We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for Couples”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Enotel Quinta do Sol
Ranked #34 of 85 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect for Couples”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We booked this hotel on the back of the many good reviews on Tripadvisor - I'm glad to say they were very accurate.

This is a comparatively small hotel so you can actually bump into people you met the day before at breakfast or at the bar. The factilities are limited so don't expect too much from the hotel but it is well posiitioned for Funchal and is very clean and modern. The food at breakfast and dinner is surprisingly good considering the small dining room and always tasted fresh. I can't say that I would choose it again and again but it is a safe choice as a base in Funchal.

Finally, the weather isn't quite as good as the Canaries but the island makes up for it by offering all the comforts of home (without the British boozing, tattoos, loud shirts etc). Its a year round destination and a possible full winter stay destination. Enjoy.

Room Tip: book a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victordriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL Quinta do Sol.

We thank you for sharing your opinion with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

“Obrigada” for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Monica Ferreira
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    322
    91
    15
    8
See reviews for
76
472
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Just returned form this hotel and would definitely recommend to other travellers. It was ideally situated from the town centre and the Lido, about 10-15 minute walk and refreshingly down hill. The hotel had a lovely atmosphere and the staff were all very polite and helpful. The breakfast was plentiful including breads, cakes, fresh fruit, cereal, cold meats and a wide range of cooked food. The room was bright and airy, ours overlooked the garden and it was wonderful sitting reading with the patio doors open at the end of a busy day walking. The empty mini fridge for guests use was a welcome facility. Each night there was entertainment from an enthusiastic singer, to pianist and of course the traditional folk evening. The rooms were clean and the housekeeping staff very helpful and friendly too. This hotel is easily reached by use of the airport bus service and has several other bus stops all around it. AS for road noise, it definitely didn't spoil my nights sleep. About 5 ins walk from the hotel are four restaurants, we tried a couple but our favourite by far was The Chalet. Unfortunately I didn't pack the swimsuit but had I of doe I would certainly have used the warm spa pool, Thank you for a wonderful break.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacqueline08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are glad to know that your expectations have generally been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, for it is very important to us.
“Muito Obrigada” for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind Regards,

Monica Ferreira
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Just returned a few days ago from our stay in Madeira at this hotel and would heartily recommend it to you all - both the hotel and Madeira!

The hotel is located within easy walking distance of Funchal centre, to the east - about 10-15 mins and of Funchal seafront promenade, also about 10-15 mins. It`s within about 5 mins walking to the start of the Estrada Monumental, the western road leading to many other hotels, restaurants, tourist shops, small supermarkets and tour sellers. Very handily placed.

First opinions of the hotel are very promising, It looks good from the outside and once inside the lobby, reception, bar area and lounge, all recently renovated, are very smart, spacious and tidy. Very modern and colourful.

Our room was on the 1st Floor with a sea view, also giving you a limited view of Funchal itself. Higher up gives a much better vista! The room was very good with twin beds, balcony, overlooking the swimming pool and garden sat.TV and the bathroom was quite big with bath/shower, hairdryer, big mirror and bidet. We didn`t notice any appreciable traffic noise unlike some other guests comments. side

The room isn`t perfect though with minor faults that need to be corrected.

In the bathroom there are no little bottles of shower gel, shampoo or small bars of soap, like in EVERY other hotel I have ever stayed in. Instead there are dispensers by the shower and washbasin containing multifunctional soap/shampoo liquid! Is this a penny-pinching measure instituted by accountants? They have obviously never tried to use them. Very awkward. Impossible to have a bath because you would have to stand up every few seconds to get more gel from the dispenser beside the shower! We had to buy a bar of soap! After complaining we were given small bottles of shampoo and shower gel, so they obviously have them available if you complain.

No TV guide! You have to find out by trial and error which channel is what! And no tea or coffee making facilities! A big minus point that almost put us off booking in the first place.

Sort out these problems and lots more people will be happy!

More plus points. The breakfast is excellent. Varied, plentiful, good quality. More than sufficient to set you up for the day! The staff are ever helpful, efficient, pleasant, excellent English, knowledgeable - particularly Claudio on reception - top marks for him! Free wifi! Free entertainment- pianists, singers, folk groups/dancers every evening. Two pools, spa, sauna.

The plus points far outweigh the few minus points. I would definitely stay here again but would hope the minus points are attended to first.

Room Tip: Seaview side, higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank bwanamdevu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Visited Madeira in January 2014 and stayed in this hotel. We liked the location of the hotel even though some might feel that the noise of the traffic is disturbing, but we had no trouble with it. The staff in the hotel and bar was really nice and helpful. We had the Breakfast chosen which was really nice (there was plenty to choose from) and we would surely come back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PTR2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL Quinta do Sol.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

“Obrigada” for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Monica Ferreira
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Having just spent Christmas and New Year 2013 in this hotel, it is classed as 4 star and whilst the ground floor public areas were excellent and staff very willing to help with any questions, the room in my opinion fell below the standard required such as there were no tea or coffee facilities available in the room, the bathroom did not have little luxuries such as bars of soap or shower gels but did have dispensers on the walls. The bar on the ground floor opened at 10.00 in the morning BUT closed at 11.00 pm in the evening, what hopes we had of celebrating the new year at the bar at midnight were dashed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maurice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking your time to give us your opinion regarding our Hotel and services as they can always help us to improve.
We can assure you that we will nevertheless continue to do our best in order to provide our Clients with a quality service, which you may witness in your next visit to the Enotel Quinta do Sol.

We are pleased for your co-operation and would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Monica Ferreira
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Enjoyed two nights at this hotel one of which was new year, had a lovely view of the fireworks from our hotel balcony room 422 but also able to go on the rooftop as well, breakfast was good the only negative was how cold the outdoor pool was, freezing!!!!

Room Tip: Room 422 was in a good place
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank walkingmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are glad to know that your expectations have generally been fulfilled.
We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, for it is very important to us.
“Obrigada” for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind Regards,

Monica Ferreira
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeira, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

We spent the evening here half board for my husbands birthday treat. The receptionist was lovely and gave us both a warm welcome. I was impressed with the refurbishment it was very nice indeed and the photographs didn't do it justice. The indoor pool area was stunning and the outdoor pool was very nice also.
We were allocated a twin room overlooking the sea and the view was amazing and were not disturbed by the traffic.
The half board was such good value we thoroughly enjoyed the 'show cooking' and there was such a choice for breakfast, full English, pancakes and omelette cooked to order, fresh fruit etc. All the staff were so nice. Thank you all very much.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL QUINTA DO SOL.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Monica Ferreira
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
0.5 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#27 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#26 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madeira Regency Club
Madeira Regency Club
#46 of 85 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.5 mi away
Four Views Baia
Four Views Baia
#28 of 85 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enotel Quinta do Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enotel Quinta do Sol

Property: Enotel Quinta do Sol
Address: Rua Doutor Pita 6 | next to Quinta Magnolia park, Funchal, Madeira 9000-089, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#26 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#28 Family Hotel in Funchal
#32 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Enotel Quinta do Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Enotel Quinta do Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Do Sol Hotel
Quinta Do Sol Funchal
Quinta Sol Madeira
Enotel Quinta Do Sol Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing