We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Ranked #35 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
chipping campden
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Five Star!!!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Ok where do I start. Is this a 5 star hotel? well on balance I think not. It has got all the facilities of a5star ie spa, indoor pool etc but it lacks that extra bit that makes the difference between excellent and just ok and it was just ok. The staff are all without exception charming and helpfull but where it really falls down is in the food department. It is just not 5 star standard, breakfast is ok with a good selectionf fruits, cerial, cakes and breads and the cooked is also plentifull and a decent selection. however, dinner is just not up to 5 star stadard , no waiter service which you would expect in a 5 star hotel. The food was reasonable quality but very repetitious you could almost predict what would be on the menu each evening,two types of fish in a sauce a type of meat in a sauce a not very good selection of vegetables, however I would say the salad selection is fine.So why has it got 5 stars, without seeing other equivelent hotels in the area it is difficult to say, maybe some of the others should be 6 stars, but what it has got going for it is the location just a 10 minute walk into town and superb views. Would I stay here again, maybe, because it is very good value for money and it is not scruffy or dirty or a place that you would not step foot into again it is just not 5 star. Sorry Casino Park

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cat_rowdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,180
    1,053
    412
    106
    37
See reviews for
476
1,726
106
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (734)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I must admit I wasn't expecting too much from the hotel. When we arrived I wasn't enamoured with the concrete exterior and thought the room was okay but perhaps in need of a revamp. So those are the negatives out of the way.

On the plus side found the staff very helpful. I thought I had lost my camera so plagued the concierge with several calls about where they had to call to find it, i.e. the taxi, the restaurant, etc., etc. They were good natured about it. Found the staff helpful. We would go out for dinner in the evening and it was pleasant to get back to the hotel to find there was a musician each night (during the week) and couples dancing. Thought that was pleasant. Also there were some good movie channels in the room, subtitled as opposed to dubbed. Smashing view of the sea and the mountain from the balcony. Breakfast was varied and lovely view from the conservatory. Enjoyed it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DontLikeDowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoLeal, Manager at Pestana Casino Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your very nice review about Pestana Casino Park Hotel.
Pestana Casino Park Hotel is indeed a very special place and your kind words will incentive us further, to keep striving for more and better to our guests.
Look forward to your next visit.
Best regards from the Sunny Madeira!.

Ricardo Leal
Unit Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Returned to Madeira for Christmas and New Year, we visited the island on Queen Elizabeth for a two day stop over for the New Year celebrations in 2011, having had an Christmas holiday there in 2010, staying in a very good small hotel in the old town,( just prior to the floods) after these good experiances and the delightful atmosphere of the island we decided that we would take a fourteen day holiday there for Christmas and New Year 2012. We decided that we would book in the hotel area of Funchal, in doing so we chose the Pestana Casino Park, for it's proximity to the harbour and town, plus that we had spent an holiday at this hotel back in the summer of 1991. We booked with our local Thomsons Travel shop, and flew out a rainy miserable early morning Christmas eve flight from Birmingham, it was raining a little when we landed, however when we reached Funchal no rain at all, (and the weather for the next two weeks was superb).
For this holiday we had decided to book a suite (403) and go half board at this hotel, this turned out to be a very good choice, booking in was speedy and efficient , and we were asked if we had stayed there before, if so we would receive a 5% discount on all drinks and snacks, the suite we had was ideal overlooking the harbour on the fourth floor, very well appointed, recently refurbished , Bedroom , balcony, 7 foot wide double bed, plenty of wardrobe space, safe , TV set. Bathroom all new sanitaryware, two washbasins, separate toilet and shower, robes and slippers. Sitting room , TV set, coffe table, sofa armchair. dining table and chairs, minibar, electric kettle and cups, a welcome bottle of Madeira wine. Very clean throughout. Staff very friendly and efficient
The hotel was a superb example of design, in the architect conception of space, and light. Public areas are really superb as is the dining restaurant with its three storey height glazed wall facing seaward.
Dining experiance, breakfast is buffet style which is fairly general today, however there was a vast choice to suit everyone in the cold area, hot area the usual, eggs were very good in whatever way you wanted, sausage (not as ours) a little spicey, bacon is cooked in the oven in packs, tomatoes , beans OK. no mushrooms , however due to high turnover food is quite hot, generally luke warm if you come down at late times. Despite what some reviewers state, you are not restricted to coffee from a machine, there is individual Nestles coffee packs, tea bags, milk and hot water available. Dinner, no waiter service (as 1991) and which you would expect in a 5 Star hotel, (Perhaps a 4 Star + at best) the food was good quality though somewhat repetitious, However the two Gala Dinners were superb. All in all a very enjoyable holidaybut that is what Madeira is a beautful island with really friendly and likable people (PS. Don't let Dengue Fever scare put you off, as Arnie would say "I'll be back) .

Room Tip: Having stayed both sides, East side (facing harbour) best view, including superb firework display) a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raza311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoLeal, Manager at Pestana Casino Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Reviewer,
Many thanks for your fantastic review about or beautiful hotel.
Pestana Casino Park Hotel is indeed a very special place and your kind words will incentive us further, to keep striving for more and better to our guests.
I am glad that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and that you are thinking to come back and make part of the wonderful Casino Park family.
Look forward to your next visit.
Best regards from the island of flowers and eternal Spring.

Ricardo Leal
Unit Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Our holiday began when we arrived at the airport and our travel rep met us in a very friendly manner and introduced us to our driver who very comfortably transferred eight of us to the hotel,and we were at the hotel reception within one hour of the plane touching down.
The hotel reception was very impressive,and the staff from porter to manager very helpful and friendly,the whole booking in took approx 15 minutes and our luggage was already on its way to our allocated room.
We had opted for half board accommodation and our first visit to the dining room only reinforced our first impressions of the services available to the guests.
The exterior is maintained to the same standard as the interior and creates a very pleasant atmosphere to enjoy the Maderian climate.
During the length of our stay the staff again at all levels worked together and as a team made our stay a very pleasant experience.
When our stay was over our luggage was collected from our room and was just as friendly and efficient as our arrival.
The other big plus for this hotel is its location with its own casino and club next door and Funchal with its harbour and promenade etc only some 10 minutes stroll away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank malcdrabble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoLeal, Manager at Pestana Casino Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your fantastic review about or beautiful hotel.
Pestana Casino Park Hotel is indeed a very special place and your kind words will incentive us further, to keep striving for more and better to our guests.
I am glad that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and and for complimenting our staff and their services. Now we are looking forward to your next visit, where no efforts will be spared to make your next stay a most enjoyable and memorable one as well.
Best regards from the island of flowers and eternal Spring.

Ricardo Leal
Unit Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Please dont be put off by the reviews on this hotel -our expererience was very good. Everything was excellent and great value . The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were comfortable and facilities good. It is also onyl a 10 minute downhill walk to Funchal town

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gag023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoLeal, Manager at Pestana Casino Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,
Thank you very much for your very positive comments about your stay at the Pestana Casino Park Hotel. The fact you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and took the time to give feedback it’s the best award we can get and that’s what makes work even harder to meet all our guests’ expectations! We highly appreciated. Thank you!
We now look forward to the pleasure of meeting you back soon and assuring you our best attention at all times we remain with kindest regards.

Ricardo Leal
Unit Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

As other reviewers have mentioned this hotel is located much closer to the old town of Funchal than the vast majority of the hotels in the capital and is a pleasant walk into the centre.
No complaints with regard to the room and the service was very good.
As mentioned in the review title the only let down that we found was the evening buffet which could become a bit repetitive and was not always as hot as it should have been. Be prepared for coffee out of a machine for breakfast, or you could have a glass of cava!
We asked to upgrade to A La Carte one night but were told it was not possible.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tr250man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoLeal, Manager at Pestana Casino Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,
Thank you very much for your kind contribution and honest opinion.
we are glad to read that in general you did like the service and the hospitality we deliver. It is anyhow with regret that you did not enjoyed the cullinary level as you found it too much repetitive. Unfortunately sometimes is very difficult to please every customers. We apologize for it and hope that the good memories will prevail.
We look forward to your next visit to the Pestana Casino Park Hotel and with best regards from the island of flowers and eternal Spring, we remain,

Ricardo Leal
Unit Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menai Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed here for a week at the begining of January. Check in was very efficient and painless. Room was a good size and clean linnen every day. We were half board and were impressed with the variety of food, from cold meats and cheeses to the hot cooked breakfast. The eavening meal was also very good with an excellent choise of cold and hot dishes.
As a pair of oldies the walk down into Funchal and back was easy and enjoyable with a stroll through the park. It was also great fun watching the cruise liners arriving and departing as we sat on the balcony.
The staff were very helpful and friendly, especially our waiter in the restaurant.
We would recommend this hotel for couples, family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngleseyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoLeal, Manager at Pestana Casino Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,
Many thanks for your kind contribution and constructive comments.
We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your time in our beautiful Island of Madeira and at the Pestana Casino Park Hotel. We really thank you for choosing our beautiful hotel.
Myself and the whole Pestana Casino Park Hotel's team look forward to welcome you again.
Kindest regards.

Ricardo Leal
Unit Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 86 in Funchal
2,247 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
1,886 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#18 of 86 in Funchal
2,111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
2.1 mi away
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
#33 of 86 in Funchal
1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Casino Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Property: Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Address: Rua Imperatriz D. Amelia, 55 | Quinta da Vigia, Funchal, Madeira 9004-513, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Funchal
#25 Family Hotel in Funchal
#25 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#31 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#33 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Casino Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Casino Park is a 5-star hotel in Funchal, Madeira, surrounded by 15,000 m² of private gardens. Designed by world-renowned master architect Óscar Niemeyer, this hotel is adjacent to the Funchal bay cruise port. Plus, it is only 5 minutes on foot from the city centre and the epicentre of the city's social and cultural life. Its privileged location on the shores of the Atlantic Ocean makes it one of the most famous hotels on the island of Madeira. It features an infinity swimming pool, gardens with peaceful alcoves, a private car park available for a fee, a Spa where you can schedule a massage and/or Magic Spa treatment, and an indoor swimming pool with water jets, jacuzzi, Turkish bath, sauna and gym. You can enjoy four restaurants and bars with views overlooking the tennis court and access to the Casino da Madeira, with games, shows and a nightclub. All rooms have Wi-Fi and a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Casino Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Hotel Park
Pestana Casino Park Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing