We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
Ranked #15 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have now been to Maderira 3 times and each time have used a hotel from the Pestana group. This one is the best so far. Lovely setting and surroundings, nice and quiet with relaxing gardens. Beautiful views over the sea.
Our room was in the 'tower' on the sea front. Rooms were spotless, service was fantastic. Staff very helpful where nothing was too much of a problem, they were curtious and very friendly. The restaruant for breakfast was overlooking the sea and you could sit inside or outside, again very clean with a great selection of food. The fact that we had a room with kitchenette was a bonus as we were able to pop over the road to the supermarket and buy snacks or enjoy a bottle of wine on the balcony. All in all a very relaxing (and needed) holiday!

Room Tip: Consider try to get a room on the upper floors if possible, they are all good but the view from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philsy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms, as well as for taking the time in posting your comments on this website.
We sincerely appreciate your kind comments and hope to welcome you back amongst us in a near future.
Best regards on behalf of all the team,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    114
    16
    3
    5
See reviews for
88
246
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed at the Pestana Palms the first 2 weeks of April and had an excellent time. Despite the weather, cool and some rain, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. This has been our 3rd visit and hopefully not our last.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us, as well as for taking your time in posting your comments in this website.
We sincerely hope to welcome you in a near future in our hotel.
Best regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had a fantastic week here. We've been staying here every year for about 14 years. The location is perfect. The rooms are spotlessly clean and well maintained. They are cleaned daily with a change of bedding and towels during the week. We stay with our children so we need to use the sofa bed. A minor quibble is that the sofa bed is not particularly comfy but that is just a minor negative amongst many positives.
The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. We always feel at home immediately. The reception staff book all our tables at restaurants. They are very efficient.
This has nothing to do with the wonderful hotel at all - but this was the first year ever that on two occasions a couple of older folk complained about my 2 daughters & my 2 nieces (ages 5,7,12 & 14) laughing & splashing about in the pool with the odd bit of high jinx. The children are incredibly well behaved & respectful unlike the older folk who rudely commented about them. It upset me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb01212205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us, as well as for posting such positive comments regarding your stay and about us.
We do sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in our hotel.
Best regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stopped here from 7th May for two weeks as part of Pestana Options Scheme. This is a great set up. We had a one bed apartment with wonderful sea views. Pool is on the lower level with easy access to the sea. Pool towels provided, plenty of sun loungers and a good sized pool. Beware they charge for an umbrella by the pool!

Location is close to the bus stop and also the aero bus to Funchal Airport, return ride is 15 euros per person. Very close to restaurants and a large supermarket.

The staff were so helpful, always smiling. A very high standard of housekeeping with spotless towels and bed linen which were changed frequently.

We were self catering but did go to a candelit dinner, great value at 73 euros for 2 people. Five courses, wine and water and coffee all waiter served. We are trying another Pestana Hotel, the Grand, in January 2014 and have also booked for the Palms for 2 weeks on 12th March 2014 as we enjoyed its style and location this year.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 6th floor sea facing, great views and caught some breeze. Check for offers in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank furnacegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us at the Pestana Palms, and also for taking the time in posting such nice comments about us.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back in a near future.
Best regards from all the hotel team.
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We ended up at Pestana Palms as friends have a time share there and as they don't go every year they 'bank' their weeks so they can take friends.

I wasn't sure what to expect not have experienced a time share before, but was very pleasantly surprised as the room was spacious with a small kitchenette and lovely sized bathroom. The beds were very comfortable, bit TV with access to a good selection of programs in English.

We were on the ground floor which initially I thought might be a problem, but our terrace was large and we never felt we were over looked or were being watched while sitting on it.

We didn't eat in either of the main restaurants as the menu's were fairly generic and we were looking for more typically Madeira cuisine, but the pool bar served a wonderful lunchtime Espada Sandwich.

The swimming pool and surrounding area was clean and spacious and right by the sea, but unfortunately there was not any access to the sea for swimming.

All the staff were friendly, efficient and spoke fluent English, which was very helpful considering my Portuguese extends to ordering coffee and beer!!!

I am hoping that our friends invite us back again as it is a place I would very much like to revisit.

Room Tip: If you have a room high up you can sleep with the window open and not need to use the ceiling fan to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Klindars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel and also for posting your positive comments about us in this website.
Regarding the sea acces, the hotel has 2 entrances to the sea, probably you did not reach them properly.
Looking forward to welcoming you again amongst us, I remain with my best regards.
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Very good and reliable with all the necessary support (when needed) from the site team. Very well maintained with a really good pool and adequate provision of sun beds. Although it would appear that some misguided and desperate souls still need to "sun bed block" on occasions.

Excellent supermarket across the road which is well priced with a very good choice and quality of groceries, alcohol, fruit etc and a few pleasant surprises.

A number of very good priced restaurants close with a short walk up a slightly steep hill (but it is downhill back!) nearby, but as the supermarket is so close adequate facilities to knock up a pasta with salad with a good wine or beer or water if necessary... (WC Fields).

Good walks along the coast, and for those requiring more the lavada's provide excellent views and to Funchal forty to sixty minutes depending on enthusiasm with again lots of good food and budget choices especially in the old town.
So is it worthwhile going back, yes and we do.
Ps: do not be put off by Madeira reputation as a holiday home for the infirm

Room Tip: As ever we all like a room overlooking the sea, but speak / mail the team and they will as helpful a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Madeira Island.
We also thank you for your positive feedback and posts in this website.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel, I remain.
Best regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel is probably as close to the ocean as you can get in the Funchal area. The room, service, buffet breakfast, the facilities we used - everything met our expectations and made for an enjoyable stay. It seems each room in this hotel boasts an ocean view. A supermarket is right across the road and numerous more or less expensive restaurants offering local and international cuisine are within walking distance.
The hotel, as many reviewers have noted, is off the center of Funchal, but this is absolutely not a hurdle to exploring the city and suburban attractions given the city's well developed bus services.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viktor_Viktoriia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all, I would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel and also for taking your time in posting your comments on this website.
Thank you very much for your positive feedback about us.
Looking forward to welcoming you again amongst us, I remain with my best regards.
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.8 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#14 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 2,344 reviews
0.6 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,672 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vidamar Resort Madeira
Vidamar Resort Madeira
#20 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel

Property: Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
Address: Rua Gorgulho 15 17, Funchal, Madeira 9000-107, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#16 Family Hotel in Funchal
#20 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing