We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, a great deals on the Junior Suite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Ranked #34 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great hotel, a great deals on the Junior Suite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

I've stayed at Pestana Casino Park Hotel several times as I visit the island often on my own and it is a good place to relax and don't feel bothered for going on holiday solo.
The amazing price one can get for the Junior Suite, a lovely large room with separated sitting room, an enormous bathroom with large bath and shower, both with amazing sea views is a one off in the island for such good deals.
The swimming pool area is lovely and you will never get lost like some resorts. I love lying down in the sunbed inside the pool while having large jug of pina colada and enjoy watching enormous sea cruises arriving at port. It's the best entertainment, plus the ships look so large and so close that you feel you almost can touch them.
There are some things than make this place not so inviting for younger cooler tourists.
The breakfast buffet hasn't change since the 80s, although there's a large selection of food, Madeiran's don't seem to give up on canned fruit, would nicer to travel to a tropical island and have fresh organic fruit, plus the layout of the buffet sometimes is a bit dated and untidy and greasy.
The entertaining in the evening hasn't changed in the last 30 years, would be nice if "Pestana Group" invested in a good jazz band or a good singer, sure we can all agree that the old fashioned electric piano makes the place dated no matter "cool" they try to be. Lady in red and pan pipes is no longer the best way to entertain, especially when is played over and over
The overall experience is great, this hotel is very well priced and you're so close to town.
Madeira's night life is only well known to the locals and starts very early in the morning and this hotel is the best location to join them as the Casino is right next door and there's a good night cub that only gets busy around 3 am.

Room Tip: great place to relax, near the city center, near restaurants and bars and nightlife, good spa, swimm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank suzyesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,136
    997
    390
    102
    32
See reviews for
447
1,656
101
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (705)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk England
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

One of the reasons we chose this hotel in Funchal is that it is the nearest 5-star property to the main town of Funchal. It was an easy downhill 10 minute walk to the centre, a not so easy uphill 20 minute walk back! From the outside it is a 60's monstrosity - but we didn't stay there to look at the outside. We had a fabulous room on the 3rd floor overlooking the casino and the gardens with a side view of the sea and the harbour where the cruise ships dock. We had a large balcony where we could sit in the evenings. The room was modern, clean and spacious and the bathroom was also, with a great variety of potions and lotions!

Staff on reception were mainly friendly and helpful, especially the younger ones but the evening older staff were not so helpful and one of the night reception guys was downright surly. When I asked about wi-fi in public areas he asked me to pay 10E for one hour, when I said that I felt that was a bit steep he just shrugged his shoulders. This was really my only gripe, a 5-star hotel should make wi-fi free in all public areas.

Breakfast was had in a fabulous restaurant overlooking the sea with sun terraces outside. There was a wonderful selection of both hot and cold food, you could really fill up for the day on the breakfast. We didn't eat in the restaurant at night as we'd rather explore, there were lots of really good restaurants in the street behind the hotel and we tried a different one every night.

We found prices in the bar in the evening to be typical of a 5-star hotel in a capital city. The bar was generally very busy in the evenings and sometimes it was difficult to catch the eye of the waiters. We found ourselves often waiting 10-15 minutes before anyone approached us for our order.

The small cafe bar at the bottom of the garden was a delight and we spend quite a few afternoons just lazing around down there with drinks. Note - they do excellent chips there!

We would certainly book this hotel again when we return to Funchal.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a sea view or side sea view room, others overlook a building site where another h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Candice-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

A nice classic look where they have managed very well to keep original features and mix it with new '1960s look alikes'. You got a sense of being in a different era when travel was more of a luxury. Big room, nice communal areas - inside and outside - friendly and attentive staff. You could however, hear the rooms next door watching TV and the towels were not the newest. Furthermore there were a lot of construction sites around the hotel which is not the nicest scenery, but luckily it was not very noisy. Not surprisingly in-house drinks were many Euros more expensive at the hotel than elsewhere and the only meal we ate there was not particularly excellent, but the breakfast selection was great! Swimming pool and spa area was very nice and relaxing.

The location is excellent for exploring city, and staff was helpful with regards to directions etc. A couple of nice restaurants just behind the hotel which was handy if you don't want to walk far.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stipendiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

just had 4 days here with my hubby on bed and breakfast and it was fabulous. Lovely room with balcony, exceptional facilities - indoor pool, hamman, sauna, jacuzzi all excellent and inviting and everywhere spotless. A real tonic. Also had a la carte menu one evening, beautifully presented food of a high standard. would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: higher the room, better the view from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank julia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
98 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

Have just returned from a very sunny week at the Casino Park - great position - excellent staff. It is a big 60's built concrete classic, with big rooms, good views and very clean. The walls were a bit thin as we could hear the next room's TV when turned down low. Also the towels were at the end of their useful life - very thin and would soon be like drying yourself on a toasted pita bread.
Be warned that there are three - yes three - building sites within 200 yards that have just started construction. The biggest one to the West and will be at least a year depending how far up they go. We still think this is a good place to stay and would return for a good deal.

Room Tip: Rooms on the East will be quieter but do not get evening sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank THEVIKING100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall/Kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

We only had a short break, but really were impressed with the look and feel of the hotel and island.
Food was good (selection & quality), as was the room, with great views of the bay and Funchal.
This was our first, (and hopefully not our last) trip to Maderia; we enjoyed the hills and splendid gardens as well as the quirks the town itself had to offer. The cable car is a big recommendation for all that visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CaptianRic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inoban
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

This is the first time we have been to Madeira and were not sure what to expect, we flew with Thompson Airways, which was really good, efficiant and proffesional. At the Hotel, the staff at the reception desk were excellent, and booking in was smooth and easily done. The first impression we got was that the decor of the hotel was very dated (60's-70's), but it does grow on you, and we concluded that it was retro stylish. We had a 5th floor room, sea facing, which means that you look along the coast towards the west (lovely sunsets). The port is right below the hotel, and occasionally we did hear noise from there, it added to the general feel of the holiday. The room was clean and quite big, more of a junior suite and the housekeeping very good. Once again quite retro, but a very pleasent place to stay. We stayed HB, and the breakfast was the usual fare in most large tourist hotels, nothing to write home about. On the first night we had a very nice dinner, but found that the wine list was rather expensive. Unfortunately, the food is not 5 star, probably 4 if the kitchen are having a good day, on one occasion I actually had to send my meal back as I couldnt eat it. The leasure facilities are excellent, especially the refurbished and modern pool and spa area, and the small gym. In all, I would go back to this Hotel, but on a B&B basis, because it is so close to all of the cafes and rastaurants in Funchal, and most of them are very good value

Room Tip: 5th floor, sea view is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inoban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,146 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,711 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#20 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Casino Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Property: Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Address: Rua Imperatriz D. Amelia, 55 | Quinta da Vigia, Funchal, Madeira 9004-513, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Funchal
#24 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#25 Family Hotel in Funchal
#31 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#32 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Casino Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 379
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Casino Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Hotel Park
Pestana Casino Park Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing