We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very relaxing and enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pestana Casino Park
Ranked #33 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We arrived in Madeira slightly anxious given some reviews we had read but most of them are frankly absolute tosh. Some people obviously get great joy in complaining for the sake of it. This is a beautiful hotel and you will have a great time here. The entire hotel is very open plan and pretty huge. It is well appointed just a short stroll to the centre of Funchal. The staff are extremely friendly and accommodating and couldn't do enough for my wife and I and our one year old. They make you feel very special.

We went half board and there is a good choice of food at both breakfast and dinner both hot and cold. I agree that it would get samey if staying for a fortnight but that's the same everywhere. The dining room is massive and has a great sea view. There are lots of restaurants nearby if you fancy a change.

The pool area is lovely with lots of places to sit and unwind; the hotel epitomises relaxation. The pool itself is rather deep so be careful if you are not a strong swimmer. I would recommend the indoor pool as an alternative. A bit on the chilly side but has the feel of a spa with bubbles everywhere and a lovely place to chill with a book. I feel this has the wow factor.

The rooms are also very comfortable with DVD, flatscreen with a multitude of channels, beds are fine (don't listen to moaners!), safe and if you want to hire a kettle it's £4 which is fair. They are very modernly decorated and a decent size. The balcony is also a good size but as others have said the seats are backbreaking. These need changing with immediate effect! The balcony also does not have a light which isn't great when you have a one year old inside asleep and you want to read a book outside!

Overall this is a very comfortable 4 star plus hotel, not five, and we would definitely stay here again. Its not the prettiest building ever constructed and the name sounds a bit tacky but it's what is on the inside that counts.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Stuartyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,873)
There are newer reviews for Pestana Casino Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,730 - 1,736 of 2,874 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2011

Thought the offer price was good for a last minute holiday in a 5 star hotel and most of the reviews were good so decided to go for it. On arrival the hotel is very impressive, with lovely gardens all around. The reception area is very spacious and stylish and staff quite friendly. The lady on duty very helpfully got us into our room earlier than we expected which we appreciated as we had a 2 a.m. start from home. The dining area is extremely large with great views and there is a good choice for the buffet breakfast, although some of the formica topped tables had chips in the surface (not the food kind!). We were on a b&b basis so can't comment on other meals. Once you go upstairs the bedroom corridors are a wee bit tired and dark and because the hotel is quite large we had to walk a fair way to our room, so we tried hard not to forget anything when we went out! Our room was just what you expect, decor a bit beige, usual seating, and tv, with twin beds pushed together, which we found quite firm. It might be worth taking a travel kettle, tea, coffee etc., as there is none there. The mini bar had 4 bottles of juice and 2 of water at the usual prices but we popped outside to the small supermarket (1st street on the left) for a bottle of vino or two. Our room was at the rear of the hotel but had a side sea view and looked up into the town which was ok, although the busy street outside could be noisy but generally not a big problem as you're out most of the time anyway. The indoor pool, jacuzzi and other facilities downstairs were fantastic and we wondered if this was where the 5 star rating came from. However, the best thing of all about this hotel for us was its location. It was a 10 minute downhill walk into town, and if you came back via the park you didn't notice the hill so much. We also got a bus pass for the local yellow buses (ask at the brown ticket kiosk beside the marina on the front) - better than driving a car and we found it more interesting. However although we don't think it generally warrants the 5 star grading we would still recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Chrisg08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We stayed here for a week on a bed and breakfast basis. The hotel staff were very efficient and helpful. The location of the hotel is ideal, you can walk into Funchal in about 10 minutes, near to a beautiful park and buses etc. Supermarket within a few hundred yards and some really good restuarants. We hired a car for the week so the only gripe we had with the hotel was the lack of parking. There was a lot of wasted space outside the hotel, and only about 8 spaces for hotel guests. Seeing the hotel has about 370 plus rooms this is not good. We always managed to find a parking space around the local streets, otherwise you can go into the Casino car park. Have coins for meter though as machines dont take notes. My husband found the staff at the casino most unhelpful. Madeira is a beautiful, clean island with very pleasant folk willing to help. The marina has a number of good restuarants, we went to the Mar Azul and had really good food. Near to the hotel, past the supermarket are a number of good places to eat, depending on your palate. We ate at the Asian Restuarant and had a super 3 course meal (chinese style) with coffee for two people for 25 euros. Very nice. Also there is a Italian and further down to the left is another restuarant where we had two super evening meals (I think it was called Castel del Pente). Lovely staff and food.
If you hire a car be prepared for the roads, they are like the Monaco grand prix. Very high, very bendy and narrow. I was surprised we did not see any damaged cars, accidents but on the whole the locals are courteous on the road and do stop for pedestrians, unlike some of our UK drivers. Back to the hotel, our rooms were spotless, meals we had - breakfast - excellent with lots of choice, even Champagne if you wanted. Very quiet hotel, our room backed onto the gardens and we did not have any noise. The balcony chairs are uncomfortable. Grounds of the hotel are lovely, great views to the sea, saw many liners come into port. Would stay here again, but I hope they can get the parking sorted. Reception area is a bit bland. The pictures by the hotel's architect are awful. We went into the Porto Santa Maria hotel in Funchal and their reception area is lovely. By the way if you are down by the Fort area we can recommend you going into this hotel for lunch. They do great bagettes etc. The flowers in Madeira are lovely, May is a good time to visit as there is an abundance of colour around.

Room Tip: We booked an upgrade before we went.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank jetsaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Just returned from a wet and cloudy Madeira. A nice hotel albeit very large but you soon get used to it. Pool and garden area lovely and we did manage a few swims despite the weather.
Entertainment in the evenings, some good - some not so good. A decent breakfast with quite a selection to choose from. We were bed and breakfast so cannot comment on evening meal. Staff very friendly and helpful. Excursions with First Choice a liitle on the pricey side. If you are a football fan there are screens and cheap and cheerful food at the Prince Albert pub in the road to the left of the hotel. There is also a nice Thai restaurant in this road.

Room Tip: Garden rooms have nice view but casino noisy
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmandaGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

How disappointing!! We stayed at the Pestana Grand a few years back and were delighted with every aspect of the hotel, except the location. Hence we booked a Pestana Group hotel again but moved nearer to Funchal. The location of the Casino Park was great but how Pestana standards have changed.
To start with a very dour receptionist told us we would have to wait three hours for our room but after we complained, remarkably discovered that our room was ready. The hotel building itself is OK although lacking in soul.
Rooms were fine with a good standard of cleanliness although the nights were quite noisy as our room faced the street. It did seem strange to have to pay 4 euros to rent a kettle and two cups!
Our main bone of contention was the food. Breakfast was very disappointing. There was a very small choice of serials, breads and likewise of fresh fruit - in fact on many days the fruit was of the tinned variety! The cooked breakfast was tasteless with the fried eggs either hard as bullets as they had been sitting in the hot tray for ages or totally undercooked with runny whites. Re the evening meal, the starter buffet of salads was OK although almost unchanging throughout the week. The main course was almost inedible - vegetables had been cooked forever and the meats were exceedingly tough and could often have been the subject of a Trade Discription Act claim. Did they think we dont know what a Fillet Steak looks/tastes like!! The sweets were beautifully presented but looks belied their taste which was very bland.
We spoke to various guests who had stayed at the hotel towards the end of last year and it would seem that standards were still high at that point and compared to the wonderful memories we had of the Pestana Grand. I can only think that there has been some serious cost cutting, which in this current economic climate I can understand. However, it should NOT be sold as a five star hotel!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Susi074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We recently returned from this hotel very disappointed It is tired! Dining area tables chipped + wonky ! Beautiful surroundings and close to centre are its best features -also hydropool /steam room Staff were pleasant
The buffet some evenings was not very interesting +luke warm Would definitely not recommend half board as we did We ate out in good local restaurants to get some atmosphere although we had paid for meals

Room Tip: Try to get sea view Bring own kettle coffee £3
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gayle25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

ultra modern interior with neon lighting.
absolutely huge restaurant, ultra modern with huge sweeping entrance. i loved that. some tables very close but people were very friendly and this is how you got to know people. a good mixture of all ages. young and old. not many kids. 2 or 3. no problem.
huge area for dancing in the foyer to live music 5 nights a week.
the hotel is run on a 7 day programme.

monday night buffet dinner. ok. veal on a skewer.etc lovely puds. no live music. so time for a downhill walk into funchal, a bit steep coming back, but this hotel is very handy for the town. sat down in funchal for a drink only to be approached by a beggar of which there are quite a few.

tuesday night table d'hote dinner with only 2 choices of each course. veal on a skewer etc you can ask the head waiter if you don't like whats on offer. live nusic in the foyer with "kontraband". this trio sadly only play one night here but play at the casino dinner show other nights. one man played a bugle which was really unusual and sounded great , they were fantastic musicians and there were quite a few people having a great time dancing to them. including my husband and i.

wednesday night it is the madeira buffet, veal on a skewer with maize potatoes etc with live music (duo) in the restaurant. the salads and the sweets are wonderful. then later the duo played in the foyer. i found 2 flyers advertising this evening. one said madeira buffet with live music with folk dances and the other flyer said madeira night buffet with live music. we did not have any traditional folk dancers which i think is a shame. if the folk dancers are not appearing then they should make sure there are no flyers about advertising them.

thursday night table d'hote dinner. but we ate out at the casino dinner show. veal on a skewer and it was raw and had to go back.

friday night italian buffet. lasagne and steak etc, again wonderful cakes. . live music for dancing later in the foyer.

saturday night table d'hote dinner ,rolled veal ! just remember it is typical maderian food at the casino park, but there was live music in the foyer.

sunday night the farewell dinner. this was a set menu!! 4 courses i think with no choice. but i changed to a soup from the smoked salmon. main course was steak. with live music in the restaurant. man on grand piano. that was very nice. then later he played in the foyer.

it seems that most people arrive and leave on a monday.

there were 2 cocktail parties. one being the managers cocktail party with maderia wine and canapes. i think this was tuesday and wednesday.

we took the half board with jet 2 at £25 p.p. a night.
i would not do that again despite hating eating out, i much prefer to eat in hotels than searching for a restaurant.
i would book bed and breakfast and then maybe take the 3 night buffet offer at 69 euros. as the buffet meals were quite good and the cakes/puddings were delightful.
the menus are posted up in advance.

the choice at the table d'hote is too limiting with only 2 choices on each course.. there should be at least 4 choices.
a 3 course meal out would be approx 25 euros.

the waiter show you to your table every morning and evening and brings teapot or coffee pot at breakfast.
i found them very obliging.
service at the non buffet meals was sometime a litttle slow and they completely forgot about our main course. that is why i would only have the buffet meals.
breakfast was ok with the usual things and with omelettes to order and they were lovely also cava every morning.
you could take your breakfast outside if you wanted and then you would have seen the cruise ships. well if there was any.
we had 1 on the monday a very tiny ship on the tuesday and nothing till sunday when there was disney magic.

the outdoor pool was a good temperature but the indoor pool had the wow factor.
it was absolutely gorgeous. with a 1 hour "bubbly" circuit round the pool. one section of ther pool massaged the neck then the back then the waist and then the thighs. hot showers too.
lovely lounger and settees for people who didnt want to swim. very nicely lit.
steam rooms etc all free. just massage to pay for.
also a jacuzzi by the outdoor pool with a sea view.

our room had a bathrom with a bath that had a view of the tv and of the balcony.also a speaker in the ceiling for listening to the tv. which was tuned by the knob by the bathroom light switch. i thought it was a dimmer switch. then when the tv was blasting out in the bathroom at 12am we were looking everywhere for the switch to turn it off.
twin wash basins but my plug was useless despite having someone to mend it.
the water ran out quicker than i could wash my face.
bathrobes were awaiting us in the wardrobe which was nice.
the bedroom lighting was very good.
50 channel tv

there is a wonderful abundance of lizards in maderia of which i am constantly amazed by them. scuttling underneath your feet. so cute !!
and the lilac jacaranda trees were in full bloom although they were dropping their flowers. i was told april is the time for them, but fortunately they were still in bloom.
there are trees in madeira that i have never seen in my life before.
the park just below the hotel is beautiful and has a gigantic palm tree that does not look real but get up close and it is. just over the lake.

the things the hotel get wrong are; they do not put a little vase of flowers on the dining table despite maderia being the island of flowers.
the wardrobe is too small and too dark. there is no light inside.
with 2 sliding doors one just ends up poking about in it.
our room could take a bigger wardrobe as there was lots of wasted space.

there was also no washing line in the bathroom. so we used the awful balcony chairs for draping washing on.
these hard slatted wood chairs were exactly 13 inches off the ground. far too low to be comfortable and with a "padded" cushion of half an inch.it had the same thickness of a sunday newspaper. you could feel the hard wood through it.
the cushion should be at least 2 inches or new chairs would be a good idea.
i hardly sat on them and like a previous reviewer said, you had to dip your head to see the sea, as there is a thick concrete top to the balcony glass.
no mirror over the dressing table which is poor and the long mirror put behind the bedside cabinet is not good. we had huge expanse of walls that were asking for a lovely mirror.


no rooms seem to have a complete sea view, well maybe the suites do.
but the east facing have a wonderful view right over funchal. that was beautiful.30 euros extra a day for those rooms.
we just chose the basic land rooms on the west side and we had the afternoon sun and a side sea view when on the balcony and a good view of the hole in the ground where the savoy hotel used to be.
we were on the 4 th floor.

beware of the casino losing at 4 am on the east side. some people said it was very rowdy. maybe 1st floor could be noisy.
but it was all peace and quiet at our side.
well apart from next doors tv. the walls are thin and the tv is right next to the wall and there is a limiter on the sound and we did nt get to bed till 1 am but you could hear voice from their tv.

nice comfy bed, with 2 huge pillows and thick duvets, which were too warm so had to have the air con on all night which was very efficient and functions all year round.. i checked that.
a lovely high velvet double sette and double footstool in the bedroom.
now why didnt i drag those out onto the balcony. i will do next time.
carpeted floor also which i like.
i will return here as it is very handy for the town and maybe i will go and earn my 50 euros as a lot of people did, when they went to the pestana vacation club presentation.
1 and half hours of selling but they got the 50 euros in the end.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank grumbleweedleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 88 in Funchal
2,318 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.3 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#16 of 88 in Funchal
2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 88 in Funchal
258 reviews
0.8 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Casino Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Casino Park

Address: Rua Imperatriz D. Amelia 55 | Quinta da Vigia, Funchal, Madeira 9004-513, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Funchal
#24 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#25 Family Hotel in Funchal
#31 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#31 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $96 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Casino Park 5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Casino Park is a 5-star hotel in Funchal, Madeira, surrounded by 15,000 m² of private gardens. Designed by world-renowned master architect Óscar Niemeyer, this hotel is adjacent to the Funchal bay cruise port. Plus, it is only 5 minutes on foot from the city centre and the epicentre of the city's social and cultural life. Its privileged location on the shores of the Atlantic Ocean makes it one of the most famous hotels on the island of Madeira. It features an infinity swimming pool, gardens with peaceful alcoves, a private car park available for a fee, a Spa where you can schedule a massage and/or Magic Spa treatment, and an indoor swimming pool with water jets, jacuzzi, Turkish bath, sauna and gym. You can enjoy four restaurants and bars with views overlooking the tennis court and access to the Casino da Madeira, with games, shows and a nightclub. All rooms have Wi-Fi and a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pestana Casino Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Hotel Park
Pestana Casino Park Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing