We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Funchal
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,850)
Filter reviews
2,850 results
Traveler rating
1,146
1,115
409
124
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,146
1,115
409
124
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pebble beach sound of the waves fishing village free bus ceiling fan all inclusive hotel an italian restaurant evening entertainment meal times camara de lobos no air con all inclusive drinks rooms have a sea view courtesy bus into funchal great holiday all inclusive package beautiful island
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 2,850 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have just returned from this hotel. The hotel itself is a little outdated, however it is very clean and well maintained.

We were upgraded to a higher floor as I had informed the hotel itwas a birthday treat for my partner. One of the staff knocked on our door shortly after we arrived with a bottle of sparkling wine also.

The food was very good, always well presented And a fair variety.

The staff are friendly( a special mention here to Manuela)And their customer service skills are exemplary.

I only had one curt response from one of the staff when I was there as we turned up for breakfast too early on the day we departed!!!

The array of drinks available under the all-inclusive option was more than satisfactory and once again the bar staff were Excellent.

The rooms are spacious and clean with an excellent shower.

The location is very good and gives you easy access to local places of interest in shops/restaurants.

The pool is very cold while we were there and that was a slight disappointment as I expected it to be heated.
The gym is not air-conditioned and very basic indeed with no free weights which my partner was disappointed about.

The evening entertainment was very geared towards an older guest.
It would’ve been nice to see a greater variety of music.

All in all, we had a brilliant week and I would definitely visit again.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank kikilsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaBay, Diretor-Geral at Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mr/Mrs kikilsj,

Thank you for choosing Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel and for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay with us.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location and comfort of our rooms, as well as the service provided by our team. Our guests’ comments are very important to us because we work hard every day to provide them with an excellent service.
Your remarks and suggestions have also been duly noted and will be forwarded to the departments in charge.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards,
Gilberto Gouveia
Pestana Ocean Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020 via mobile

We booked our stay through Tui. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Pestana - staff were friendly and super helpful. The location was good, great pool nice sea views and the gardens around the hotel were lovely. We took the shuttle bus into town and spent a day at the cable car and botanical gardens. The hotel provides a timetable for the bus. The food was good always hot and fresh but there is a limited selection. You have the option to eat both inside or out on the terrace area (I have a phobia of birds so just be wary if eating outside and they do come close). Entertainment was great, they had a music quiz, karaoke, local dancers. Seating can be limited if busy. The rooms were clean, bathroom was large though a little outdated and could do with better lighting. You cannot sunbathe on the beach as it is rocky but one evening we perched on the rocks to watch the sunset and it was lovely!
Would definitely visit again!

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
3  Thank SophB1292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaBay, Diretor-Geral at Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your preference and for your review on TripAdvisor, which is very important for us.

We are very happy to acknowledge your satisfaction and to know that we managed to provide you a lovely stay while visiting our beautiful island. Thank you for the opportunity given and for all your kind words, which are most appreciated.

Looking forward to welcome you back.
Kind regards,
Gilberto Gouveia
Pestana Ocean Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020

It my favorite resort on Madeira.
Best location directly on oceanside.
All rooms with ocean view. Rooms is big with small kitchen.
Very tasty all-inclusive restaurant.
Responsive stuff.
Qualitative cleaning room service.
Free parking
Free shuttle bus to the center of Funchal.
... and more.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
1  Thank Sergey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaBay, General Manager at Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2020

Dear Guest,
thank you for your review regarding your stay at Pestana Bay.
Your feedback is very important to us.
We look forward to serving you in the future.
Sincerely,
The hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020

We booked this holiday 8 days prior to travelling and as such we were going with a very open mind. We arrived at 20:30 on the Monday evening and were told by the staff on Reception to go into the restaurant immediately as it was closing in 30 minutes. That done we were checked in within 5 minutes.
The location of the hotel is perfect, right on the sea front, but unfortunately the walkway and tunnel allowing you to walk into Funchal town was destroyed by storms a couple of years ago. Fortunately, the hotel did lay on a free shuttle bus 6 or 8 times a day, which was a God send.
The food was generally quite acceptable and, for a change, quite hot, although sometimes there was not a lot of choice, especially in the sweet department.
Unfortunately the evening entertainment was, in my mind, at the lower end of the spectrum. Most started at around 20:00 and finished about 23:00 but when there was local dancers on they finished at 21:15 or before - not good when on of the nights was a Saturday (a main night out).
The rooms are very clean and comfortable and are all sea facing so you don't end up like us, normally, overlooking the car park. However, of you're not used to noise at night, the sea will possibly keep you awake as it pounds the rocky beach.
I can honestly say I have never found such friendly staff in any hotel I have stayed in, they were brilliant.
Would I stay at this hotel again? Probably not but is only due to the location.
The hotel in general was value for money.

Date of stay: December 2019
3  Thank johndunn58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaBay, General Manager at Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2020

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your rating regarding your stay at Pestana Bay.
Your feedback is very important to us.
We look forward to serving you in the future.
Sincerely,
Gilberto Gouveia
The hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020

What a disappointment it certainly wasn't 4 star as TUI rated it and I found it hard to give it a three star. The beach was advertised as pebbles, these were about ten inches big and ankle breakers. These stones were tiered and needed to be scrambled across to get to the water. Access was non existent as we had to climb over broken pallets to get to a boardwalk. There was no air conditioning and the fan in the room only worked on the slowest setting. Food was very limited and very much the same every night. The lighting in the room was very poor.This hotel was out of the way with no promenade or shops, there was nothing outside the hotel and except for trips we were isolated. There was a shuttle bus, but it stopped at 12 noon and resumed at wpm so if you went into Funchal you were abandoned for hours. We wrote to the hotel but got no reply and we have written to TUI with no results so I would certainly avoid this hotel and go elsewhere

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickwD367RZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaBay, Diretor-Geral at Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2020

Dear Mr./Mrs. nickwD367RZ,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion on the services provided at Pestana Bay Ocean during your stay.
We highly appreciate the feedback provided by our guests as it helps us improve our daily performance. We are sorry that you were disappointed with our service. Corrective measures will be taken immediately to change and improve our service provided.

Best regards,
Gilberto Gouveia
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews