We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“top class hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Ranked #18 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
southampton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“top class hotel”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 5 days in March and were very pleased with it. It is within walking distance to funchal. We upgraded to a higher floor with wi fi and the view was fantastic well worth the upgrade. The weather wasnt fantastic when we were here so we never got to use the outside pools. The spa was great.i would certainly come here again.

Room Tip: Thebhigherbthe floor the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikki n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,576
    745
    146
    43
    19
See reviews for
446
1,604
51
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (828)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
andorra
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Very nice modern hotel with all services you can imagine, helpfull staff although too much information at check-in (swimming pools, gym, promotional coupons) (just wanted to relax) ocean view upgrade promotion (i guess since the hotel was half empty helped alot :)

Room Tip: ocean view 7th floor up (higher the better)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcus m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for a week over Easter and after reading others' reviews before we came, we had high expectations of the hotel and we were far from disappointed. Unfortunately, due to my own stupidity, on the first day of our holiday I suffered bad sunburn with swelling which we originally thought would ruin our holiday overall as it meant we had to spend a lot of time inside the hotel, but, it by far did not ruin our holiday, which we put down to the hotel being so comfortable and enjoyable with much to do (Poole Tables, swimming pools, spa, wifi, bars, etc). The hotel receptionist was brilliant with reassuring and advising me on my sunburn and was generally so kind and helpful, like all of the staff in the hotel. All service/staff were extremely friendly and could not do enough for us, they made us feel very welcome and special, even better than we would expect for a 5 star. The food is limited due to low season however, all food was delicious and excellent quality.
I booked this holiday as a spa break for me and my daughter, however, on arriving we realised no under 16s were allowed in the spa (my daughter turned 16 two days after we left), which was slightly disappointing due to most spas being 14 and over. The indoor pool is small however, we spent a lot of time in there as you can swim outside to a small outside pool area in the sun which was warmer than the beautiful infinity pools outside overlooking the sea (wonderful view/scenery). We ate in the Ocean Bar for lunch time snacks, which were very reasonable and again, excellent quality and range, looking over the pools and sea. The velvet piano bar, we used regularly where free wifi is also available, and a waiter also from the restaurant, Bruno was highly helpful, friendly, happy and also very welcoming, maintaining brilliant first class service. All of the staff in the restaurant for dinner were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you, especially Darius, Márcia and again, Bruno. We were slightly disappointed with no free wifi in the rooms, but the bedrooms were very modern, spacious and also comfortable. We had a double bed each and we slept so well due to the comfort of the beds. The cleanliness also of the room was very good and we couldn't fault this at all. On our last days, the indoor pool was unfortunately closed for maintenance, so we were given use of the spa facilities so were very happy. The spa staff were very welcoming and friendly and the facilities in themself we could not fault, with a lovely pool overlooking the sea/pools outside - beautiful! Overall, we would love to return to the hotel as we really could not find any faults and have had such a lovely (for me, slightly painful) stay and were very sad to leave. Thank you for such a wonderful stay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie7S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

A very clean, modern hotel with a great range of facilities - indoor pool, outdoor pools, gym, spa etc.

Our room on the 10th floor had a really impressive sea view - definitely worth the small supplement to upgrade.

Only downsides were that the place felt quite austere and clinical (a matter of taste really) and that food and drink offer wasn't amazing - in particular lacking a bar in the pool area to buy drinks, ice creams. Room service also pretty poor.

The big positives were the location overlooking the sea, and the outdoor sea water pools.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CNLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We spent a week mid-March at this quiet sea-front hotel walking distance to central Funchal. We found the reception friendly and helpful( Gilda) and the hotel modern, clean and well decorated with full ameneties.
The indoor heated pool is small but for an extra charge we had full use all day of the FANTASTIC Spa. This is free if you pay for one the excellent massages. This huge sea water spa is modestly underpublicised and we had it almost for our exclusive personal use.
Sunbathing was also possible on the vast expanses outside with full sea view and day restaurant.
The room was large, totally peaceful, clean with good beds overloking the ocean. The extra charge well worth it. All functionned correctly including the wifi. The breakfast was copious but the evening buffet variable.
So overall we had a relaxing week, close to the town which means we will come again

Room Tip: Pay the extra euro 10 for the larger sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mauritiusrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised. Or should I say we were not let down. The position is great. Fabulous views. Excellent facilities and a very helpful and friendly team. Would definately come back. The sea views are stunning. Swimming in the salt water pool looking over the edge directly over the sea has to be done. The gym is very eell equipped. There is also a fresh water pool and sauna and steam room or yoy can go for the whole spa experience in a completely seperate dedicated quiet facility for an extra charge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimPbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Was in a good location, pretty well everything within a half hr walk. The hop on hop off bus stop is just a short walk to the west of the hotel. Staff were all helpful, nice and polite, but none overly warm and friendly. Bed was comfy enough, but there is either one huge body pillow or one thin standard pillow, neither of which were comfortable for me. Nights were pretty quiet, so I had decent sleeps. Room was long and narrow, but good sized, and I like the balcony. Breakfast buffet was adequate, some mornings they had an omlette station set up on the terrace outside. For convenience, had the dinner buffet a couple of nights, and food was barely edible. The lounge was nice but on the quiet side, except for Saturday night, there was a piano player and singer.

Room Tip: I was in room 216, to the ocean side. Right under was the gym, and they had afternoon aerobics clas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walkabout101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
2,709 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
1,952 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.3 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira

Property: VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Address: Estrada Monumental 175-177, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal (Formerly CS Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea SPA)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#4 Business Hotel in Funchal
#13 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#14 Family Hotel in Funchal
#18 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA has a privileged ocean front position with direct access to the Atlantic. It is located on the main touristic area of "Lido", at walking distance from shopping centres, bars, bus stops, supermarkets and tourist attractions. The Madeira International Airport is only at 18 km. Designed in a modern architectural style, the Hotel offers 300 quite spacious rooms (39m2), all sea facing and with private balconies overlooking the gardens and the Atlantic Ocean. Rooms are equipped with individual air-conditioned/heated system, cable TV, sitting area and desk, tea and coffee making facilities, free safe, fridge and Wi-Fi. The room service is available around the clock. VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA offers a wide variety of restaurants. Here you can discover the DINE AROUND concept featuring open air, sea view and sunset dining options. From romantic dinners to family fun restaurants, Dine Around privileges a special dining scheme that allows VIDAMAR guests to sample around various cuisines throughout the Resort: the international Ocean Buffet Restaurant, the Italian Mamma Mia, the Madeiran Casa das Espetadas and the Japanese KOI Sushi Bar. The Sea Platform, the biggest on the Island, offers infinity salted water swimming pools as well as private and direct access to the Ocean, restaurant, bar, multi-activity court and Aquatica Kids World. For those who look for a sport experience, the VIDA Health Club offers several group classes and cardio fitness equipment, floodlight tennis court, squash court, tennis table, as well as an Aqua Area with indoor heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. All facilities are free to our guests. The seaside MAR Thalasso SPA guarantees sensory journeys or, at least, relaxing experiences assured by the animated Talassotherapy swimming pool, the 14 treatment rooms (one exterior) and the magnificent views to the Ocean from all spa areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TravelUp, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea Spa Hotel Funchal
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort And Sea Spa
Cs Madeira Atlantic Hotel Sea
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing