We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Hotel is great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Ranked #32 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“This Hotel is great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks all inclusive stay at the Pestana Casino hotel. I read the tripadvisor comments beforehand and now feel qualified to answer a few of the negative posts some have submitted. First of all it is a 5 star hotel, maybe not the London equivalent of a 5 star but still excellent. The staff were very friendly, we never met any of the grumpy ones that some have reported, you probably get back what you give! The meals were excellent with a very comprehensive selection, even at lunchtime, a different choice of fish every day, sea bass, perch, kingklip( I know, me neither but it was delicious) sardines and not the John West tinned ones either.The carvery was varied,Beef, Lamb, Pork, Duck etc and the sweets were to die for,..the buffet is not recommended for weightwatchers,
We had a side sea view on the 4th floor with great views of Funchal and the harbour, if you are on the lower floors with garden views, then the views won't be so good, unless you like gardens. This was our first visit to Madeira and the one thing we were disappointed with, having endured years of timeshare touting in Tenerife was to find it alive and well and living in Funchal courtesy of the Pestana group.

Room Tip: Side sea view facing the harbour and town has morning sun and shade in afternoon. We had 439 and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tigerman579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoLeal, Manager at Pestana Casino Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,
Many thanks for your fantastic review about or beautiful hotel.
Pestana Casino Park Hotel is indeed a very special place and your kind words will incentive us further, to keep striving for more and better to our guests.
I am glad that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and we look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon and make part of the wonderful Casino Park family.
Best regards from the island of flowers and eternal Spring.

Ricardo Leal
Unit Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,021
    876
    347
    88
    28
See reviews for
395
1,483
84
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I have just returned after spending 12 nights in this hotel. The location is ideal for those who want quick access to the centre of Funchal, and there are guest bedrooms on most sides of the building allowing a wide selection of outlook according to your preference. The architecture is striking (designed by Oscar Neimeyer) and the public areas are spacious. We had booked a junior suite, which was well appointed and very pleasant with a side sea view and looking towards Reid's Hotel.TV offers satellite programmes including BBC1, 2 and ITV- a good option if the weather is unseasonably unkind (as it was during our stay). The Panoramic Restaurant caters for a large number of guests (there are 379 rooms) but at no time did we have to wait for a table or find our food choice restricted. The views from the restaurant give a close view of arrivals and departures of the visiting cruise ships, and there is plenty of outside space for sitting or lounging on the sunbeds. The gardens are attractive, and with the indoor and outdoor pools, children's play area, gym, spa and hair and beauty salon the hotel is a resort in itself!
I found the staff friendly, helpful and approachable, and I must mention in particular Dalila Rodriguez the Guest Relations Manager. This lady has a delightful personality and takes pleasure in offering whatever assistance or information is required.

Room Tip: Views vary from the old town, the gardens, the Casino and road, the harbour, the sea and towards the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just returned from our first trip to Madeira and stayed at the Casino Park Hotel which was a great hotel for its location, facilities, it is spotless and clean and with an added bonus of free internet whilst in the check in area, lucky to have got a sea view room which overlooked the marina but other guest were less enthusied by their rooms on the Garden side. Overall this is an excellent hotel with so helpful staff a great place to stay for a good relaxing break.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor as it gives good views of Funchal
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chadnetman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoLeal, Manager at Pestana Casino Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Guest,
Many thanks for your kind contribution and comments abou the Pestana Casino Park Hotel.
I am glad to read that you have enjoyed your time in Madeira and really thank you for choosing our beautiful hotel.
I, myself and the whole Pestana Casino Park Hotel family, look forward to welcome you again in a not too distant future, where no efforts will be spared to make your stay a most enjoyable and memorable one again.
Best regards from the Sunny Madeira!

Ricardo Leal
Unit Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I visited this hotel in November/December of 2012. It was my first trip to Funchal, Madeira and I loved the island and the hotel. The service was great. The lobby staff was friendly and efficient. Although I speak Portuguese, the staff spoke perfect English. The restaurants, bars, patio/pool and spa were well serviced with a friendly and competent staff. It was a short walk to the town center as well as a few malls and the 'old city' (Zona Velha). I will definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mgharris2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoLeal, Manager at Pestana Casino Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your fantastic review about our beautiful Hotel.
Pestana Casino Park Hotel is indeed a very special place for holidays and your kind words will incentive us further, to keep striving for more and better to our guests.
I am glad that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and that you are thinking to come back and make part of the wonderful Casino Park family.
Look forward to your next visit and assuring you of our best attention at all times, we remain with best regards from the island of flowers and eternal Spring.

Ricardo Leal
Unit Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Funchal is a lovely place to visit, and the casino park is a first class hotel ,friendly staff, excellent food and rooms spotless ,it's only a 5 minute walk to the centre of town, the only minus was our room faced a side street, avoid rooms on the North West side of the hotel as it's a very restricted view,our room was 135, otherwise I would highly recommend this hotel

If you like the sun and good represented don't go in January, August September are the best months

Room Tip: Always ask for an East facing room as this has the best views looking down to the town centre The b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank theteddys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoLeal, Manager at Pestana Casino Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your comments. The fact you have enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to give us your feedback it’s the best award we can get and that’s what makes work even harder to meet all our guests’ expectations! Thank you!

We now look forward to the pleasure of meeting you back soon, where no efforts will be spared to make your next stay a most enjoyable and memeorable one again, we remain with kindest regards

Ricardo Leal
Unit Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel

.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Madeira is one of the beautiful place on this earth. I liked Pestana Hotel because of its location, facilities and affordable room rent. One of the best part of the hotel is: swimming pool. I was not happy with the internet connection and some other poor services. They had given me see facing view room, which was fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank genecoder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoLeal, Manager at Pestana Casino Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,
Thank you very much for your confidence in our services. Your satisfaction is our main priority and that’s what makes even harder.
Thank you very much for your comments about our services and staff.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon, and assuring you of our best attention at all times we remain with kindest regardsss from the Sunny Madeira!

Ricardo Leal
Unit Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Very clean and spacious and within walking distance to Funchal centre. We were originally booked in to the Pestana Bay up the coast but the refurbishment of that Hotel wasn't finished so we were transferred to the Casino. The decor is a bit dated in the Lounges and the corridors but it is comfortable. Have only got a couple of complaints. Firstly, in my opinion, the food is aimed towards the older type of guest ( not much to get your teeth into and a bit bland sometimes) and secondly, the All Inclusive bar is only properly manned at night time thanks to the likes of Carlos. As the Hotel doesn't normally cater for the All Inclusive crowd, the pay bar on the other side gets all the Staff congregating there mostly. Cannot complain about our room. It is so spacious (we're still here!) with a double balcony overlooking the Harbour, a lovely Lounge and a massive Bathroom with a Bath, Double sink, Bidet and walk in Shower. All the Staff from Housekeeping to the Restaurant are very polite and attentive (special mention to Manuela) and they have made our stay very enjoyable. Would I stay again? Maybe due to the proximity of Funchal but there are more modern Hotels in the Pestana Group to try along this Coast.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the Harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Curlywurly3669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoLeal, Manager at Pestana Casino Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinon about our hotel with others. Thank you very much for your comments about our services, faciliteis and staff.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon we remain with Kind regards

Ricardo Leal
Unit Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,909 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#15 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#7 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 972 reviews
1.5 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#13 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,018 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 2,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Casino Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Property: Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Address: Rua Imperatriz D. Amelia, 55 | Quinta da Vigia, Funchal, Madeira 9004-513, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Funchal
#22 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#26 Family Hotel in Funchal
#30 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#32 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Casino Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 379
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Pestana Casino Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Hotel Park
Pestana Casino Park Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing