We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pestana Palms
Nearby Hotels
$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$268
$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$157
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $171/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa(Funchal)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$233
$138
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$472
$371
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (592)
Filter reviews
592 results
Traveler rating
382
169
28
6
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
382
169
28
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsround buildingvila lidosea viewdirect access to the oceanhuge supermarkethappy hourthrough rciexcellent supermarketwalking difficultiesceiling fanowner relationssuperior studiosmall kitchenettetimeshare apartmentspool areaeighth floorsound of the waves
Filter
Updating list...
333 - 338 of 592 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had a fantastic week here. We've been staying here every year for about 14 years. The location is perfect. The rooms are spotlessly clean and well maintained. They are cleaned daily with a change of bedding and towels during the week. We stay with our children so we need to use the sofa bed. A minor quibble is that the sofa bed is not particularly comfy but that is just a minor negative amongst many positives.
The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. We always feel at home immediately. The reception staff book all our tables at restaurants. They are very efficient.
This has nothing to do with the wonderful hotel at all - but this was the first year ever that on two occasions a couple of older folk complained about my 2 daughters & my 2 nieces (ages 5,7,12 & 14) laughing & splashing about in the pool with the odd bit of high jinx. The children are incredibly well behaved & respectful unlike the older folk who rudely commented about them. It upset me.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb01212205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us, as well as for posting such positive comments regarding your stay and about us.
We do sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in our hotel.
Best regards,
Rubina Campos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stopped here from 7th May for two weeks as part of Pestana Options Scheme. This is a great set up. We had a one bed apartment with wonderful sea views. Pool is on the lower level with easy access to the sea. Pool towels provided, plenty of sun loungers and a good sized pool. Beware they charge for an umbrella by the pool!

Location is close to the bus stop and also the aero bus to Funchal Airport, return ride is 15 euros per person. Very close to restaurants and a large supermarket.

The staff were so helpful, always smiling. A very high standard of housekeeping with spotless towels and bed linen which were changed frequently.

We were self catering but did go to a candelit dinner, great value at 73 euros for 2 people. Five courses, wine and water and coffee all waiter served. We are trying another Pestana Hotel, the Grand, in January 2014 and have also booked for the Palms for 2 weeks on 12th March 2014 as we enjoyed its style and location this year.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 6th floor sea facing, great views and caught some breeze. Check for offers in the hotel, they had a happy hour, coffee and cake by the pool etc and even served afternoon tea.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank furnacegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us at the Pestana Palms, and also for taking the time in posting such nice comments about us.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back in a near future.
Best regards from all the hotel team.
Rubina Campos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We ended up at Pestana Palms as friends have a time share there and as they don't go every year they 'bank' their weeks so they can take friends.

I wasn't sure what to expect not have experienced a time share before, but was very pleasantly surprised as the room was spacious with a small kitchenette and lovely sized bathroom. The beds were very comfortable, bit TV with access to a good selection of programs in English.

We were on the ground floor which initially I thought might be a problem, but our terrace was large and we never felt we were over looked or were being watched while sitting on it.

We didn't eat in either of the main restaurants as the menu's were fairly generic and we were looking for more typically Madeira cuisine, but the pool bar served a wonderful lunchtime Espada Sandwich.

The swimming pool and surrounding area was clean and spacious and right by the sea, but unfortunately there was not any access to the sea for swimming.

All the staff were friendly, efficient and spoke fluent English, which was very helpful considering my Portuguese extends to ordering coffee and beer!!!

I am hoping that our friends invite us back again as it is a place I would very much like to revisit.

Room Tip: If you have a room high up you can sleep with the window open and not need to use the ceiling fan too much.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klindars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel and also for posting your positive comments about us in this website.
Regarding the sea acces, the hotel has 2 entrances to the sea, probably you did not reach them properly.
Looking forward to welcoming you again amongst us, I remain with my best regards.
Rubina Campos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Very good and reliable with all the necessary support (when needed) from the site team. Very well maintained with a really good pool and adequate provision of sun beds. Although it would appear that some misguided and desperate souls still need to "sun bed block" on occasions.

Excellent supermarket across the road which is well priced with a very good choice and quality of groceries, alcohol, fruit etc and a few pleasant surprises.

A number of very good priced restaurants close with a short walk up a slightly steep hill (but it is downhill back!) nearby, but as the supermarket is so close adequate facilities to knock up a pasta with salad with a good wine or beer or water if necessary... (WC Fields).

Good walks along the coast, and for those requiring more the lavada's provide excellent views and to Funchal forty to sixty minutes depending on enthusiasm with again lots of good food and budget choices especially in the old town.
So is it worthwhile going back, yes and we do.
Ps: do not be put off by Madeira reputation as a holiday home for the infirm

Room Tip: As ever we all like a room overlooking the sea, but speak / mail the team and they will as helpful as they can be. Of course always try to avoid interconnecting rooms (sounds travel).
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Madeira Island.
We also thank you for your positive feedback and posts in this website.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel, I remain.
Best regards,
Rubina Campos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel is probably as close to the ocean as you can get in the Funchal area. The room, service, buffet breakfast, the facilities we used - everything met our expectations and made for an enjoyable stay. It seems each room in this hotel boasts an ocean view. A supermarket is right across the road and numerous more or less expensive restaurants offering local and international cuisine are within walking distance.
The hotel, as many reviewers have noted, is off the center of Funchal, but this is absolutely not a hurdle to exploring the city and suburban attractions given the city's well developed bus services.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viktor_Viktoriia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
First of all, I would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel and also for taking your time in posting your comments on this website.
Thank you very much for your positive feedback about us.
Looking forward to welcoming you again amongst us, I remain with my best regards.
Rubina Campos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews