We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia Formosa, Funchal, Madeira 9000-247, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just returned from a weeks holiday in Madeira at Pestana Bay Hotel,the weather was hot everyday and Madeira is so pretty.Cannot fault the hotel,we had a studio which had a small kitchen area,seating area and all have balconys overlooking the sea,he noise of the waves is lovely.It doesn't have airconditioning but does have a ceiling fan which did the job perfectly.The hotel is so friendly ,small enough that you get to know the other holidaymakers.Every night there was some music with a singer and dancing.The food was excellent always choices of meat and fish and even a diet corner.Because there a two sittings for meals there was never a queue,you could even get a table outside overlooking the sea which was lovely especially at night.The staff there were all so accomodating and helpful and the Hotel is always so clean.The hotel is on the outskirts of Funchal but it was a nice promenade walk into town or use the courtesy bus which goes every 45 mins and is very punctual.The cable car is a must and coming down in the toboggan good fun.We couldn't find fault with this hotel and cannon wait to return next year.Thanks to all the staff for making our holiday so great.

Room Tip: All have good views but the trees might stop your views slightly so go above the first floor,we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JackieHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    452
    159
    49
    13
See reviews for
178
649
36
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Just read the previous report, and can comprehend completely.
Booked some time ago and was getting very worried upon reading recent reviews.
This hotel is some way out of Funchal, however is served by a regular and free transport bus that runs every 45 minutes throughout the day from 9am until 9pm.
The walk into town along the front is nice, and took us about an hour and 45mins. There is also a walk in the opposite direction towards a small fishing village about 3km away that took around 45mins.
Now to the hotel. As a group of four friends, we requested high floors and adjoining rooms - duly organised and ready upon our arrival at 12noon. Reception staff were helpful and friendly throughout - although one major moan, they told us the toboggan was open on a sunday until 4pm - it isn't at all! Wifi vouchers for 30mins were handed out, and you could have more than one each day without question or charge.
Food. There was a limited selection, however all was tasty and nicely cooked. Each meal provided a minimum of two meat options and generally two fish. Cold beef at lunch was lovely. Salad options were not to my liking, and again not too much choice. Cakes were lovely, fresh and moist. Restaurant is nicely situated right alongside the sea. Breakfast on the patio each morning - perfect! Hot and cold options available with coffee, and the regular AI packet fruit drinks. No fizz either that is now becoming the norm for a good 4*.
Drinks. I believe you can tell a good All Inclusive by the drinks on offer. Here there was a limited selection of spirits, along with white and red wine. Personally I thought the wine left for guests to help themselves to at meal times to be watered down, much better to get from the bars. The bar men are always friendly and helpful too, and mixed up a couple of 'house' cocktails for us that we thoroughly enjoyed. Mind you if you are prepared to pay then REALLY nice cocktails are available, there is a 30% (although only given 20% pre-set in till), offer after 9pm. One of the nicest cocktails I have ever had.
Rooms. Beds are well sized and comfy. Shampoo, soap and shower gel provided of an acceptable standard. Could not fault the sea view, and for those that moan about the noise - GET A LIFE!!! This was therapeutic and we didn't want to leave behind. Air conditioning really is needed, do wonder if this is going in during the forthcoming re-fit.
POOL area was nice, and pool heated to just the right temperature. A jacuzzi spa alongside was fabulous. Entrance then to a free gym plus steam room and sauna. Unfortunately our visit to the sauna was spoiled by an old german entering without clothing or any respect to us either - so we left quickly.
So.......... why have I only given 3 stars???
This hotel is 'Saga City'. Entertainment is so dire at night we couldn't bear to stay inside and it was just what we imagined an OAP centre to be like - without the bingo! Croaners that couldn't sing killing decent songs.
To rub salt in wound, Saga Club even had their own lounge and eating area.
If you are over 65, and like the sea (and its noise) then I think you will love it - if not, then think carefully.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea view, higher ones give a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank MrsACM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have just got back from a week at this hotel and have to say we had a great time . Thought the food was excellent with different choices of meats / fish to go with the salads etc each night . The staff were all friendly and helpful , the hotel was very clean . I have read previous comments on here and have to say I find it hard to agree with a lot of the negative comments made . The only down sides we came across was the distance from the centre of Funchal , although it was a nice walk in , it is hilly in parts and hard work in the heat . Also the free bus into Funchal was often over subscribed and not every body could always get on it . The hotel had no air conditioning so got very hot at times , the room was fine with a ceiling fan offering some rest bite from the heat . Hope fully in the up coming refit there will be an up grade to modern air conditioning .
None of this detracted from a fantastic holiday .

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor level for best views , be aware the sound of the sea can be loud some may wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carman531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We must have been the youngest in the hotel Pestan Bay by 20 years and we are nearly 50 years old. Food was nice but the same at every meal. We were all inclusive, the drinks allowed were about 5 spirits and one beer plus wine. After a couple of days we were bored of the food. Staff very hit and miss a couple of nice people but on the whole very miserable. We are told the hotel is closing in three weeks for a complete refit. Hotel is very tired, room clean but no air con. This was meant to be a 4 star hotel. We and others we spoke to would say 2 star at best. The hotel is also a bit remote. There is a free courtesy bus that takes you to Funshal but at night you are stuck at the hotel. The entertainment was a singer with a organ on some days singing songs for the 40's we were in bed by 9.00 every night as could not put up with it.
Madeira island is very nice, scenery is spectacular. Weather is cloudy, when the sun is out it is hot, but most of the time it is cloudy. we were told this by the resort rep. Been there done it will never go back.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have just got back from Madeira and i thought you would like to know about this Hotel, well we can say that they made us feel so welcome. The meals where lovely, lots of variety every meal time, lots of salad, hot chicken,Pork, Beef, Turkey you name and it was there. All the staff was very pleasant and the Hotel was very clean. We was on the first floor over looking the sea, the sound of the sea at night lulled you to sleep it was perfect.
We only had 1wk there but I wished it waqs longer. They are closing at the end of this month for a refurbishment and wont be open till about March 2013, so will have to go back to see what they will have done.

Room Tip: If you want to look out to sea ask for 1st floor upwards as then you can see over the trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samson153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel's staff is very helpful, the rooms are quite big and very clean. Its position on the pebbles beach it's absolutely wonderful, the sound of the ocean is music to your ears and also the view from the balcony is perfect ( the ocean and also Cabo Girao )

Only minus for this hotel is the food, which is really not appropriate for an island ( lot of pork and chicken and no seafood ). Same plates each day, no diversity there, but for sure you will not starve as it's decent food. However, if you stay here, please pay a visit to Marisqueira O Barqueiro restaurant which is 2 minutes from the hotel and has excellent seafood.

We would definitely choose this hotel for our next visit !

As as tip for a new traveler to Madeira Island, book a car for your whole stay and try to visit Funchal, Porto Moniz ( wonderful natural pools ), Monte, Machico, Canical ( this would mean visiting the whole island but to go across the island will take you just a couple of hours by car, so it's really worth it ! ). Also, our advice would be book a cruise to Porto Santo which for sure will impress you as it's a great place for sun bath and also swimming in the ocean.

We were very impressed by this paradise island and are looking forward to returning :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Oana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Have just returned from a Saga all-inclusive holiday at this hotel.I felt that the meals offered a good variety of food. The staff were very pleasant.The pool was lovely. However the beach was comprised of round stones,large & small, so getting into the sea required good timing & a steady entry. Same when coming out.Could have done with some sort of device to ease the entry & exit. Either a gangway, or a more permanent groyne.
Whilst we were there the weather was hotter than usual (source- a local shopkeeper) so we would have liked to have had air-conditioning, as the hotel has 4 stars! We only had a fan to keep us cool,& slept on top of the bed.
The Saga reps were great with all our needs seen to.

Room Tip: Rooms at the east end of a corridor have a window as well as the french window, so you can have a br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank huggyat47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
1.3 mi away
Enotel Lido Madeira
Enotel Lido Madeira
#23 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,804 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
0.7 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#12 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Hotel Dom Pedro Baia Club
9.8 mi away
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
#2 of 4 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 789 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#30 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel

Property: Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
Address: Praia Formosa, Funchal, Madeira 9000-247, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#24 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#28 Family Hotel in Funchal
#32 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#37 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel Funchal
Pestana Bay Hotel Madeira
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing