We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quinta da Casa Branca
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Vila Rosa(Funchal)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (993)
Filter reviews
993 results
Traveler rating
848
115
22
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
848
115
22
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanor housegarden paviliondeck barsmall luxury hotelmodern architecturesuperior roomsun loungersprivate terraceset in beautiful gardenspeaceful havenbeautiful hotelquinta damain restaurantbreakfast is servedbreakfast rooma la carte menunothing is too much trouble
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
562 - 567 of 993 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We visited the QCB over the Xmas period to relax and rest. It is the perfect location for this. The hotel is L shaped, at the top of the gardens and fits in with its surroudings so that you somehow don't notice it.
The staff were an excellent mix of friendly (tipping us off about a local festival for example) and professionalism.
We had a superior room, and as mentioned by others, this meant no sun loungers on our balcony, but as the pool is never more that 2 minutes away, this was fine.
Finally, the location. After reading reviews we were concerned that walking would involve some mountaineering. It is not that bad - yes the QCB is on a hill, but that helps give some good views (from the bar for example). It is an easy 20 min walk into Funchal and only 5 from the main hotel drag on the islands - for restaurants, bars etc.

Highly recommended if you need to relax and get away.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brighton_UKTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Based on past TripAdvisor reviews we selected this small "country house" hotel for a week over Christmas.

Excellent service, great room (Superior) and lovely gardens.

Restaurant somewhat over-priced, service OK and food good. Dont pass it but try some of the local restaurants also.

For such a small hotel, spa and fitness area are good.

Staff are very attentive.

Room Tip: All rooms face the gardens. The standard rooms are in 100 and 200 range. 100's are in a single wing (some under the recepltion). 200's are on ground floor of 2-story wing. 300's are superior rooms on first-floor. Low 100's could be more noisy as they are under the reception (arriving taxis, etc) also all foot traffic from restaurant passes room 101, 102, etc. Not a major issue as hotel has only 40 or so rooms. 100/200's have terrace to garden. 100's have sun in mornings. 200's have sun in afternoon. 300's have large balconies with shutters; sun from mid-morning.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samb1142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

A wonderful hotel for a short relaxing break. We have stayed 3 times and are always warmly welcomed.

Room Tip: Always upgrade to a superior room, wonderful bathroom with lovely rain shower.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtraveller1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed for 11 nights in November 2011 and had a wonderful holiday.

Arriving at reception check-in was quick and simple. We were shown to our standard room and I would agree with other reviews here - they are lovely and the patio area with your own sunlounger makes them preferable to the superior rooms.

The hotel is spotlessly clean with extremely helpful staff. Fabiana at reception couldn't have been of any more help when I realised that I had lost my purse. The staff throughout are pleasant and smiling. A complimentary bottle of sparkling wine on my birthday was a lovely gesture.

Breakfast was excellent - plenty of choice and good, strong coffee!

The grounds made this hotel for us, the gardens are exquisite with gardeners working every day to maintain the standard. The pool area is also beautiful.

We would rush back to this hotel at any opportunity and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ann4118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Recommended by friends who have been there nine times!!!

We weren't disappointed. The setting, the service, the food were all excellent. The RHS would be proud of the grounds. An excellent place to relax. We've never done a repeat visit to a holiday location but we would certainly consider going back there.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 98gunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews