We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Madeira Dream” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Ranked #19 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Steeple Bumpstead, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Madeira Dream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We spent our honeymoon here in early July. Had a wonderful ocean-view room which had been sprinkled with rose petals along with a chilled bottle of bubbly and chocolate coated strawberries! The room was very clean with a smart bathroom (shower/bath, bidet, double wash-sinks). The staff were very attentive,smiling and helpful. Special mention to Simone Aguiar whose cheerful, friendly welcome at breakfast gave a personal touch to our stay. Simone and Tatiana arranged a couple of excursions for us. They clearly love their jobs as nothing was too much trouble for them to organise. The hotel has 5 restaurants serving various foods from tapas to sushi. Everything about the resort was very well organised and very clean. We enjoyed cocktails in the velvet piano bar and indulged in massages, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. The poolside was well supplied with fresh clean towels and sun-loungers. You can swim in the infinity pool or dive into the ocean from a jetty and sunbathe on a floating platform - heaven! Other facillities included scuba-diving, tennis, ping pong, and a teenagers room full of games consoles. The location of the hotel was a perfect base to explore Funchal and the nearby fishing village of Camara de Lobos. The cable-car ride up to the tropical gardens of Monte palace was magical along with the organised trip to Pico Ruivo, though our calf muscles are still a bit stiff from the 1862 metre high mountain trek. But it was well worth it! Thoroughly recommend this hotel and Madeira. Ed & Jo.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,452
    698
    140
    43
    18
See reviews for
424
1,468
50
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (743)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a very large hotel and during our stay large communal areas were very qiute.The reception staff were very,very friendly and knowledgable.We had hired a car and Clara was very helpful in assisting with providing us with route guidance etc.Access to the pool was very complicated due to various levels and the sheer size of the the complex-some additional signage would help.We were on half board for 5 nights.The best restaurant was the Koi Sushi were the staff were very accommodating with ensured that vegetarian options were offered.We chose to dine there twice and would definately reccommend it.Lovely setting,food and service.
The service at the Tapa Restaurant was awful.The staff there appeared to have no control on service.Food wasnt that good either.
Mama Mia was a nice restaurant but we found the key staff very unhelpful.On our first night we had booked a table and on arrival as there were other spare tables we asked for a change,but they were not interested.Mama Mia is on the main road and gets diners walking in and can only assume they were not interested in us as we were from the hotel on a half board and thus they would get a nominal payment from the hotel.

The reception staff Clara,Gilda,Rafaela,Carla and Harisa are all to be commended for their pleasant way of service and attitude.Mama Mia and the Tapa's restaurant could learn a lot from these ladies.

Room Tip: We had an Ocean view room which was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VinT999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We normally prefer self-catering or small hotels as we like the personal touch but we had an excellent week at the Vidamar.

Despite a 4-hour delay in our arrival, there was no problem at check-in and they even phoned the Ocean Restaurant to ensure that we could eat at the buffet later than its normal 9.30pm closing time. Although the staff were kept on, they were still friendly and welcoming.

The free upgrade to the superior sea view room was part of the deal and the room itself was large and fully equiped with enormous bed, tv, safe, settee and chair; the bathroom (too much mirror wall perhaps) had big bath with shower and separate spray attachment plus his and hers basins. A little strangely, you have to pay €6 for the fridge cabinet to be unlocked but even then you get kit-kat, nuts and a variety of 4 drinks - worth more than you pay out! - although we only wanted it keep cold milk in for the teas.

View from our large, 8th floor, balcony was straight over the gardens, pools and the ocean. Interestingly roofs of buildings below were turfed and even had olive trees and shrubs planted into them. FREE wifi - other hotels please note - sometimes needed a little patience on higher floors but stayed connected well. Aircon effective with good "low" setting to run overnight.

Buffet breakfasts had everything from porridge to freshly fried eggs or omelettes, even sausages were tasty, especially with HP sauce! Juices, fruits, meats, yoghurts, croissants abounded.

"Dine Around" concept using the 5 separate restaurants was really good and made us feel as if we were dining out each night. Advice - book early for specific restaurants as it appeared that limits on numbers placed on half board guests for each night. Some of the half board set meals were better than others but you can always go a la carte and get €15 pp off the bill -a nice touch.

Didn't try sushi place but fish, italian and flamenco restaurants all good, with standard bar tariff. House wines very quaffable at just €12 for a bottle. Large beer about €5. Pool prices seemed tha same even with delivery.

Pool area with its two large seawater pools has ample beds despite size of hotel. Towels are handed out and collected up on arrival or when vacated and little sign of early reservations. Access to sea swimming easy with "island" to swim out to for relaxing, diving, sun worship. Will at the Scuba Diving centre was very friendly and does a free beginners lesson in the pool if you want to try it out with further sessions in the sea starting at €60 or whole accreditation courses.

Weather was too good to use the indoor pool or Therapy rooms but these looked well equiped and spacious too.

Location was a long walk or short bus/taxi ride to city centre but you could stay here and never leave the immediate area. "Resort" makes it sound like one of those remote camps which this certainly isn't - it's a hotel spread over various parts and into the local area of amenities and bars, with Reids Palace just down the road.

All of this may be expected at a 5* hotel but what you often don' t get is the happy smiling faces which greet you everywhere at VidaMar - these come from proper training and guidance and this seems to be a theme of the hotel. Everyone was only too happy to do anything for you without problem.

Loved it!!

Room Tip: Tower 1 may be better as it's away from the noise of the kids' pool. Superior rooms and high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GraeB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Fantastic architecture, amazing vue to the ocean.
The service at the pool restaurant needs big improvement, so you don't really feel that you are in a luxury hotel.
The stairs directly to the sea allows an unfforgetable sea swim...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brandaoalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubllin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Madeira is often perceived as a holiday for older people. We decided to visit it this year because our summer started when our 6 y.o son finished his first year in school in July. With a heat wave bringing averages to 38C-40C across Europe we thought Madeira with its averages of 24C-26C in July would be just nice. Vidamar was chosen for the sea water swimming pools and the kids club, but we have not expected it to be such a great place - I feel the hotel is a bit underrated and it's own website doesn't do it much justice. As mentioned before in the reviews - the breakfast is great, but should we have known that the HB option includes Mamma Mia - hotel's own restaurant which we loved and had a lot of meals in, I would have definitely gone for half board. Make sure you book Mamma Mia in advance - a lot of people shared in our opinion and we couldn't get a booking a couple of nights.
We did not know that the hotel's kids club was 10 am to 6 pm (happy days!) and had 3 very professional animators working with kids, our son loved it. They have a load of games, both board and sports games, even a bouncy castle... Two shallow swimming pools just for the little ones with loungers right near them so that the parents can relax and keep an eye on the kids at the same time made it for me personally. Pretty much everything is free- wii games in the teen club, play station, pool, table football, mini golf, squash and even lawn tennis...
The staff is amazing and extremely helpful. Before we arrived I phoned to make sure the booking was in order - booked through agora.com and got a great deal - Rafaela, the manager I got to talk to was an absolute star, she really looked after us from the beginning and all through our stay. In fairness all the staff in Vidamar are exceptionally obliging and are so friendly with kids. We got looked after like royalties and I am certain we will be coming back for fantastic food, spectacular views over the ocean and a relaxing holiday in Madeira with our kiddo.
P.s do try their (smoked?) salmon at breakfast bar - to die for!

Room Tip: All rooms are facing the ocean and we did not have to switch the air conditioner once - just open th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IFarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Booked a week over New Year to see the fireworks in Funchal . Stayed at this Hotel for the week spanning New Year. The New Year celebration at the hotel offered was pricy, and obviously pushed heavily but of course had stiff competition from the big Fireworks in the harbour (the largest in the world!). The hotel itself was wonderful, the gardens overlooking the sea a nice stroll after breakfast (with bananas tasting like they used to), service excellent, not too fussy and very friendly and helpful.
The bedrooms (we had two adjoining family rooms) were superb, very comfortable and gave a great nights sleep. The spa facilities and pools, indoor and out were excellent. The only slight drawback is the distance to Funchal itself.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tikitaka_pfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Got booked here without knowing anything (work dixit). The hotel is fairly new.

The rooms are great, all ocean view. Clean , spacious and modern.
Breakfast area is huge, had breakfast out in the terrace a couple of times, very good.
The pools are nice and spacious with all the amenities, including a bar.
Personally loved the direct access to the ocean, something that is not always available in Madeira, you can just go to the peer and jump!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuigiLx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,519 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
0.3 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#8 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
0.8 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#11 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira

Property: VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Address: Estrada Monumental 175-177, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal (Formerly CS Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea SPA)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Funchal
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#14 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#14 Family Hotel in Funchal
#19 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA has a privileged ocean front position with direct access to the Atlantic. It is located on the main touristic area of "Lido", at walking distance from shopping centres, bars, bus stops, supermarkets and tourist attractions. The Madeira International Airport is only at 18 km. Designed in a modern architectural style, the Hotel offers 300 quite spacious rooms (39m2), all sea facing and with private balconies overlooking the gardens and the Atlantic Ocean. Rooms are equipped with individual air-conditioned/heated system, cable TV, sitting area and desk, tea and coffee making facilities, free safe, fridge and Wi-Fi. The room service is available around the clock. VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA offers a wide variety of restaurants. Here you can discover the DINE AROUND concept featuring open air, sea view and sunset dining options. From romantic dinners to family fun restaurants, Dine Around privileges a special dining scheme that allows VIDAMAR guests to sample around various cuisines throughout the Resort: the international Ocean Buffet Restaurant, the Italian Mamma Mia, the Madeiran Casa das Espetadas and the Japanese KOI Sushi Bar. The Sea Platform, the biggest on the Island, offers infinity salted water swimming pools as well as private and direct access to the Ocean, restaurant, bar, multi-activity court and Aquatica Kids World. For those who look for a sport experience, the VIDA Health Club offers several group classes and cardio fitness equipment, floodlight tennis court, squash court, tennis table, as well as an Aqua Area with indoor heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. All facilities are free to our guests. The seaside MAR Thalasso SPA guarantees sensory journeys or, at least, relaxing experiences assured by the animated Talassotherapy swimming pool, the 14 treatment rooms (one exterior) and the magnificent views to the Ocean from all spa areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea Spa Hotel Funchal
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort And Sea Spa
Cs Madeira Atlantic Hotel Sea
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing