We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something a bit different!”

Istanbul Restaurant
Reserve with
Istanbul Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 606 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Istanbul Restaurant is Madeira's only Turkish Restaurant. Our food is freshly cooked in front of you, with only the best of ingredients used to make your meal as tantalizing as possible. We import all of our lamb weekly. We also have the best options on the island for both Vegetarians and Vegans alike. With a wonderful mix of vegetables and special mix of herbs and spices we can cater to whatever suits your palette. We are located in the heart of Funchal and we love to create the authentic Turkish experience.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Something a bit different!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We went to the Istanbul restaurant on Thursday evening and had the 25 Euro menu. It was absolutely delicious and great value for money as it included drinks and dessert. The atmosphere was jolly and the staff fun and entertaining. We will definitely go back the next time we are in Madeira.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tillac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcio952, Manager at Istanbul Restaurant, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
thankyou for your great review on trip advisor we always apperciate hearing that our guests have enjoyed there dinner in the restaurant hope you come back when your both in Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    152
    16
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Definately worth a visit”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

It would be easy to miss this restaurant - we came on it in passing - head for the Prince Albert Pub and it's under the nearby Irish pub. That would be as shame as it deserves a visit. My wife is very partial to middle eastern/north african cuisine and really enjoyed it. I'm less partial but still had excellent food - cooked to order. The owner is a friendly Swiss lady (not British as a review claimed) and service was excellent, good value and we will be going again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcio952, Manager at Istanbul Restaurant, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about us as i appericate them all especially the good ones as we are a fairly new restaurant and hidden away everything helps to bring in new customers . Come in next time for our new special
hope to see u and your wife again in the near future
regards
faith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Try something a little different”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is a must every time we visit the island on a bi-annual basis. It is a relatively new venture but certainly deserves to succeed.
Introduced friends to it on last visit and they were bowled over.
Will certainly be back to savour the delights again in August

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank isrxjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcio952, Manager at Istanbul Restaurant, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
thank you for writing a resopnse on trip advisor we are always trying to please everyone that walks in our door . And as u said we opened this resaurant to do somthing different in madeira
for the locals and the tourist both who are special to us
faith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Must go place”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Decided to try this place based on the reviews on tripadvisor and I didn't regret it. Good food at affordable prices. Great atmosphere..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudio_jardim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“This Is NOT Turkish Food -- But It's Bad Food !!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Had dinner here hoping to find authentic Turkish food in Madeira. My partner is Turkish and I have been to Turkey several times. The only thing Turkish about this restaurant is the CD playing and the decor. It is run by a British couple. Their Turkish cook went back to Turkey, so the Brits prepare the "Turkish" food. The beef-based dishes start out as kofta mix and are fashioned into the Adana kebab on the grill or the "Kofta" when the kebab is cut into pieces. The Turkish pizza is more of the kebab mix, undercooked, baked on a thick crust with a thick coating of cheese on top. Something like you would expect at Pizza Hut and nothing like the Turkish variety. My kofta was so dry I couldn't eat it. The grill was almost cold and the meat barely smouldering on it. They turn the heat off the gyro machine until someone orders, then they turn it on long enough to heat up the meat, then back off again. This meat is not fresh--it appears dried out. The only patrons in this small restaurant while we were there were people off the cruise ship who ordered carry-out. This is a nice British couple, but I am afraid they haven't a clue about Turkish cuisine. Makes me wonder where all these stellar reviews on Trip Advisor came from???

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ThommmFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcio952, Manager at Istanbul Restaurant, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
I do applogize that you did not enjoy your experince in the istanbul restraunt as we do try to give every guest a great experince when they come in the door . As in reponse to your comment about the turkish food our chef who is not from turkey but was trained for over a year from our old turkish chef the wait staff are from england one and switzerland the other . we do say that this is our take on turkish food as in Maderia we do not have the avaiablity to many spcies as other places . plus as i am the manger as i am aware all our reviews are from genuine customers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Istanbul Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Istanbul Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing