We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A wonderful hotel in a beautiful garden” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quinta da Casa Branca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quinta da Casa Branca
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A wonderful hotel in a beautiful garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

This low-rise hotel, set in a meticulously maintained garden, is ideally suited for a restful stay. It is an easy15-20 minutes' walk to the centre of Funchal - it might take longer in the heat of summer, though. The rooms are very clean, comfortable and quiet. The breakfasts are first class with eggs cooked to order (which you don't always get in some very expensive hotels) and a wide range of hot and cold items. The service is very attentive and friendly, adding greatly to the appeal of the hotel. It's where we shall stay if we return to Madeira.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank milol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    92
    19
    3
    4
See reviews for
45
623
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hotel is an unusual and probably uniquely quiet place to relax in 5 star luxury whilst visiting Funchal. Only just over 100 guests, very modern architecture and beautiful peaceful grounds.

Service and cleanliness couldn't be faulted, the breakfasts were splendid, and the Restaurant fully justifies it's excellent local ranking. Rooms well laid out, beds comfortable and bathrooms modern.

Room Tip: All rooms have a pleasant garden outlook. Most are at ground level - not a problem and loungers can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank denis y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Beautiful gardens, unique blend of modern architecture and traditional Quinta, high quality food by local standards and wonderful, smiling staff for whom nothing is too much trouble....a truly perfect holiday combination.
We decided to upgrade to a superior room having read other reviews and we were pleased with our decision though all rooms look out onto the wonderful gardens and have outside space. The Garden Pavilion, where breakfast and lunch are served, has a lovely aspect over the gardens too and we enjoyed sitting outside for breakfast, even in January. The choice of food here is good and the service is really charming. We ate at the more formal Quinta da Casa restaurant a couple of times. By local standards the food here is high quality but we did find the atmosphere a bit hushed and the service a bit over attentive but other diners seemed to enjoy that. Personally, we would have liked a more casual eating option in the evening and that is certainly available within easy walking distance of the hotel. However, that is a very minor criticism of a wonderful place that we intend to return to in the future.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Superior if possible for extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wintlekent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Near the centre of town, top quality food, beautiful gardens, great staff, buildings design amazing, restful and cheery.

Breakfast and lunch is served in gardens near the pool. Breakfast is a treat with a huge range of top quality hot food, cold meats, cheese, breads, cakes, juices, fruit and porridge. Lunch ranges from a sandwich upwards. Dinner on the other hand is nearly Michelin star quality but not the price.

The gardens have plants from all over the world, all are labelled.

The rooms are all very modern and also comfy. The public areas are stunning.

Staff very good indeed. We will be back next year.

Room Tip: No need to buy a superior room as standard is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheena59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Small quinta set in the most beautiful garden in Funchal. Modern glass cube of an architect designed hotel such that the garden surrounds you and comes alive. Trees and shrubs from all over the world adorn the space. Comfortable rooms, very pleasant and friendly staff. Nice food if not exceptional (which aligns with restaurants on the island in general, ie you will get very good quality acceptable food, but it's no foodie paradise). Good location, only downside is a slightly noisy road outside but not discernable from the bedrooms or public areas which are quiet and peaceful - excellent sleep quality. Good location - would I stay here again ? Most certainly for a relaxing holiday, the beauty of the flora and a sense of well being that massages the senses. Fireworks from the terrace on New Years eve are spectacular.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 191266Fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

One of the best Hotels we have ever stayed at. Staff were amazing and incredibly friendly, always smiling! Its only a small hotel but it makes a big impact. Grounds, Pool, Food, Fitness Room etc were all A+. I would definately recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aitchforrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We have visited this hotel numerous times over the last 10 years and always look forward to returning, the staff are so friendly they can not do enough to make sure you have a great stay .The hotel is set amongst tropical gardens that are so well maintained ,the breakfast is lovely Sonia does a great job .We always stay in a garden view room which are lovely but next time may ask to have a look at a superior Room as they sound sound great with the little extras .The hotel is about a 20 minute walk into Funchal town but there are many restaurants nearby also there is a good bus service to travel around the island .We have never been in January before the weather was beautiful but I guess we were bit lucky ,another lovely stay thankyou .WE SHALL RETURN.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.1 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,514 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#7 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta da Casa Branca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Casa Branca

Property: Quinta da Casa Branca
Address: Rua da Casa Branca, 7, Funchal, Madeira 9000-088, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#12 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta da Casa Branca 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of the "Small Luxury Hotels of the World", nestled amidst lush sub-tropical gardens near the center of Funchal and away from the bustle of the city, at Quinta da Casa Branca estate, there is a modern design boutique Hotel featuring 41 Rooms and 2 Suites, and positioned at the lower level of the property there are two buildings set apart from the modern design boutique Hotel, an elegant and luxurious Manor House housing 5 luxury Manor House Suites. Close by, next to the swimming-pool, lies a Villa dating from the early XIX century. Providing a glamorous retreat, yet offering a personal and meaningful experience to every guest, the integration of the family's house and grounds with Quinta da Casa Branca boutique Hotel in November 2015, enables the preservation of a unique property on the island of Madeira whilst showcasing a remarkable heritage and providing the unique addition of the exuberant gardens, home to an abundance of various tropical trees and a banana plantation spanning a total of 27,000m2. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Fastbooking so you can book your Quinta da Casa Branca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Casa Branca Hotel Funchal
Quinta Da Casa Branca Funchal
Quinta Da Casa Branca Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing