We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“When you get there you will appreciate the difference” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta da Casa Branca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quinta da Casa Branca
Ranked #4 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“When you get there you will appreciate the difference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I absolutely loved this hotel, the grounds at the Quinta da Casa Branca actually are Idyllic - unlike so many of the other hotels which use very clever shots to make their grounds look spacious. Staff are very friendly and helpful and do their job with a sense of humour. Breakfast was delicious, varied and plentiful - although staff do need to make sure there are still enough plates left!

The hotel rooms are slightly tired but overall very comfortable and spacious, some people we met extoled the virtues of the newer more expensive rooms, but I felt ours was more than adequate and given the weather we spent little time indoors, and our terrace area was sunny (as long as the sun came out).

We always felt that there was plenty of space in the hotel and rarely felt that we were hemmed in by other guests or staff. Biggest issue was the cost of coffee in the bar which at 4.5o euros for an Americano seemed a bit excessive.

If we ever went to Funchal again this is where we would stay, but we did feel that Funchal itself seemed to be pretty over developed, the intimacy and history we expected being a very long way from the "hotel zone".

Room Tip: All the rooms are very good, apparently the premium rooms are larger and offer tea and coffee facili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinGNorthampton_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    87
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
42
586
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We are just back from a wonderful week at the Quinta da Casa Branca. The hotel is in a beautiful garden and it really felt like coming home after trips to levadas or downtown Funchal. The staff where very friendly and always helpful. It is one of the best hotels we have staid at including top hotels in Asia and North America. The breakfast was excellent and every day a very good start of the day. 2 advices to the management; please install a water cooker for tea and coffee in the rooms and please improve the reading lights (over the beds). All together, we want to come back (even if the snow was down to 400 m on the Tuesday!)

(I have made a separate review for the restaurant)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunnar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This property is part of the small luxury hotels of the world group, and for good reason. The service is absolutely 5 stars if not more, each staff member is friendly, attentive, knowledgeable, and goes above and beyond to assist you in any way to make your stay a memorable one. If you are looking for a hotel with an ocean view or one right in the center of Funchal this is not the right choice, but if you are looking for a beautiful hotel with top notch service, amazing food, great gardens, serene atmosphere and a tranquil, peaceful feel, this is the place.

The breakfast spread is varied and you can order a-la-carte. The pool, spa and fitness facilities are beautiful and well looked after. The grounds, as everyone has said, are the highlight of this property. They do a wonderful job keeping the grounds up and they do a great job of highlighting the diversity of the island's vegetation. The restaurant is absolutely the best place to eat on the island, so another benefit of the hotel is you have the #1 place to eat at your front door!

As a few other reviewers have said, the room furnishings and linens are a bit tired and probably ready for a refresh, including some pretty dreadful pillows. Beds are most definitely firm, so if you like a soft bed, keep that in mind. Having said that, the rooms are huge, with most having a large bathroom, sitting area and outdoor balcony, so we are willing to look the other way on outdated furnishings because everything else about this property was so wonderful. It is a quick 6-8 Euro taxi ride into the center of town (or 2 Euro bus ride) and a nice 20 minute walk to the public waterfront, which was to us a nice selling point as its quickly accessible but in a bit quieter location.

It is a one of a kind property with beautiful grounds and a superb staff. This hotel is an excellent choice for a stay on this magical island.

Room Tip: request a room in the new wing, lower level if possible as your balcony will have direct walk out ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

A really good medium sized hotel located in superb grounds. The food was excellent with a garden terrace where you could eat breakfast or lunch. The hotel dining room was busy (it's open to non-residents and is very popular) which was not surprising as the food was excellent. Be sure to book the day before as you may be disappointed otherwise. The rooftop bar offers a good snack if you want something a bit lighter. There are lots of places to eat out in Funchal but if you are walking be warned that there is a very steep hill up to the hotel. Taxis are reasonably priced and the hotel will happily order one for you. Service was excellent, nothing was too much trouble. There is a good spa/gym and a large, heated (not very warm when we visited) outdoor pool. The gardens are beautiful. This is the third time I have stayed here.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
148 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

once again David and I enjoyed a good week at this our favouyrite Funchal hotel. Rooms are comfortable and spacious with nice firm beds and decent size bathrooms. Breakfast is very good and you can have champagne with it if you want to at no extra charge. I have gone off their fresh orange juice for some reason. We always enjoy afternoon tea on the terrace with a new cake or tart every day. We only go B&B so we do not dinner there because we have found a few restaurants we like very much. Shame pool is in shadow for most of the day but in the summer this will be a great benefit. We look forward to returning for 2 weeks next christmas and maybe another week or so during the year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We have just spent Christmas and New Year at this wonderful hotel. There are so many plaudits - exemplary staff, immaculately maintained gardens and everyone worked hard and with a real desire to ensure that guests had a great experience for both Christmas and New Year. It is very quiet which can be a bonus but for those looking for night life they will need to go elsewhere. It is not the best of hotels for children. Our only disappointment was that our room was tired and needed a re-furb.

Possible downsides. It is a healthy walk into Funchal and includes two steepish hills which may be off putting for those who less mobile. The local bus stops outside the hotel, 1 euro 90 each way, and there are of course the taxis. We would recommending hiring a car as Maderia is a beautiful island and it is worth getting away from the tourist spots.

The fireworks for New Year are world renown but you cannot see them very well from the Quinta. After the fantastic Gala dinner either walk up the hill behind the hotel or arrange to go on the 8th floor roof terrace of the nearby Savoy Gardens.

Room Tip: You may want to consider upgrading to the new rooms rather than the terrace gardens. However these o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAD15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Just back from a week's holiday, we had a wonderful time over New Year. The staff are all so lovely, they do everything they can to make your stay perfect. The hotel and gardens are immaculate and peaceful. The hotel is within walking distance of the marina and town if you like a bit of exercise, which we do. This was our first trip to Madeira (except my visit on a 1966 school educational cruise which was totally different!) and we will definitely return to this hotel to explore more of this beautiful island.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ciderapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.1 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.6 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#8 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 965 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 2,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#14 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,587 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta da Casa Branca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Casa Branca

Property: Quinta da Casa Branca
Address: Rua da Casa Branca, 7, Funchal, Madeira 9000-088, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#13 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta da Casa Branca 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of the "Small Luxury Hotels of the World", nestled amidst lush sub-tropical gardens near the center of Funchal and away from the bustle of the city, at Quinta da Casa Branca estate, there is a modern design boutique Hotel featuring 41 Rooms and 2 Suites, and positioned at the lower level of the property there are two buildings set apart from the modern design boutique Hotel, an elegant and luxurious Manor House housing 5 luxury Manor House Suites. Close by, next to the swimming-pool, lies a Villa dating from the early XIX century. Providing a glamorous retreat, yet offering a personal and meaningful experience to every guest, the integration of the family's house and grounds with Quinta da Casa Branca boutique Hotel in November 2015, enables the preservation of a unique property on the island of Madeira whilst showcasing a remarkable heritage and providing the unique addition of the exuberant gardens, home to an abundance of various tropical trees and a banana plantation spanning a total of 27,000m2. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Quinta da Casa Branca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Casa Branca Hotel Funchal
Quinta Da Casa Branca Funchal
Quinta Da Casa Branca Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing