We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quinta da Casa Branca
Ranked #2 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2010

This is a beautiful boutique hotel with excellent, yet unfussy service. The restaurant is one of the best on the island, and although expensive, it is worth it due to the quality and presentation of the food. Even the lunch menu (although not extensive) is first class, although do not expect fast food as everything is made to order.

The only drawbacks to this hotel are: a) location - it is a bit out of the centre, although it is on a bus route and a taxi costs about 6 euro to the centre (no courtesy bus). This also means views from the hotel are not as good from some of the others - but you don't go here for the view, b) the swimming pool is a bit detached from the main body of the hotel.

It is not ideal for anyone with mobility problems as the terrain outside is uneven, but inside the hotel is fine.

All the gym and sauna facilities are first class (and rarely used) and the rooms equipped to a high standard.

An ideal place for couples or families seeking a quiet stay (children are welcome although the hotel is a bit further from the beaches and lido).

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donkey63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (944)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

576 - 582 of 944 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2010

This is a very peaceful hotel, without being stuffy. The staff were great (I have just recieved in the post an earring that I lost in the fitness suite!)
The gardens were better than the botanical gardens (don't bother going there). The gym was excellent and very under used. we felt that we had our own health suite!
Restaurant was top quality, but a little pricey. The bar was very quiet.
The only down side was it was quite a walk to town - and up hill all the way back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baker07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2010

The Quinta da Casa Branca has intelligently managed to combine tranquility, relaxation, taste and excellent service through modern design underpinned by old fashioned values. Let's say from the outset this is not a hotel for anyone looking for a lively atmosphere with lots of entertainment - and that is its great advantage. We wanted a hotel where we could chill-out - and that's what happened.

Most of the hotel is located in a modern, purpose built building opened some 10 years ago to the design of one of Portugal's leading architets. Understated minimalism is the style. This ensures the buildings do not intrude on the delightful gardens. Our 'standard' room on the ground floor led directly onto these gardens. The room was large and well furnished with very comfortable beds. The bathroom was large with a good shower. Housekeeping standards were excellent.

There is a quiet residents' lounge and a small spa with sauna, steam room and several items of exercise equipment.

The pool is well away from the rooms - so no noise disturbance.

Breakfast is taken is a separate building near the pool (there is an umbrella in the bedroom in the event of rain). The choice is very good and they will happily freshly prepare a range of styles of egg etc.

It was breakfast that truly demonstrated a major aspect of why Casa Branca is so special - the genuinely friendly and helpful attitude of the staff. It was a true pleasure to come down for breakfast each day.

There is a small 'decktop' bar near the reception. Afternoon tea is available here as well - the homemade cakes are recommended.

The hotel's restaurant is also in a separate building - we ate there twice on the restaurant's terrace. It is not cheap but the quality was very good and overall we felt we received value for money. Again service was friendly and professional.

The Quinta da Casa Branca provided us with the relaxation we sought with the added touches of quality.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RGYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2010

We had a lovely week long stay at this beautiful hotel. We stayed in room 102, a standard room. The only disadvantage to this was we could hear people walking around in the reception area directly above us. The room itself was nicely decorated, with a lovely bathroom and private outdoor space with our own sun beds. The maids we extremely polite & helpful and made swans out of our bed linen every day! The reception staff spoke great English and we also very helpful. Not having stayed in a luxury hotel before, we felt we missed out a little as we were given no information about the spa an did not realise that some of it was complimentary. I guess we could have asked.
As we were on our honeymoon we recieved a complimentary bottle of bubbly. Nice touch.
The pool area was clean and towels were provided on each of the loungers.
Breakfast choices were varied, from a full English buffet (so you can pick the things you like) to muffins and pastries, cereals and yoghurts. Great service too. Lots of little lizards are there waiting to catch the crumbs... good entertainment!
We ate in the restaurant on two nights and it was fabulous. We actually found it to be reasonable value for what you go. GREAT steak and really lovely puddings.
We stayed here on a B&B basis as we like to head out and about and we were not disappointed. Lots to see and do - The tour of Blandy's Wine Lodge is a real bargain! Avoid the red tour bus... waste of money.
The hotel was well positioned for sight seeing, about 20-30 minutes on foot to the centre of Funchal. It is up quite a steep hill, but after a couple of goes we got used to it. Around 30 minutes on foot to a super market for snacks etc. Would not recommend this hotel to those with mobility restrictions. We actually really liked it being a bit out of town, it was extremely peaceful at night and tucked away so road noise stopped in the evening. Was not loud enough to bother us in the day.
Gardens are stunning.
And, if you get the chance, go up into the mountains. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsPog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

We stayed here over the Christmas holiday having had a very hectic working year without a break and were looking forward to a serious "chill out", Quinta da Casa Branca certainly did not disappoint. The location is perfect, staff are incredibly efficient and friendly, the garden and swimming pool area well cared for and beautiful. Although there were plenty of other guests, you had the feeling sometimes that you had the whole place to yourself! The rooms are spotless, spacious and very comfortable. We also used the sauna etc regularly and they too are very good.
We only ate in the restaurant on one occassion for the "Christmas Eve Gala Dinner" - (having caused a few problems being vegetarian!-which was handled in the usual efficient way) this was very good. Breakfast was also excellent with a superb buffet choice and also a selection of "cooked" options served to your table.
The only very slight negative comment was that you had to go outside to the restaurant and breakfast room and as it poured with rain a great deal of the time we were there we did get wet!! (however we were told that these were very unusual weather conditions!!!)
Overall superb and would love to go back again in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2pards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

To those of you who do not know what tranquility is, it is CASA BRANCA. I found this hotel to celebrate my husbands retirement from BT (he joined in 1963) I booked initially through Expedia and found the staff through various email dealings to be both courteous and charming. Good quality Champagne and a card signed by all staff on my husbands birthday awaited us on our return from the day at the flower festival. Our special sports car was delivered on time, our private collection at the airport. All of this was undertaken with the very understated service that only a 5* hotel staff can offer.

We returned this year and booked directly through SLH. We were greeted as old friends and upgraded not once but twice into one of the suites. It was lovely to be back.

Cleanliness, food, service, library, in fact everything we needed. Nothing is too much trouble for Christina and her staff. Even to the point of check out being told Mrs .......... I haven't seen you this trip I am sorry I wasn't here when you arrived.

I hope to return again in 2010 to Madeira and to Casa Branca. Regards to all staff especially those hardworking ladies in the garden

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QueenfanMorden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2009

The hotel is set in beautiful gardens where I would often wander during the day - stupidly I sat on a summer seat one afternoon and my feet and ankles were evidently bitten to bits by mosquitos. The gardens are well watrered during the night to the extent that the grass is actually very damp and therefore a fine breeding area for these insects and for whatever else. Please take loads of sprays etc as the bites are the worst I have encountered.
The food in the restaurant is expensive but more importantly the standard can leave a bit to be desired - we ordered two pasta dishes - suffice to say the chef needs a lesson before preparing any more such dishes.
Taking everything into account we enjoyed our holiday and would go back.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ambioran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.1 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.2 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
3,035 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.3 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.5 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 88 in Funchal
2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta da Casa Branca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Casa Branca

Address: Rua da Casa Branca, 7, Funchal, Madeira 9000-088, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $180 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta da Casa Branca 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of the "Small Luxury Hotels of the World", nestled amidst lush sub-tropical gardens near the center of Funchal and away from the bustle of the city, at Quinta da Casa Branca estate, there is a modern design boutique Hotel featuring 41 Rooms and 2 Suites, and positioned at the lower level of the property there are two buildings set apart, an elegant and luxurious Manor House with 5 luxury Manor House Suites. Close by, next to the swimming-pool, lies a Villa dating from the early XIX century. Providing a glamorous retreat, yet offering a personal and meaningful experience to every guest, the integration of the family's house and grounds with Quinta da Casa Branca boutique Hotel in November 2015, enables the preservation of a unique property on the island of Madeira whilst showcasing a remarkable heritage and providing the unique addition of the exuberant gardens, home to an abundance of various tropical trees and a banana plantation spanning a total of 28,000m2. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Quinta da Casa Branca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Casa Branca Hotel Funchal
Quinta Da Casa Branca Funchal
Quinta Da Casa Branca Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing