gym. You can enjoy four restaurants and bars with views overlooking the tennis court and access to the Casino da Madeira, with games, shows and a nightclub. All rooms have Wi-Fi and a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Casino Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Hotel Park
Pestana Casino Park Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing