We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Year 2012/13”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Ranked #33 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“New Year 2012/13”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was our 12th time at this hotel and probably the last. The people of Funchal are the friendliest of people which is why we return so many times. The hotel is in a perfect location and some of the facilities are 5 star, both indoor and outdoor pools and some of the refurbished rooms. Having booked in September we requested a room on the 5th floor, island view - not the most expensive room but our agent knowing how many times we had stayed at the hotel requested they give us a nice room. Well we were allocated a 3rd floor room the furthest away from the lifts, one of the old rooms not refurbished and one of the worst views. We were not welcomed back unlike at all the restaurants and bars that we visited - we could have been strangers for all the attention any of the hotel reception staff gave us. Our friends decided to book to join us 10 days before Christmas - they were automatically allocated a 5th floor room and one that has been extensively refurbished and they did not pay as much as we had, had never stayed at the hotel before and they also will not be returning back to the hotel. The breakfast is poor with the exception of the omelet staff, bacon was cooked on one side, raw on the other the same for the sausages and it was like a bun fight most mornings.

This time having decided to vote with our feet we visited another hotel, 4 star only and the staff could not be friendlier, inviting us to look around, allocating a member of staff to show us around and the facilities were sparkling clean. The welcome we received was overwhelming compared to that which we had received at the Casino Park.

We shall be returning in August and also next New Year but for the first time we will not be returning to the Casino Park Hotel which is a shame as the Doormen, Orlando in particular does make the effort to welcome us but I am sorry it should be more than the door staff who remember that we have been coming to this hotel on a regular basis since 1999 having first stayed there more than 26 years ago when it was one of only three 5 star hotels available. It appears that loyalty does not count at Casino Park and it is for this reason we shall not return.

Room Tip: You can ask but no guarantee you will get it but a garden side view is probably best to ask for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank traceyall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,148
    1,011
    395
    103
    32
See reviews for
451
1,680
102
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (710)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Funchal
Level Contributor
100 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

As with other reviewers, it's not the best five star hotel on the island but the friendliness, warmth and helpfulness of the staff along with it's excellent situation for town makes it a wonderful choice. Breakfast can be a little bit of a 'bun fight' but on the whole you get an good selection to cater for all tastes (it's all about the timing). Do, do, do, try the Cabaret Show above the Casino. It is fabulous value for money. The standard of food is superb, Portuguese wine is gorgeous and it just keeps flowing and the cabaret is very good, if a little shorter than a few years ago. The trumpet player Chicco is particularly good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
2 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed at this hotel from 29th Dec to 3rd Jan. Booked this hotel for it's location and promise in the brochure of a five star hotel. Soooo disappointed. I know five star hotels abroad are different to those in this country and the UAE but the rooms in this hotel barely pass for a four star. No tea and coffee making facilities, I understand this can be the norm abroad but feel that a five star should provide them. No trousers press or iron and ironing board, although you can 'rent' them for five euros a day, either of these should be standard in a five star hotel room never mind about 'renting' them. No mirror above the dressing table so ladies have to stand in the bathroom to do hair and make-up with no nature light. No radio alarm or even a clock. There was a couple of white dressing gowns supplied in the room one of which had blood stains on it and the towels are certainly not five star quality, more like three star.

We stayed on a B&B basic and found the breakfast to have a good choice however on the first night as we were so tired we opted to eat in the A la Carte restaurant, this was not as good as we expected, vegetables on all three meals were luke warm with my main course of fish having to be sent back as it was cold. Having said that the NYE Gala dinner was extremely good.

Staff are pleasant enough although the checking in process could be greatly improved as it's currently extremely slow.

While in possibly one of the best locations in Funchal I most certainly wouldn't go back and would say it's an overpriced four star hotel due to the lack of facitlities and basic dated bedrooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view on a higher floor and watch the cruise liners coming in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeverleyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

It's a grand hotel, designed by Oscar Niemeyer, with good rooms and spacious common areas, although a little overrated for five star hotel. Nonetheless the service is excellent, the staff always tries to do an extra mile to satisfie the client. And it has an amazing view of Funchal and the sea.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joao_Ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Whilst not sure about the five star rating, this hotel represents good value for money and has excellent facilities in probably one of the best positions in Funchal, with easy access to the town, which was a big plus for us. As half board guests, all meals were buffet service, and although I applaud the chef's efforts to vary the food, the buffet format was a little repetitive. Having said this, breakfasts were always good (take the tip from another tripadvisor review and order a fresh pot of coffee rather than the poor quality coffee from the machines) and for dinner the salad and dessert offerings in particular were always impressive. Food quality was generally high. If we were to return, I would chose B&B only as there are numerous excellent restaurants in the town. Seeking some variety, we opted out of our half board twice in the week to sample another restaurant and only found out by accident that it was possible to go to a dinner show at the attached casino restaurant at a cost of only 10 euros each. Excellent value, very good food and much recommended. One irritant during our visit was the rather loud and sickly piped Christmas carols music, which proved impossible to curtail. Staff were cheerful and helpful throughout. If you have a hire car, very limited free parking spaces can be a problem.

Room Tip: Chose a room on the casino/garden side, all of which have some outlook to the pool and cruise termin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Godfrey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portree
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have just spent a week at the casino park hotel. The room was spacious and comfortable and attention had been paid to my request for a room near the lift as I have mobility problems. The food was average but breakfast was very good with a wide range of items. I had booked with the pestana bay which I knew suited my needs so was disappointed to find this hotel did not. There was a steep ramp to the dining area which I could not cope with. Staff provided a wheelchair service cheerfully but it was inconvenient and rather embarrassing. I could not reach the saga lounge so missed out on social events. Staff were unfailingly pleasant but the problems getting around mean I would not return. I did check with saga in advance but they either did not know or did not tell me about potential problems

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SagatravellerPortree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Nice enough Hotel but certainly does not merit five star rating. Service was very good. Rooms a decent size with a very comfortable bed although there is a little bit of road noise - if you leave balcony door open. Pool and bars excellent. Excellent location next to the Casino, restaurants and a ten minute walk (down hill) to central Funchal. The overall holiday was very good value for money and we will visit Funchal again.

Room Tip: Best rooms facing gardens and pool area I would think that most rooms have at least a partial sight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidLena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,765 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#20 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Casino Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Property: Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Address: Rua Imperatriz D. Amelia, 55 | Quinta da Vigia, Funchal, Madeira 9004-513, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Funchal
#23 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#25 Family Hotel in Funchal
#31 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#31 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Casino Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 379
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pestana Casino Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Hotel Park
Pestana Casino Park Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing