We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great situation on Lido” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
Ranked #14 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great situation on Lido”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed on the 2nd floor of the tower with a sea view on bed and breakfast basis. The room was spacious with both dining and armchairs , the kitchenette was well supplied though I bought 2 mugs for tea and there was a large bathroom. The balcony did not get any direct sun which suited me.

There was a wide choice at breakfast which varied each day. The dining room had great views of Funchal. The staff were all very friendly. There is a café by the pool, evening meal is either a la carte or buffet.

We had afternoon tea on the terrace which was exceptionally good value (10.50 euro) with sandwiches scones and cakes. There is a 'happy hour' when drinks are 40% cheaper for 2 hours every evening. The hotel also has apartments and an old building which houses bar, restaurant, games room and a library with a good stock of books, jigsaws and games for any rainy days.

Nearby the hotel there is an open grassed area where you can play ball games. Also a number of restaurants - Portuguese, Italian, Chinese and a café in a small shopping area. There is also a very busy Pingo Doce supermarket with a good choice.

The only drawback for me was that there was no shade in the pool area unlike the sister hotel Pestana Village although you could rent umbrellas. There is direct access to the sea and, for adventurous types, a diving school. The various boats taking day trippers to view the coast and go whale watching pass close by. The hotel has gardens with beautiful shrubs and trees.

From the top of the road there are busses into town or you can walk in about 30 minutes, also busses to Monte and the next village. There is a large shopping centre, Forum, also within walking distance to the west.

Room Tip: There were no superior rooms available as I booked late. Our floor had 14 rooms, if you want sun on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1234jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all, we would like to thank you for your stay at the Pestana Palms, as well as for choosing Madeira Island for your holidays.
We would like to thank you for such a positive feedback regarding our property and services hope to welcome you in a near future.
Best regards on behalf of all the hotel team.
Yours sincerely,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    129
    17
    4
    5
See reviews for
99
281
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed at the apartments part of the complex, which was traditional and very clean. Access to a kitchenette and with Pingo Dolce across the road, breakfast was very easy and convenient to prepare. Rooms were cleaned daily and to a very good standard. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. You are able to book any trips from the resort, a Levada trip is recommended! You have the ability to get into the Atlantic Ocean to swim, straight from the hotel sun lounge area. The pool had just been refurbished and was very clean and easy to access.
Good feedback at pool and ocean side about safety issues both regarding sea and sun levels, lifeguard available. There is also a diving club on site which does daily trips out into the Atlantic.
Funchal is a 30 minutes walk but very manageable, there is also the ability to catch the bus nearby as well as taxi's available across the road. Overall very enjoyable stay, weather was great!

Room Tip: If you are staying in the hotel part, the top rooms have amazing Atlantic Ocean views, well worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all, we would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms Hotel, as well as for posting your comments on this website.
It was with great joy that we have received your positive feedback about us and also about our island.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in our resort, I remain with my best regards on behalf of all the hotel team.
Yours sincerely,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Our first stay at Pestana Palms and it was wonderful, beautiful room, 2 balconies and plenty of space. Comfortable beds and lots of storage space, 2 sun loungers, table and chairs for outside as well as inside, full size fridge and everything provided to cook if required. Easy 3 minutes to the supermarket to re-stock the fridge. Great gardens and pool area with the sea surrounding you on 2 sides. We ate out every night as we do when visiting Madeira, this was our 8th visit!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor overlooking the main house, gardens and the sea. So lucky as we had a hug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank JRA8284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all, we would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms Hotel, as well as for posting your comments on this website.
It was with great joy that we have received your kind words.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in our resort, I remain with my best regards on behalf of all the hotel team.
Yours sincerely,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Madeira is wonderfully beautiful and AMAZING, all the people at these Apartments are AMAZING. AMAZING reception staff, massage therapists, cleaners, bar staff, individuals who pick up your luggage. Special thank you goes out to Filipe from reception. Also the Ukrainian massage therapist.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Aparna74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all, we would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms Hotel, as well as for posting your comments on this website.
It was with great joy that we have received your kind words.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in our resort, I remain with my best regards on behalf of all the hotel team.
Yours sincerely,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

My wife and I are no strangers to the Pestana Palms resort in Madeira as we have a timeshare apartment there. However, this year we added an extra couple of days to our holiday as hotel guests and arranged the booking through Low Cost Holidays - we were certainly not disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Palms Hotel, as well as for posting your comments on this website.
We sincerely hope to welcome you again in our resort.
Best regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Recently Stayed for one week in one of the studio apartments as a timeshare exchange.
Studio clean and well maintained. Bathroom quite spacious with shower over the bath. Very small kitchenette with very little room to cook light meals although it was well equipped with overly large pans etc. Large king size bed with sitting area which led onto a large balcony/ terrace overlooking the lovely gardens and sea. As the flooring is tiled we continually heard others walking about in corridors and in other apartments.
All reception staff helpful. Bar staff very professional and pleasant. We warmed to the young trainee waitress who was learning the ropes at the Cocktail hours. Loved sitting in the sunny gardens catching the last of the sunshine. The Quinta part of the complex is beautiful inside and out and has a very traditional colonial atmosphere. Wi if is very temperamental and slow and only available in public reception area.
Unfortunately, we were next door to guests with loud voices with one who slept on the balcony all night in a sofa bed ......we have never experienced before in this standard of accommodation!
Great having the large supermarket across the road and accessibility of all the restaurants nearby. Enjoyed being near to the Lido for walks etc.
We have visited Madeira many, many times and stay in another timeshare but unsure if we would stay here again ....but appreciate that others love it.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 289rosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Manager at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear guest,
Firstly, we would like to thank you for taking some time in posting some comments on your last stay in Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel.
We are proud to read your compliments on our amazing staff and beautiful gardens.
We appologize for the inconvenience caused with the noise coming from next door guests. We will do our utmost to insure that guests maintain order and quietness in the property.
We would truly love to welcome you back in our Hotel in a near future.
Kind regards,
Sara Veríssimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

A very pretty, tranquil resort with timeshare apartments and hotel rooms. It's a haven of peace in a quite busy area. Lovely sunbathing deck around a good sized pool and the gardens are full of flowers and palms - all very well cared for. We stayed in an apartment and it was very good with a small kitchenette. A large supermarket is just across the road so ideal for a bit of self catering. The balcony looked out across the gardens to the sea which was a lovely view. The hotel has a restaurant which we only used once for breakfast. The outside tables are on a terrace hovering over the sea which is a perfect spot. The food was good but bacon disappointing. Stick to continental offering. Staff are very friendly and attentive throughout the resort. Easy to get a bus into Funchal or an easy, if long walk, along the busy main road. Lots of restaurants in the area and the Lido promenade is good for a stroll. if you want peace and quiet in a pretty spot with good access to Funchal town centre this is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rafellidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Manager at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear guest,
On behalf of Pestana Palms Team, I would like to thank you for your wonderful comments on our staff and Hotel. Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel is truly the perfect spot to be accomodated, with easy access to the city center, promenade and sea. Our Flor do Mar Restaurant has the perfect location to start the day with a delicious breakfast overlooking the sea and city bay.
Please rest assure that we will be more attentive to the bacon served at breakfast.
Hope to welcome you back in our Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Sara Veríssimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,673 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
0.6 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#11 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,926 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel

Property: Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
Address: Rua Gorgulho 15-17, Funchal, Madeira 9000-107, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#15 Family Hotel in Funchal
#19 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing