We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta da Casa Branca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quinta da Casa Branca
Ranked #4 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This really is a great Hotel. The Hotel is set in lovely gardens which are immaculately maintained. The walk from our room to the Breakfast Pavillion was a delight of colours and Floral scents every morning. All rooms have a deck/verandah which overlook said gardens with Loungers/deck chairs for your relaxation. Staff were great, with special mention of Nuno and his evening staff. Cocktails on the deck bar with the lights of Funchal in the background were a great way to finish the day.

Room Tip: Make sure you tell the staff you want to use the Sauna/Steam room about half an hour before you go d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    87
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
42
587
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

A beautiful modern hotel in "Frank Loyd Wright" style in a quiet oasis of well-kept gardens in the grounds of the old Quinta. A welcome contrast to the other concrete high-rise hotels in Funchal. All the rooms have attractive garden views and area to sit out. Funchal old town is a 20-25 minute walk or about 1.50 Euros with nearby bus. Helpful staff and outstanding, interesting breakfast choices with local fruits and dishes. Papaya, passion fruit, orange, even creamy iced (!) porridge with molasses which was far better than it sounds! The hotel restaurant was also good though a little formal and quiet. The best places we found to eat were Armazem do Sal in the Old town (book first) and La Bamba further down Rua Dr Pita, where they do beef filet espada on bay tree skewers. That place was recommended by our levada-walk guide from Madeira Explorers (based in the Monumental Lido ) The hotel pool and spa were very good though you have to go briefly outside between blocks to get to the spa.
Overall, one of the best hotels we have stayed in anywhere and we would definitely book here on a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in March 2013 and we thought the standards were extremely good and the staff were excellent.
The facilities at the hotel are excellent, we booked a superior room which was well worth the extra cost, the only negative thing is that there should be sun loungers rather than chairs to sit out on the balcony which standard rooms have.
The breakfast was excellent and served by staff who were very helpful and polite, the choice and quality of food was excellent.
We used room service several times which was also excellent. The standard and quality of food was excellent as was the service.
The pool area needs to be updated a little as it is quite dated and more could be done to create more sitting / sun lounge area.
The gardens were fabulous, they were very well maintained by an excellent team of gardeners who always passed the time of day with you when passing.
From the moment we arrived at the hotel the staff did everything to ensure we enjoyed our stay, we thought the staff were excellent and nothing was a trouble to them they always had a smile and were very polite.
We would stay at this hotel again and have no hesitation in giving it the highest recommendation.

Room Tip: We thought the location was fine but it is slightly off the beaten track and the area is very hilly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Theodasherdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

An absolute gem of a hotel, low rise and set in a lovely garden. An oasis in Funchal which is becoming dominated by large, high rise hotels. Service was excellent and, as someone who needs a gluten free diet, I was extremely well looked after. Thanks to Manuela on reception who recommended places to eat and then let them know about my diet, and to Delia in the breakfast room who provided gluten free bread and arranged for a special almond cake.

We had a garden room which was good and perfectly adequate, but if you like the afternoon sun, and for a better view of the garden, try one of the superior rooms. I don't understand how anyone can say that the garden rooms are not spacious as they contain big beds, a sitting area and a large bathroom, not to mention an outside terrace with loungers.

Eating out in the old town was excellent - better than the restaurants we tried closer to the hotel. Its very easy to catch a bus.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pepper808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I agree with all the previous reviewers positive comments about the situation of the hotel and gardens and the breakfast. We had lunch there the first day which was good but the food wasn't as hot as it should of been. We also ate in the restaurant on the first evening, once we had found out how to get in, signage would be helpful from the hotel as the entrance is just off the street, also on the door into the dining room.We didn't try the afternoon tea which is served daily, nor the 'happy hour' when drinks were half price. We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary, unsure as to whether our tour rep had told or staff had seen our cards but we were presented with a welcomed bottle of champagne. I did try the swimming pool and had it all to myself for approx 1 hour, but left once a family took over the pool, it was a bit cool but warm enough to swim in despite being the end of January. I didn't try the spa but would if we stay in this hotel again. Whilst wi-fi was free in the room it wasn't brilliant and only available for one computer/tablet.
As stated by other reviewers there are a number of places to eat and drink within walking distance. For a special meal try the Old Fort in the old town in Funchal or Motzarts (both owned by the same company) where you can have a 3 course meal plus wine, water and coffee for either 39/35 euros respectively.
We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: The standard rooms on the ground floor have a private patio area overlooking the garden, but no tea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MedCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandhurst
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Great small hotel in luxurious gardens with spa and heated swimming pool. The hotel is architect designed and all rooms aopen out onto the garden with terrace and loungers to catch the sun.

The town of Funchal is about 15minutes walk away and there are many buses to get back as the climb up to the hotel is steep from the coastal road.

The restaurant is good but fromal but the breakfast buffet is great with many choices of fresh fruit, cakes and freshly cooked foods from the breakfast menu, but you can also ask for your own combinations.

Room Tip: Rooms in middle numbers very good plus spa end which face south
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
4 Thank vanillaSandhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston Super Mare
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

On first impression it is hard to see where the rooms are in this boutique hotel. You can definitely see why it has won design awards. We stayed in room 103 - but would recommend to try not to stay at this end of the hotel if possible as you will find as we did that the reception area overhead can be noisy early in the morning. The rooms were clean but I would not say that they were particularly spacious.
The staff were courteous but not overly welcoming in the hotel itself - however the breakfast staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a mixture of a la carte and buffet - the orange juice (freshly squeezed) was very tasty, suggest choosing from the a la carte menu rather than the hot buffet as the beans and sausages were lukewarm on more than one occasion of our stay.
The gardens are fantastic and are very well cared for and the pool area is secluded from the main garden area.
Would agree with other comments that taking a travel kettle would have been useful to make a hot drink. Also suggest wearing flat shoes if you intend to walk into Funchal - it is not too bad walking down the hill but quite an uphill trek on the return.

Room Tip: Stay at the rear of the hotel closest to the games room/library to lessen disruptive noise from over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Scousergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.1 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.6 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#8 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 966 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 2,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#14 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,591 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta da Casa Branca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Casa Branca

Property: Quinta da Casa Branca
Address: Rua da Casa Branca, 7, Funchal, Madeira 9000-088, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#13 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta da Casa Branca 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of the "Small Luxury Hotels of the World", nestled amidst lush sub-tropical gardens near the center of Funchal and away from the bustle of the city, at Quinta da Casa Branca estate, there is a modern design boutique Hotel featuring 41 Rooms and 2 Suites, and positioned at the lower level of the property there are two buildings set apart from the modern design boutique Hotel, an elegant and luxurious Manor House housing 5 luxury Manor House Suites. Close by, next to the swimming-pool, lies a Villa dating from the early XIX century. Providing a glamorous retreat, yet offering a personal and meaningful experience to every guest, the integration of the family's house and grounds with Quinta da Casa Branca boutique Hotel in November 2015, enables the preservation of a unique property on the island of Madeira whilst showcasing a remarkable heritage and providing the unique addition of the exuberant gardens, home to an abundance of various tropical trees and a banana plantation spanning a total of 27,000m2. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Fastbooking, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Quinta da Casa Branca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Casa Branca Hotel Funchal
Quinta Da Casa Branca Funchal
Quinta Da Casa Branca Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing