We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”
Review of Cafe Apolo

Cafe Apolo
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Cafe Apolo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #546 of 653 Restaurants in Funchal
Cuisines: European, Portuguese, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Apolo Restaurant was established on the 1st of December 1945, at a time when there were very few restaurants in Funchal.Claimed by the Tourism entities as being the oldest Restaurant at Madeira Island, this informal and cosy space has been renovated during nine long months.The Apolo has always played an important role in commercial and social aspects of Funchal, becoming an extremely welcoming meeting point among different generations.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My wife and I stopped for a midday meal while touring the central town. We both ordered the Wednesday Meal of the Day which was baked cod in sliced potatoes, onions, sliced hard boiled eggs and ripe olives. While the dish was initially appealing, we discovered that the cod was over baked and dry, while the other ingredients were saturated in olive oil. The service was attentive and prompt, so will rate the Apolo a C-.

2  Thank DesertDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Café Restaurant... A, Manager at Cafe Apolo, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Member,

Thank you for your review, contents of which deserved our best attention.

We cook passionately in order to create an exceptional culinary experience for you and yours. Let our passion for using the finest ingredients delight and satisfy you by paying us a visit in a not too distant future.

Kindest regards fom sunny Madeira,

Café Restaurante Apolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 171 of 338 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

Myself and my wife stopped off at this restaurant on our first night in Funchal. We both had espatada. I had the beef on a skewer and my wife the chicken on a skewer. We waited forever for the food and when it arrived it was not suspended on a post as is the traditional way. It was just lying on the plate. Both her and mine were horribly overcooked, there were no juices left in either the beef or the chicken. It was a really poor effort. A person with no knowledge of cooking could have delivered a better plate of food. In the old days you knew these restaurants didn't care because you were a tourist and would soon be home but in this day of tripadvisor you just can't get away with selling food that bad. Nice spot for a drink but don't eat there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank SurreyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Café Restaurant... A, Manager at Cafe Apolo, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor member,

Please accept our deepest apologies as we were no able to exceed your expectations. We struggle ourselves to improve (both our service and our food quality as well as its presentation), so please be assured that many changes will occur. We would be delighted to have another chance to please you and if possible, to exceed your expectations in a not too distant future.

Kindest regards from sunny Madeira,

Café Restaurante Apolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I spent a week in Funchal with my mum, After an excellent dinner at Armazem do Sal we strolled through town and stopped at Apolo for a night cap. We had charming service and were charged a more than decent price given the fact that we were sitting in the heart of Funchal in a fantastic location. We enjoyed it so much that the next night we came back for dinner. Again, absolutely charming service and we enjoyed sitting outside people-watching but I'm afraid we wouldn't come back again to eat here. The food was OK and reasonably priced (77 euros for two people for starter, main course, a bottle of wine and 2 brandies) but no more than that. So, as far as I'm concerned not to be missed in terms of a drink and a sit down in the heart of old Funchal but maybe not the place to have dinner. Having said that, I cannot over-emphasise how welcoming the staff were.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank SL-SouthKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Café Restaurant... A, Manager at Cafe Apolo, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to review Café Restaurante Apolo.

We are glad to read that in general you have enjoyed your visit. We proud ourselves of being an extremely welcoming meeting point among different generations right in the centre of Funchal and for that reason, our location is the most important aspect of our existance.

However, we were very sorry to know that we were not able to exceed your expectations in terms of food and its cost. Due to this and in order to avoid that “bad taste in your mouth”, we hope to have the opportunity to personally welcome you back in the near future and make up for your previous visit.

Once again many thanks for the visit to the Pearl of the Atlantic and look forward to welcome you back.

Warmest regards,
The Management of Café Restaurante Apolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We visited the Apollo late on the evening of our first day, and made the mistake of assuming that because it was busy it must be popular. In fact it was busy because there only appeared to be one waiter serving and so service was slow. When our food arrived it was a bit dried out and looked like it had been sitting under the hotplate waiting for a while. The location itself is nice enough but overall one of the poorest meals we had in our week in Funchal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SarahMc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The location is very lovely but the food is terrible! We had some spaghetti carbonara which basically were made of sausage and onions. It was really worst! And it's also expensive!

Thank Ichhabekeinelustmehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Apolo also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Cafe Apolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing