We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of O Classico

O Classico
Ranked #133 of 606 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hotel Duas Torres, Funchal Madeira
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very pleasant evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We visited this restaurant for our wedding anniversary recently and thoroughly enjoyed our evening there. The menu offers plenty of choice for both meat and fish eaters. We were greeted with complimentary Madeira wine while we made our selections. My husband had smoked salmon with fresh mango which looked and tasted delicious. I was served shrimp cocktail which was not what I ordered but my correct starter of shrimps with garlic (absolutely mouthwatering!) was soon brought and this was the only hiccup during the evening.
our main courses of mixed fish and tournedo with mushroom sauce, served rare as requested, were equally delicious. The veg selection was extensive and well cooked. The wine list was reasonably priced, too.
I was so full after this that all I could manage was an excellent coffee but my other half ploughed manfully through a large banana split.
The staff were polite and very helpful and the sea view from the terrace is magnificent.
Add to this the fact that they will collect you from your accommodation and drive you home again and it all represents unbeatable value for money. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lnd_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    47
    14
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Good food, Excellent silver style service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Ate here twice during our weeks stay in Madeira. Not a huge menu but better to do small range well.
Food good quality, nice fillet kebab and tuna in mustard sauce.No plated meals here, nice silver style service onto your plate and professionally done. Good veg choice and saute potatoes.
Also very relaxing, pleasantsea view, no noise or the dreaded tv.
Reasonable price for good food and service.
When you see the sign on the main road, dont be put off, just walk down for a pleasant surprise.
Well recommended for discerning diner.
Eddie n Christine

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank eddie846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great view, very nice food, nice people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Was very impressed with the outlook and the atmosphere at this restaurant. The staff were very pleasant and attentive. I visited with members of my family and friends and we enjoyed the experience enough to visit again during our 7 days in Funchal. They couldn't do enough to make my 5-year-old grandson welcome. The food was excellent and prices very reasonable. Only thing is it is tucked away behind the Duas Torres hotel so you might spend a little time finding it. But I can assure you it is well worth a visit

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MrSnowy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great view, good food, reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Had one evening meal in the restaurant, fish was good, service really friendly although being a busy night we had to wait a bit with our order. The sides served with main course were better than in many other restaurants nearby.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sAmSixtyNine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macclesfield
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Quiet restaurant situated at rear of a hotel. Very unassuming until you walk in and see the terrace with superb views over the sea. Completely different to other local restaurants subdued atmosphere but an ideal place to spend a quiet evening. Went a second time with friends and was able to hold a proper conversation! Cover is just bread but starters tasty. We had chateau briande cooked to perfection with a wide choice of freshly prepared vegetables. Will definitely return.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank alipet8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Classico also viewed

 

Been to O Classico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing