We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Enotel Quinta do Sol
Ranked #33 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The position of this hotel is ideal for exploring the Funchal area and the rest of Madeira. We were Impressed with the spar area, which we used a lot. We found the layout of the downstairs a bit strange as you have to go through the spar area to get to the dinning room. The main reception and bar area lacked atmosphere and seemed more suited to business users. Not very impressive to go round the back to get into reception. On arrival we had been up graded to a sea view room, which was lovely. We discovered why later, there were only about 24 people staying there! The breakfasts were good but the dinners went from average to almost in edible by the end of our stay. Same tired old salads for starters and puddings that came out night after night. We ate out on the last night. Certainly not 4 star food. Also with the sea view came a very busy road, which was between us and the sea. Would go back to Funchal, but choose a different hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view is ice if u don't mind the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAD11355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

We have carefully read your comments about the Hotel Services. Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your opinion and suggestion as they are very important to us and can always help us improve our services.
We can assure you that we will nevertheless continue to do our best in order to provide our Clients a quality service.

We thank you for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Mónica Ferreira
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (802)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

517 - 523 of 802 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

The hotel communal areas have recently been redecorated and have a high standard of finish with comfortable chairs and modern decor. There was some form of entertainment in the bar most nights (often a singer with guitar or pianist, but one night a super traditional Madeiran "folklore" evening of singing and dancing in traditional dress). The location is great - near Reid's Hotel and close to bus routes. There is a short walk up a slope to reach the hotel from the main road.

The spa facilities are a small steam room and sauna, gym and an indoor pool (open to the outdoors on one side but undercover) with a jacuzzi section. This pool is on the cool side, but warmer than the outside one which was too cold to permit all but a very quick dip. It is required for guests to wear a bathing hat, so worth remembering to take one or will need to buy one when you get there.

The room we were in had a garden view. It was on the small side, but as we were out all day that did not really matter. The walls had been recently repainted but the furniture was a little dated. The room cleaning was superficial.

The breakfasts were brilliant - lots of choice and super fresh breads and fruit selection, as well as cooked options, cold meats and cheese, cereals and yoghurts. Breakfast staff were very friendly and helpful.

Most of the time, this adults only hotel was really peaceful and we particularly valued this on a relaxing holiday. Thank you.

Room Tip: Check the size of your room if you are going to spend a lot of time in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Victoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that your expectations have overall been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, as it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at Enotel Quinta do Sol, which you may witness in your next visit here.

We thank you for your co-operation and I would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind regards,

Monica Ferreira
Diretora do Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Having stayed many times in Quinta do Soll we were quite anxious to return after the refurbishment! We were quite surprise when our taxi driver said that the hotel was not the same anymore and that some clients had complained about the "new" hotel.. we confirmed that right at the reception, a modern open space with bright colors, purple chairs with pink pillows that looked right off a hip hop videoclip. We loved the classic quintah do sol . The receptionist didnt look happy at all.. we went up to our room, that we always choose the same every time and we were happy they didnt changed it much..beside the new wall painting they kept the old furniture which we liked it. Along our stay we felt that this is not the same hotel..its just another modern, cold, and tasteful hotel. The warm look and feel is gone and we are sad that we will have to find a new hotel in Madeira for our next stays..

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Francis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking your time to give us your opinion regarding our Hotel.

We regret that you were not happy with the “New Look” of Quinta do Sol. If you wish you can check our website and see if any of the other Hotels of the Group is suitable for you.
We can assure you that we will nevertheless continue to do our best in order to provide our Clients with a quality service.

We are pleased for your co-operation and would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Monica Ferreira
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alain17180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: In de zijvleugel is het het meest rustig.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marjan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Pyydä huonetta merinäköalalla
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank JSN2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gestor at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 88 in Funchal
293 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pestana Village
Pestana Village
#29 of 88 in Funchal
939 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#28 of 88 in Funchal
516 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#34 of 88 in Funchal
2,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enotel Quinta do Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enotel Quinta do Sol

Address: Rua Doutor Pita 6 | next to Quinta Magnolia park, Funchal, Madeira 9000-089, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#26 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#32 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $82 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Enotel Quinta do Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Enotel Quinta do Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Do Sol Hotel
Quinta Do Sol Funchal
Quinta Sol Madeira
Enotel Quinta Do Sol Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing