We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Enotel Quinta do Sol
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (850)
Filter reviews
850 results
Traveler rating
302
408
112
18
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
302
408
112
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewlovely hotelspa poolplenty of choiceshow cookingshower curtainlido areakettle and cupsbreakfast and dinnerold townroad noisebarking dogssuperior roomfunchal centrereid's hotelvery clean hotelmain road
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
547 - 552 of 850 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was a great last minute find. The hotel is NOT luxurious but the rooms are a good size and very comfortable, housekeeping is good with beds and towels changed daily without having to request it, lots of hanging space for clothes and a good size bathroom if somewhat dated. Nice balconies with furniture to enjoy the morning or evening sun. The gardens are pretty and well kept and the bar and reception area comfortable.

The pools are gorgeous, the semi indoor pool requires you to wear a bathing cap for some reason which can be purchased for 4Euros. Drinks are reasonably priced, even cocktails. Breakfast is reasonable, choice of cooked or cold, not the best quality produce but nice enough. This is an adult only hotel which although I love children was a godsend in August...nice and peaceful with comfortable beds, towels provided.

Areas that could be easily improved to make one's stay even more enjoyable are, real soap, toiletries and tissues provided in the rooms..just a little something to consider, liquid soap from a dispenser does not work for me. The bar area although nice enough has no atmosphere and is very under used for some reason, it seems more like a passage way to the spa and breakfast room. The only bar snack available is a white toasted bread sandwich, so unless you go out to eat there is nothing available for lunch at the pool, a few healthy salads and a range of sandwiches would work very well. There are no tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms which was a bit of a pain as there is no room service either.

That said we enjoyed the peace and quiet and had a nice stay, we popped over to the Pestano which was the 5 star we were originally going to stay at and thank goodness it was full, not my cup of tea at all...very over crowded especially in the pool area and all a little dated on first look.

One thing to consider when staying at the Enotel is that it is at the top of a steep hill and the walk into Funchal town and back while only taking 15 mins or so is a tough climb in parts especially when hot or if you have a bad knee like me...happy to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: while a sea view is great you do have the noise of the road, we were room 151 which was nice and quiet although the view was not great.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Reviewer1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL QUINTA DO SOL Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and your suggestion regarding healthy salads and sandwiches was much appreciated.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Monica Ferreira
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The reception was professional - lukewarm and efficient. An elevator got us to our floor, but we were struck by the elegance and sobriety of the ground floor. We found out a bit later that 2 different elevators actually exist, with the second one getting you right in front of the indoor pool.

The rooms were just perfect - the bedding, stowage, equipped bathroom, cleaning, balcony with seats and a small table, quiet and efficient AC, impeccable cleaning,... But there goes the first half point out of five: the upper rooms facing the sea, as wonderful a view you get, were very noisy because of the relentless traffic for which you definitely need earplugs to sleep. Otherwise ask for lower room with a lesser view and perhaps less noise.

The half-board option was spotless: great breakfast with fresh fruit, veggies, and three booths as well as an open kitchen for omelet and pancakes. A minor downside was the coffee and concentrated juice machines, not quite up to par, but nothing to spoil the morning. Then at dinner time it turned into a full-fledged restaurant, with a wide variety of fish or meat servings and fresh veggies - truly amazing. Even though service was still buffet, a few waiters would come and pick up the appetizer-dish-dessert dishes and get your drink order (the Terras Altas red wine is recommended!). Now there goes the other half point: the hotel bar was void of service during dinner hours because his help was most of the time needed for service at the restaurant! It was therefore very difficult to get anything at the bar during dinner hours which is really a pity and shows a problem of managing the available resources. Also most of the times, an unbearable music is broadcasted in the restaurant and especially at the bar. A small effort should be done on that aspect by its management - also more could be done to bring a bit more personality to the hotel's night life. Why not get some candles? Involve your customers a bit more in the evening?

It boast a childrenless policy but there were at times a noticeable few. The outdoor pool has a decent amount of chairs and is very nice to take a dive in its rather shallow water. The semi-indoor bath (for which a cap is required - beware! bring one or pay one) is a bit warmer with a stream and bubble option the user can pick - great for ending a day of enjoying the fun at Madeira. The hotel is located a dozen minutes walking from Funchal's centre (and a few more minutes uphill back) and nearby bus stops.

All in all, don't let the negative sides mentioned here prevail, and if you get a good deal on your stay, go enjoy your stay at Enotel Quinta do Sol!

PS and please, management, don't give this your standard reply... we truly appreciated our stay and think there's a small but significant room for improvement.

Room Tip: rooms high up facing the sea are noisier.. rooms less noisy might not face the sea.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank diaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL QUINTA DO SOL Madeira.

We would like to say “Obrigado” for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.
Regarding your suggestions, they were much appreciated and helpful for us. We loved the candles idea. Regarding the bar staff, we have already increased the team which you will notice on a future visit to Enotel Quinta do Sol.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Monica Ferreira
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

What can I say that doesn't sound as if I'm being paid by Quinta do Sol.
Madeira is not only a paradise Island with so much to offer, but Quinta do
Sol is a fantastic place to relax and recharge your batteries after day of
hiking, shopping or sailing to the islands.

I've take advantage of the beautiful outdoor pool, mastive indoor spa and
the yummy made to order omelette's in the morning and the newly renovated
hotel has a relaxing feel and plenty of places to sit and enjoy the ocean
views.

I want to thank the staff for help me plan my days trips and organising a
day in the spa...I hope to return soon.

5 stars for a 4 star hotel

Another day in paradise.
Guest from Australia

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Fleur L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that your expectations have overall been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, as it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at Enotel Quinta do Sol, which you may witness in your next visit here.

Once again “Obrigado” for your co-operation and I would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind regards,

Monica Ferreira
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The position of this hotel is ideal for exploring the Funchal area and the rest of Madeira. We were Impressed with the spar area, which we used a lot. We found the layout of the downstairs a bit strange as you have to go through the spar area to get to the dinning room. The main reception and bar area lacked atmosphere and seemed more suited to business users. Not very impressive to go round the back to get into reception. On arrival we had been up graded to a sea view room, which was lovely. We discovered why later, there were only about 24 people staying there! The breakfasts were good but the dinners went from average to almost in edible by the end of our stay. Same tired old salads for starters and puddings that came out night after night. We ate out on the last night. Certainly not 4 star food. Also with the sea view came a very busy road, which was between us and the sea. Would go back to Funchal, but choose a different hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view is ice if u don't mind the busy road.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAD11355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

We have carefully read your comments about the Hotel Services. Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your opinion and suggestion as they are very important to us and can always help us improve our services.
We can assure you that we will nevertheless continue to do our best in order to provide our Clients a quality service.

We thank you for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Mónica Ferreira
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The hotel communal areas have recently been redecorated and have a high standard of finish with comfortable chairs and modern decor. There was some form of entertainment in the bar most nights (often a singer with guitar or pianist, but one night a super traditional Madeiran "folklore" evening of singing and dancing in traditional dress). The location is great - near Reid's Hotel and close to bus routes. There is a short walk up a slope to reach the hotel from the main road.

The spa facilities are a small steam room and sauna, gym and an indoor pool (open to the outdoors on one side but undercover) with a jacuzzi section. This pool is on the cool side, but warmer than the outside one which was too cold to permit all but a very quick dip. It is required for guests to wear a bathing hat, so worth remembering to take one or will need to buy one when you get there.

The room we were in had a garden view. It was on the small side, but as we were out all day that did not really matter. The walls had been recently repainted but the furniture was a little dated. The room cleaning was superficial.

The breakfasts were brilliant - lots of choice and super fresh breads and fruit selection, as well as cooked options, cold meats and cheese, cereals and yoghurts. Breakfast staff were very friendly and helpful.

Most of the time, this adults only hotel was really peaceful and we particularly valued this on a relaxing holiday. Thank you.

Room Tip: Check the size of your room if you are going to spend a lot of time in it.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Victoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that your expectations have overall been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, as it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at Enotel Quinta do Sol, which you may witness in your next visit here.

We thank you for your co-operation and I would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind regards,

Monica Ferreira
Diretora do Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews