We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta da Casa Branca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quinta da Casa Branca
Ranked #4 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I spent two weeks on a bed and breakfast basis at the Quinta da Casa Branca in August. It is a small quiet unpretentious hotel set in beautiful well-maintained gardens and hidden from passing traffic that fully deserves its five star rating. It is definitely not a brash hotel that gets stars for tacky entertainment. All the staff are friendly and helpful.

The hotel is in the so-called hotel zone, about half an hour's walk from the centre of Funchal. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel.

Our basic room on the ground floor was spacious, with everything you would expect from five star accommodation. The bathroom had plenty of toiletries, bathrobes and towels, and there were plenty of towels to use at the pool. The room had a small private "terrace" with direct access to the gardens.

The buffet breakfast at the Garden Pavilion was excellent, and it is possible to eat breakfast on a terrace outside. We had one superb evening meal in the main restaurant.

Facilities include a well-stocked library (especially for British and German guests) with complimentary internet connection for those holiday-makers who do not have all-singing, all-dancing smartphones, a cocktail bar next to reception, a small gym, a spa/health club and a heated outdoor swimming pool.

Any faults? If you want to nit-pick - the pool area can become crowded at times (but just go back to your own terrace and relax and try again later), and one or two places need a lick of paint.

There are many good restaurants nearby, including O Dragoeira (where a wonderful old gentleman invites you in!), Sebastian come Tudo, and the excellent Olives. If you want a day trip we would recommend Lido Tours.

A perfect hotel for a truly relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    88
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
42
596
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Check in: We are required to pay our 5 nights stay. Nothing wrong with that, it was apparently the condition for a (very slightly) lower fare we had. Reception ladies were very insistent on this, so do not except to look at your room before to pay...

First impression: setting is nice, design is fine but not timeless and needs to be updated. It was maybe looking as a 5* ten year ago...

Room: Size Ok, tired furniture, TV from from the 80's, terrace OK. Beds just average. You can hear everything from tte corridor. Marble bathroom but dirty joints and no separate toilets..
We ask for a kettle: Reception tells us it is not possible. You have to order boiled water from room service. In fact Superior rooms (the ones with a claustrophobic balcony, instead of the nice terrace) have a tea and coffee making facility + free minibar... first time I see a different treatment for the guests of the same hotel depending of the room category. I believe it is just ridiculous . Of course don't expect a complimentary fruit basket or a bottle of water; it is true they are very rare and very expensive in Madeira... On the top of that, most of the time you will be sold a 20cl bottle at 2.5 because they are short of liters at 4.

Breakfast: Tetley tea, worst eggs ever, industrial bread and cold cuts, no smoked fish, fruits ok. only few tables outside.

Dinner: we arrived at the restaurant, ask if we can have a table, we are being told 3 times consecutively to wait for the manager???? Ok we won't have dinner there. Anyway, price are of michelin star restaurant but they have a menu with only 2 choices of starters & 3 main dished, 3 of them with seafood which can only be imported (the only sea food they caught in Madera are Lapas).

Tea time: surprise they can serve good tea when it is an extra..

Garden: brilliant idea to water grass all afternoon when it's is 32°c. They manage to get a burnt grass which is unparalleled performance in Madera. This garden could be easily amazing but...

Pool: Large. water temperature will be too warm for swimmers, perfect for others. enough sun loungers for approx 1/4 of the guest so be prepared to lie on the grass, which is better for your back anyway?

Bar: Closed at 10pm as per leaflet in the room. Hopefully they sometime close later...

Welcome "Aperitif": In the library we arrive and see 3 staff members (none of them welcoming you with a glass of champagne or even a glass of water) at the entrance. When we turn back after few minutes and are being asked if we want to drink something?? A new cheap "welcoming technique" probably

Atmosphere: it looks like the general hotel atmosphere has side effects on guests mood and spontaneity.

For those who still feel welcome, the gates between hotel's garden and owner's property remind you kindly some dangerous dogs are waiting for you if you are tempted by an approach.

Service staff: some of them are very nice and should be rewarded to keep such attitude in such environment

Ah, last point Internet and hot water can stop anytime.

I will not return and I dot recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank pieralexc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Another fantastic holiday at Quinta da Casa Branca! This is our 3rd visit! This is just a perfect place for a peaceful break. We were welcomed back with opened arms! The hotel is set in the most beautiful gardens which are tended to by a team of meticulous gardeners. Rooms are beautifully decorated and furnished, the housekeeping team are excellent. Food at both The Deck Bar and hotel restaurant is excellent, buffet style breakfasts consist of a vast selection catering for every need! The hotel is just a short bus or taxi ride from the centre of Funchal. The Madeiran people are lovely, the island is very clean and local cuisine is excellent. Thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: The majority of rooms have patio doors which open out onto the gardens, however, there are a few roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris5506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful stay at a wonderful hotel. Cocktails in the bar a little expensive - be sure to take advantage of the (poorly promoted) happy hour. Ensure you get your free cocktail when you buy one... The staff do not promote it and so we ended up paying for two drinks instead of one until we found out about the happy hour from other guests. Otherwise, perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Truly beautiful hotel with the most amazing grounds. I can't say enough how great all the staff are from the restaurant to reception to the maids all go out of their way to greet you personally and to share little bits of info about their incredible island. We travelled with our 8 year old son and my 60 year old mother and all of us loved everything about this place. Rooms are large, immaculate and very quiet. We had room 108 which is on a slight corner so slightly wider at the garden end than others. All open out onto the beautiful garden which is wonderful for a late afternoon or early evening relax. We were half board which for us is unusual but a decision I didn't regret at all. Hb guest can order from the table d'hote or the a la carte menu only a small number of dishes carry an extra supplement. We are really I picky and I couldn't fault the meals over the fortnight. The same was true about breakfast and whilst the choice didn't change much over 2 weeks there was so much to choose from I spent all that time trying everything. The spa treatments are great but expensive compared to the uk however that's what a holiday is for! All in all this place is a real haven whilst it is a walk into town it's not that difficult and gives you the chance to walk off all the great food. I would absolutely recommend the casa branca and will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redsrambes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a weeks holiday with my other half. First time in the island and at this hotel and both are simply excellent. All staff are friendly and efficient, and speak good English. Breakfast is excellent with a wide variety from the buffet and eggs and bacon cooked to order free of charge. The rooms are very comfortable. We were lucky enough to get an upgrade to the superior room, which has tea and coffee facilities and lounger chairs, where the standard rooms have no tea and coffee and sun beds.....a matter of preference as to how useful you find the drinks and how you want to relax! Not sure about the standard rooms, but ours had both a cd player and a dvd player attached to the tv. The hotel has a small collection of cds and films to borrow (again free), but you might like to pack those dvds you had no time to watch at home for a cosy evening in! The pool is heated and refreshing and a real sun trap. Location is excellent - half hour stroll to the old town and a 5euro taxi ride back up the hill! I would highly recommend the hotel and hope to return next summer.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just returned from a week's stay at Casa Branca and would thoroughly recommend this gem of a hotel! It is set in the most beautiful gardens, the rooms are stylish and comfortable and the staff friendly and efficient. The breakfast each morning offered an excellent choice and the lunch at the Pool bar was tasty and good value.
We had one meal in the Restaurant which was perfectly adequate but not amazing- for a few euros more I would recommend Villa Cipriani which was delicious and served in a beautiful setting.
The pool was fine for us as a couple but would benefit from more sun beds.
These are just minor niggles however as we had a great time here and fully intend to return in the not too distant future

Room Tip: No need to upgrade to the superior room- standard rooms are fine with lovely terraces
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank EveGlos_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.1 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.6 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#7 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 972 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 2,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#13 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,018 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#8 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta da Casa Branca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Casa Branca

Property: Quinta da Casa Branca
Address: Rua da Casa Branca, 7, Funchal, Madeira 9000-088, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#13 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta da Casa Branca 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of the "Small Luxury Hotels of the World", nestled amidst lush sub-tropical gardens near the center of Funchal and away from the bustle of the city, at Quinta da Casa Branca estate, there is a modern design boutique Hotel featuring 41 Rooms and 2 Suites, and positioned at the lower level of the property there are two buildings set apart from the modern design boutique Hotel, an elegant and luxurious Manor House housing 5 luxury Manor House Suites. Close by, next to the swimming-pool, lies a Villa dating from the early XIX century. Providing a glamorous retreat, yet offering a personal and meaningful experience to every guest, the integration of the family's house and grounds with Quinta da Casa Branca boutique Hotel in November 2015, enables the preservation of a unique property on the island of Madeira whilst showcasing a remarkable heritage and providing the unique addition of the exuberant gardens, home to an abundance of various tropical trees and a banana plantation spanning a total of 27,000m2. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Fastbooking and Priceline so you can book your Quinta da Casa Branca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Casa Branca Hotel Funchal
Quinta Da Casa Branca Funchal
Quinta Da Casa Branca Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing