We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Enotel Quinta do Sol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Enotel Quinta do Sol
Ranked #34 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Having visited Madeira quite a few times we found this hotel to be well situated as it is around half way between the busy centre of Funchal and the Lido. There are plenty of local buses should you find the walking difficult as it is quite hilly but buses take you up the hill. Reception is recently refurbished very pleasant. We had a twin garden view room, shower room modern and plenty hot water day & night also very good hairdryer, room slightly dated and the walls and doors are not very sound proofed. But pleasant hotel with buffet breakfast and dinner did not experience any problem with getting table. Plenty choice and buffet well kept and replenished. I would have liked to get either a teapot to put my tea in or a mug as the teacups are very small. Good sized swimming pool and sun loungers available on the premises. Slightly disappointed that only snack available is cheese & ham toast during the day if you are just relaxing at the pool. Would grade this hotel a 3+ grade for the room but it does have a spa & gym so possibly why graded 4 star.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william_conn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have had a good stay at the ENOTEL Quinta do Sol.

We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Monica Ferreira
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    272
    75
    13
    8
See reviews for
65
396
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 11 nights mid July 2014 and have to say the hotel had no faults except the bar service was less than adequate for a 4 star hotel. Some people waited 40 minutes for a drink and ended up walking off. The dining room was good but when tables were reserved it proved difficult to get a table. The food was standard buffet style and nothing to write home about. The staff were friendly however. The room we stayed in (5th floor) was ok but needed modernising however the view was great from our balcony. Pool area was good especially the spa/jacuzzi pool. Reception staff were efficient and reception had plenty of comfy chairs/settees. The entertainment - well, we would suggest going out for the evening as it was pretty dire unless of course you like to watch parrots riding bicycles! Please be aware of the free drink invitation as it is a timeshare selling exercise for the Enotel group. It sounds like we are full of moans and groans when in fact we enjoyed our stay in Madeira! Would we stay at this hotel again - not sure! It could be a great hotel with a few changes.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mollibobbins38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking your time to give us your opinion regarding our Hotel and services as they can always help us to improve.
We can assure you that we will nevertheless continue to do our best in order to provide our Clients with a quality service, which you may witness in your next visit to the Enotel Lido Hotel.

We are pleased for your co-operation and would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Monica Ferreira
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Not having been to Madeira before we were expectant of a good time. Generally this was what we had despite a Slow reception and bar service due to only one receptionist/bar person on for the main, and seemed to be the normal for these areas. The restaurant we believe was slightly small for the number of patrons but waiting staff were quick and efficient. Food service a little mundane and slow replacement but generally well prepared and presented. Staff were friendly and efficient but possibly slightly reduced in numbers due to the time of year we arrived. The Room we were given was good, clean with good maid service, However the balcony being more or less non existent with two sliding doors that opened up to about a foot in balcony clearance from the room but did have a good sea and harbour view over the town and close buildings.

Room Tip: Lots of walking but very Hilly, Try the Red or Yellow bus tours to see the general area. June is Sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have had a good stay at the ENOTEL Quinta do Sol.

We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Monica Ferreira
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel has it all. 20 minute drive from airport and about 10 minute drive to the old part of Funchal.
Free Internet
Free Breakfast
Free parking
Yay!
They also have live shows in the evening for entertainment. The pools are beautiful even though I'm not a pool person these are stunning. One outdoor and one semi outdoor that's heated. The price as well was an incredible value. I would recommend this place to friends and family and I would stay here again next time I'm in Madeira.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lve2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL Quinta do Sol.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Monica Ferreira
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Called at Madeira before on cruises and not had chance to see the area properly so booked the enotel Quinta do sol.
We arrived late an was greeted reception politely and informatively, dropped the bags of and went for the first evening meal, the restaurant staff greeted us and informed us about the informal process in the restaurant.
Next day got to see the room properly with a sea view which was not booked so bonus, the hotel was virtually empty for the week but well kept with a full compliment of staff two beautiful pools.
Meals were good with a choice for all bar prices were acceptable, so all things considered it was a great week in the Quinta do sol and would certainly go again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL Quinta do Sol.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Monica Ferreira
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Hotel was excellent arrived late due to air strike reception had put food in our room which was really kind,excellent staff always pleasant and helpful food was plentiful always had lots to choose from. Sea view room was noisy but just a minor issue..would most certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL Quinta do Sol.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Monica Ferreira
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed at this hotel at the end of May reception and piano bar staff very efficient and friendly, the the exception being in the restaurant where no acknowledgement was given on arrival. The staff seemed to be more interested in getting the guests out as soon as possible and if one could get any help from certain male waiters one would be lucky, Some customer relations needed.At dinner the only choice of drink was wine or bottled water, no tea or coffee even though the machines were used at breakfast.Evening entertainment was not thrilling. Hotel convenient to the local facilities with a bus stop right outside and some decent watering places within a short walk.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet night don't get an upgrade to a sea view because the double glazing does not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martynstocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

We have received and carefully read your comments about our Hotel services. Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your opinion and suggestions for they are very important to us and can always help us to improve our services.

All the highlighted points mentioned by you were carefully analyzed and measures were taken in order to avoid situations like these in the future. Nevertheless we will continue to do our best in order to provide our Clients with a quality service and making all our efforts to make Enotel Quinta do Sol a great hotel to stay.

Thank you for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind regards,

Monica Ferreira
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#27 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madeira Regency Club
Madeira Regency Club
#43 of 86 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Four Views Baia
Four Views Baia
#28 of 86 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#23 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enotel Quinta do Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enotel Quinta do Sol

Property: Enotel Quinta do Sol
Address: Rua Doutor Pita 6 | next to Quinta Magnolia park, Funchal, Madeira 9000-089, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#26 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#28 Family Hotel in Funchal
#32 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Enotel Quinta do Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Enotel Quinta do Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Do Sol Hotel
Quinta Do Sol Funchal
Quinta Sol Madeira
Enotel Quinta Do Sol Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing