We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fab stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta da Casa Branca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quinta da Casa Branca
Ranked #4 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Carcassonne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Recently returned from this wonderful peaceful hotel, spent seven nights bed and breakfast with friends. Ate at the hotel twice, excellent food. Most evenings we took taxi to the old town, especially enjoyed the Forte Restaurant at the far end of old town, advisable to pre-book.
Will definitely return to Madeira and the Quinta de casa Branca.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    87
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
42
586
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

A superb hotel set in beautiful gardens. The staff were more than helpful, the rooms and hotel areas were clean, modern and comfortable. Add to this the standard of the cuisine served in each of the restaurants and afternoon cakes and you have the makings of a perfect holiday.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Extremely relaxing stay in beautiful surroundings. Must be one of the best hotel breakfasts I've had. One of the choices was an iced cold creamy porridge/muesli with fruit and nuts which I'm now trying to replicate at home, it was delicious. Loved that each room had it's own pair of sun loungers and the rooms opened directly onto the garden.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zeebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We usually eat here each year and in particular enjoy the matching of food and wine on the menu. I arrived to eat here last week and was completely ignored for 10 minutes while we sat ourselves down at an empty dinner table in the garden. Staff walked by many times - and we were amazed by their attitude! We were the only people in the restaurant! The staff finally acknowledged us but no words of welcome was made! The food was as good as ever but the waiting staff seemed completely bored with their jobs. The matching food and wine was no longer included on the menu and this was an excellent way to get to know Portuguese wines. I really feel the management should look again at this and perhaps re-think? The staff really need to up their act

A huge disappointment when there are so many other excellent choices in Funchal. I will not be returning!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank louisehertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here for a week at the end of September. The hotel was perfect for us - very quiet, peaceful and set in beautiful gardens. It is very conveniently located about 20 minutes walk from the centre of Funchal although there are plenty of shops and restaurants about 5-10 minutes walk in the other direction. The whole area is quite hilly so make sure to pack some sensible shoes!
The staff were very friendly - nothing was too much trouble. We stayed bed and breakfast only. Breakfast was buffet style with cooked options.
The pool was good and in a sheltered position. We also used the sauna and jacuzzi which were very welcome after walking in the mountain levadas.
Rooms were fine - all seemed to have a lovely terrace leading on to the garden.
We ate out most evenings and would recommend El Riso (lots of rice dishes) and the India House (only decent curry I've had abroad apart from South Africa) both of which were in Funchal and Luigis Italian which was about 5 minutes walk away.
We tried the on site restaurant and it was fine but nothing special for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PBOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinver, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was our first visit to Madeira and staying at the Quinta da Casa Branca certainly helped to make it a very enjoyable experience. The setting was perfect with well kept secluded gardens. During the week it was my wife's birthday and without any prompting the hotel provided a bottle of champagne for us to celebrate. The staff really make the hotel, they are all friendly and helpful whilst being very efficient and professional. We would ver much like to return and would recommend anyone to stay at the Quinta da Casa Branca.

Room Tip: If you want to spend time sunbathing choose a simple garden room but for more comfort ask for a supe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tonybrad71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and i stayed late September on a B&B basis. The hotel is in beautiful gardens which considering it's location is pretty quiet. Breakfasts were very good with a good variety of things to eat. A lunchtime menu is limited but we ate out at the good local restaurants. Evening menu of which we tried once is limited,fairly expensive but good quality. All the staff are very polite and friendly and are a credit to the hotel.The pool is a fair size with about 20 odd sunbeds dotted around it. We only used the pool once as we were busy touring the island/scuba diving. The time we were there there were no children which meant it was really nice and quiet. It's not really a child type hotel in my opinion. Ok,now to the negatives: The room was a standard and although ok i have stayed in better at 5 star hotels. There are no tea making facilities available which should come as standard. For those who take ipads,laptops, phones etc there are only 2 sockets available. One is near the door entrance, one has a light stand plugged into it near the patio doors. There is a third socket behind the desk next to the fridge but it is inaccessible. There are no sockets near the bed. If you don't bother with electrical gadgets then this aint a problem. People do like this hotel and come back year after year as they are happy with it as it is. We liked it but if we came back to Funchal it would be at an hotel with slightly more updated facilities.

Room Tip: If standard room, take a travel kettle, tea bags. Limited electric sockets.(2)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SUZUKIMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.1 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.6 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#8 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 963 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 2,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#14 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,587 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta da Casa Branca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Casa Branca

Property: Quinta da Casa Branca
Address: Rua da Casa Branca, 7, Funchal, Madeira 9000-088, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#13 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta da Casa Branca 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of the "Small Luxury Hotels of the World", nestled amidst lush sub-tropical gardens near the center of Funchal and away from the bustle of the city, at Quinta da Casa Branca estate, there is a modern design boutique Hotel featuring 41 Rooms and 2 Suites, and positioned at the lower level of the property there are two buildings set apart from the modern design boutique Hotel, an elegant and luxurious Manor House housing 5 luxury Manor House Suites. Close by, next to the swimming-pool, lies a Villa dating from the early XIX century. Providing a glamorous retreat, yet offering a personal and meaningful experience to every guest, the integration of the family's house and grounds with Quinta da Casa Branca boutique Hotel in November 2015, enables the preservation of a unique property on the island of Madeira whilst showcasing a remarkable heritage and providing the unique addition of the exuberant gardens, home to an abundance of various tropical trees and a banana plantation spanning a total of 27,000m2. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Fastbooking, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Quinta da Casa Branca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Casa Branca Hotel Funchal
Quinta Da Casa Branca Funchal
Quinta Da Casa Branca Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing