We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Nice hotel”
Review of Pestana Palms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pestana Palms
Ranked #14 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2012

There is Big room, and Friendly staff
And good food in the beatyfyl restaurant Whit ocean view
There is posebillyty of See bathing
There is Quiet surrendenst and It is Place next to the see
The Beatutiful garden is quiet and Nice Whit place to sit
Whit see view
Free whirlpool, stram bathing and sauna

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heimdal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us, and also for sharing all these details regarding your stay. It is a real pleasure to receive such comments.
We hope to welcome you back in our hotel in a near future.
With our kindest regards,
Rubina Campos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (503)
There are newer reviews for Pestana Palms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 503 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

We are lodging now at the Pestana Palm Ocean. It is hasn´t got many guests at this time of the year. The round arquitecture is interesting and has beautiful views.. The room is ok but the bath is a bit old. The housekeeper is not the best, we could say. Today she didn´t seem to have enough time to clean our bath properly. People at the hotel are very nice though. Shuttle from airport means you pay 30 € and they make a reservation for your taxi.
Some friends told us that they sometimes upgraded guests if they had enough rooms but this was not our case at all. We are still staying here three days longer. We will write again about it at the end of our visit to tell you about the rest.

Room Tip: Rooms over fifth floor.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lewis g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, as well as for taking the time in posting some comments on your last stay in our Hotel.
Please note that all comments have been forwarded to the respective departments. Rest assured that we will do our utmost to improve the quality of our services, so that similar situations may be avoided in the future.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Rubina Campos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Having travelled to Madeira to be at the bedside of a family member who had taken ill during a holiday on the island,we were fortunate enough to stay at the Pestana Palms where all the staff treated us with the utmost care and consideration. The reception and resort staff couldn't do enough to help us and in particular Bruno the barman was even kind enough to offer to visit the hospital, should we have to leave the island ahead of our relative.
Bruno, (already renowned for his delicious caipirinha cocktails), always greeted us with a warm welcome after our hospital visits and his friendly manner reassured us that Madeira is a lovely and caring place to spend time. It's obvious that Bruno loves his work (just take a look at the apple carving he presented us with) and he really is a great asset to the resort - it's quite unusual but an absolute pleasure to come across someone who enjoys their work so much!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MurielS431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the great compliments adressed to our Hotel and staff. We are always committed to exceed your guests' expectations, providing Memorable Moments.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the Pestana Palms in a near future.
Kind regards,
Rubina Campos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent a week here in late October, using the hotel mainly as a base for island exploring.
Staff were generally friendly and helpful and all spoke English.
Rooms were fairly well equipped to do basic cooking for all meals.
Water pressure and temperature were well above average in the showers.
Balcony views were great.
The bar was a bit pricey, but they made every drink I asked for very well.
We didn't eat at the restaurant so I can't comment on the food here.
The pool was easily accessed with lots of chairs and a poolside bar.
Good restaurants were within walking distance (especially liked L'Osteria!).
Free parking on site was a bonus.
There are no self laundry amenities on site but they have an efficient and reasonably priced laundry service which we did use.
There's a grocery store right across the street which was very convenient.
All in all I think I would stay here again.

Room Tip: All the rooms have an ocean view, but the higher the better.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Pestana Palms for your accomodation.
We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at our Hotel. It is always good to receive positive feedback.
Looking forward to welcome you back in a near future, I remain.
Kind Regards,
Rubina Campos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel was amazing - we couldn't fault it. It sits on the shore line, and every hotel room has a sea view, is spacious, and has a mini kitchen for making drinks, a fridge, and two hobs if you want to heat anything.. The staff were very friendly, efficient, helpful, and everywhere was clean and fresh. There was a full breakfast every day which was delicious - so much choice! There was a private carpark with remote controlled gates for hire cars, and it was just a short walk to the main road to catch a bus into Funchal. The only downside was that if you were driving, at the top of the road the visibility to the left was always obscured by parked double-decker tourist buses. Once you had negotiated that hurdle, you had to turn right and head towards Funchal even if you wanted to go in the opposite direction, and then find somewhere to turn round. But the situation meant that there was no noise at night, even though there were restaurants and a supermarket on the other side of the road.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea - fantastic!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mafiamumma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Pestana Palms, as well as for taking the time in posting some comments about your last stay in our Hotel.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in our Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Rubina Campos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Entering the hotel area is lovely and if you are lucky to have your room at the seaside and lucky enough to have decent neighbours, have a nice vacation.
Other vice the hotel is standing maybe on the best place of Funchal.
Bathrooms facilities are from the past days
Pool bar have excellent service but poor and quite expensve food..
Averige age is at seventies.

Room Tip: Absolutely seafront
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PepiFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Guest,
Firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing Pestana Palms for your last accomodation on the beautiful Madeira Island.
With regards to the comments adressed to our bar service, please rest assure that all of them will be taken in consideration in future decisions.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in our Hotel.
Kind regards,
Rubina Campos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We love this hotel. The staff are always friendly and efficient and a lot of our friends visit at the same time. Unfortunately, compared to other Pestana resorts, it's starting to look a little tired. I appreciate that there are only another 10 years on the lease in the main block and it looks like they would like to start the rebuilding earlier than that but owners have paid for 30 years and they should be able to expect that refurbishment to the required standard (ie, 4 star) will be maintained for that time. The cleaning staff are fantastic and everything is always immaculately clean. The bar staff can't do enough and Bruno's caipirinhas are now legendary! This will always be our favourite hotel but it compares unfavourably now with the standard of, say, the Pestana Promenade.

Room Tip: The rooms in the tower which face Funchal/the sea are great.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank discerningtraveller4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing the Pestana Palms.
We hope to welcome you back in our Hotel in a near future and the pleasure of showing your our improvements providing you “ Memorable Moments”.
Kind regards,
Rubina Campos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
2,933 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 88 in Funchal
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 88 in Funchal
2,318 reviews
0.2 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.2 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palms

Address: Rua Gorgulho 15-17, Funchal, Madeira 9000-107, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#14 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#15 Family Hotel in Funchal
#19 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $101 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Palms 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Palms is a 4-star hotel in Funchal, located along the coast of the Atlantic Ocean, with direct beach access. Built along the seafront, the Pestana Palms is located in Funchal's hotel zone, 20 minutes on foot from the city centre. Its splendid and original architecture combining modern and traditional styles ensure all of the hotel's rooms have incredible views of the sea. In the modern building, you will find the guest rooms and the restaurant. In the traditional building, an old Manor House surrounded by gardens, you will find the common areas. This hotel offers an outdoor swimming pool with views of Funchal's cliffs. Reserve some time for your mind and body at the Health Club equipped with a jacuzzi and a massage room. Take the opportunity to learn to dive at the hotel's Dive School and visit Madeira's Underwater Reserve. Madeira International Airport is located 23 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pestana Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing