We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Stay in Funchal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Ranked #17 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a brilliant holiday to Madeira staying at the Vidamar Resort Hotel in Funchal.

We were in a sea view room which was very large with chairs and a settee, a large bathroom with Bath, shower and a bidet and a really huge bed which was very comfortable.

All the staff we met were extremely polite and accommodating and nothing was a problem. We were on a half board arrangement and both the breakfast and dinner were excellent with plenty of choice for all tastes.

The hotel was in a good position for walking into the centre of Funchal ( although on your return you had to negotiate quite a steep hill) and if you went left outside the hotel it was a short walk to the Forum Madeira a modern shopping centre. Also within a hundred yards or so of the hotel you could get local buses such as 1, 2, 4 which took you into the centre single journey 1.90 euros or a day pass unlimited travel was 4.50 euros and well worth it. You could also get a HoHo bus in the same area and a very pleasant girl is at the stop to sell you a two day ticket for 12 euros again excellent value.

The effort the Madeirans have gone to for Christmas puts us to shame as they have brilliant lights even in the side streets, nativity scenes built up, Christmas kiosks and singers and dancers in all locations it really was excellent.

One other thing noted about Funchal and not most other places we have been to in Europe is that as well as the people being very friendly and polite motorists are also patient and courteous and actually stop for you at zebra crossings this really did make a welcome change.

We were so impressed with Funchal I'm sure we will be back and we will have no hesitation in going back to Vidamar Resort.

David and Helena from Durham

Room Tip: Sea view room with balcony on high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilsondm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,804)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,417 - 1,423 of 2,804 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2013

We had a fantastic experience in October 2013.Wonderful clean modern rooms,with a sea view.Only ate in the Mia Mia restaurant on one evening and it was the best meal we had in Maderia,the buffet breakfast was lovely,complements to the lovely lady who made gorgeous omelettes every morning. Great friendly staff! would def stay here again and would highly recommend for a winter hol.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolynandgarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

the cleaning in this hotel is actually an option and if you really check the rooms you will understand what I am trying to say.

The food is boring and average ,not what you will expect for a 5 star ,however the price is.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sibilvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Ok now you will have read the other reviews which i generally agree with, so I'll put what they have not. There is a great promenade which runs from just past the hotel all the way to Camara do lobos. Takes about 1 and 1/2 hours a bit indistinct but stick with it and follow the beach, you go through a rock tunnel and along the beach for a while and past the cement factory ( ok you can't have everything) and there you are, Camara do lobos. If you are hungry by then there's a great restaurant called Espada preta ( look to the right just as you come into the village).
Check out the happy hour deals in the hotel on certain days happy hour is from 1830 to 0100, i kid you not. The deal is 30pc off drinks all night. They do great cocktails for e6.5 ( minus 30pc in happy hour) or you sitl on the roadside and eat exhaust fumes at el silencio next door for e5.5. Guess what i did? Just past el silencio on the same side i did notice cocktails for e2.5 each but it was the last night so can't comment on the quality. Go to Monte either by cable car for Funchal centre or the bus, forget the toboggans, rip off for e10, they go at snails pace since they replaced the original cobbles with tarmac. The rest is in the other reviews. Enjoy.

Room Tip: As stated the higher the better, but all have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

An excellent hotel, accomodation is great we were on the 6th floor, which had a great outlook over the hotel outdoor pools and gardens. The dining experience is great, there is a breakfast buffet, which has everything you can think off, together with fresh made omlettes on request. The evening meals are a varied and themed. There were 3 other, a la carte restaurants available to guests, for which you get a 15 euro credit per person against you meal, we tried each and were not disappointed. We went to the "Piano Bar", most nights and found the drink reasonably priced, very few residents used this facility, the only thing I can think is they thought it was too expensive, as there are no price lists any where in the hotel rooms.

Room Tip: Make use of the "Dine around" facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Within a short travelling distance of Funchal Airport the hotel is centrally located in Funchal itself and within a 20 minute walk of the Old Town, the Vidamar Resort is a modern hotel immaculately laid out and presented. The reception area is immense and gives an immediate view of the Atlantic Ocean directly behind the building.
All staff were most polite, friendly and efficient. Characteristics that uphold the very high standards of the hotel. Our room on the ninth floor was spacious and comfortable. Despite the heavy storms we encountered during our week there the hotel functioned professionally at all times dealing with the external problems the storm caused.
Miquelina Costa Vieira, Mickey as we came to know her, in the restaurant was such a cheery face every morning and always provided a positive start to the day.
Would definitely return to this hotel.
As the island is extremely hilly, good walking out shoes are essential!
Mazlo

Room Tip: Rooms on floors 9 and 10 provide a fantastic view of the ocean and sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maz146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stay 2nd December 608

A very warm welcome with a smile that said pleased to see you. All the staff on reception were helpful during our stay and the friendliness of all the staff and their cheerful willingness in dealing with guests will be one of the best memories of our stay at the Vidamar. Dining room staff quickly recognised us and knew where we wanted to be seated. At breakfast our request for boiling water to make our coffee was remembered.. Pool staff were quick to arrive with mattresses and towels and our daily maid always with a smile.

The Vidamar is a new hotel, very modern in design and even with a map sometimes difficult to find ones way around. the lower floors. It is exceptionally well maintained and clean. With a bus stop almost outside the door it has easy access to Funchal - for the more active a walk of around 20 minutes.

Our room on floor 6 a sea facing superior was 30’x10’ aprox to include a large bathroom plus balcony and was stylishly furnished with huge king size bed and large sitting area with settee and easy chair, a small dressing table surprisingly with no mirror and a drawer unit housing the fridge. Our daily cleaner made the place shine

Plenty of power points for mobile charging etc but a design fault in that the only place you could boil the kettle was on the floor. The fridge cost 6 Euros to open but then gave you the contents, a kitkat, nuts and 6 drinks -a bargain. It was supposed to be refreshed daily but for some reason it wasn’t. The TV has around 40 channels but only BBC World Service of the main UK channels. The lighting gave a relaxing air at night but was totally inadequate for reading. Free WiFi is available in the room with a download speed around 1.6M . Newspapers can be ordered at Reception and are delivered to your room at 8.15am. These are a full electronic version as the UK papers do not arrive until after lunch.

Dining Experience

All meals are served buffet style. At breakfast a varied buffet of cold meats, cheeses etc and plenty of choice including cava The hot breakfast looked good but unfortunately wasn’t hot despite the steam arising from the containers and was only tried once. Don’t forget the specially cooked omelettes - delicious .

A buffet dinner is provided with a different theme each night (Madeiran, Italian, Portuguese International ,Brazilian , Mar (sea) buffet and Tropical), We arrived on time to ensure our hot food was hot. A lovely cold buffet for starters and main. We searched in vain for king prawns, fresh salmon, an individually cooked steak or perhaps a sea bass, food we would expect in a good 4 and 5 star hotel, though in fairness through the week they did appear in bite sized portions. What we did find was less expensive food well presented, perfectly cooked and over the week a myriad of different tastes, a lot of fish and little meat, but we were well satisfied with both the quality and the quantity. A reasonably priced wine list with a very nice house white at Euro12 , but water at Euros4.50 for 1 litre a rip off and certainly puts the price of petrol into perspective. Smaller bottles were even more expensive pro rata’

We ate out under the dine around scheme only at Mama Mias once as we were happy with the hotel meals, and enjoyed the ambiance and service but thought the additional expense over the Euro15 per head allowance not worth the extra even with water at Euro 2.60 a litre!! Maybe we caught them on a bad night.

With hind sight we realized how healthily we had been fed. No chips with every thing, no greasy food, no cream and no ice cream and despite eating too much no weight gain!

The hotel has all the facilities of a good holiday hotel but does not seem to play to them. Maybe it was too off season. There is only one bar and this doesn’t open until 18.00 hours! Musical entertainment is available from 21.00 but was quite low key and attracted few guests. The drinks were reasonably priced especially as happy hour with a 30% discount lasted all night.

Would we stay again. Yes, the quiet laid back style suited us and as mentioned above we cannot praise the staff enough.

Room Tip: Most rooms have sea view but the higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolyn2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,007 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
931 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.5 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#32 of 88 in Funchal
2,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira

Address: Estrada Monumental 175-177, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal (Formerly CS Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea SPA)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#4 Business Hotel in Funchal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#14 Family Hotel in Funchal
#14 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#17 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $182 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA has a privileged ocean front position with direct access to the Atlantic. It is located on the main touristic area of "Lido", at walking distance from shopping centres, bars, bus stops, supermarkets and tourist attractions. The Madeira International Airport is only at 18 km. Designed in a modern architectural style, the Hotel offers 300 quite spacious rooms (39m2), all sea facing and with private balconies overlooking the gardens and the Atlantic Ocean. Rooms are equipped with individual air-conditioned/heated system, cable TV, sitting area and desk, tea and coffee making facilities, free safe, fridge and Wi-Fi. The room service is available around the clock. VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA offers a wide variety of restaurants. Here you can discover the DINE AROUND concept featuring open air, sea view and sunset dining options. From romantic dinners to family fun restaurants, Dine Around privileges a special dining scheme that allows VIDAMAR guests to sample around various cuisines throughout the Resort: the international Ocean Buffet Restaurant, the Italian Mamma Mia, the Madeiran Casa das Espetadas and the Japanese KOI Sushi Bar. The Sea Platform, the biggest on the Island, offers infinity salted water swimming pools as well as private and direct access to the Ocean, restaurant, bar, multi-activity court and Aquatica Kids World. For those who look for a sport experience, the VIDA Health Club offers several group classes and cardio fitness equipment, floodlight tennis court, squash court, tennis table, as well as an Aqua Area with indoor heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. All facilities are free to our guests. The seaside MAR Thalasso SPA guarantees sensory journeys or, at least, relaxing experiences assured by the animated Talassotherapy swimming pool, the 14 treatment rooms (one exterior) and the magnificent views to the Ocean from all spa areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Splitty, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort And Sea Spa
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea Spa Hotel Funchal
Cs Madeira Atlantic Hotel Sea
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing