We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facilities although felt a little over corporate.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Ranked #19 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great facilities although felt a little over corporate.”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We spent only one night here, orientating ourselves before travelling elsewhere in Madeira. The room was beautifully appointed and the bed very comfortable, although there was a slight mirror overload. Do I really need a full length mirror wall in the bathroom/toilet? The leisure facilities were excellent with 4 outdoor pools plus an indoor pool, plus the added benefit of direct access to the sea. Breakfast was slightly disappointing but in line with many such large volume hotels. However overall I really enjoyed my short stay and despite being in the main hotel district, on a very busy road, the room was very quiet and the view tranquil. I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snargater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,660
    797
    165
    44
    20
See reviews for
485
1,691
55
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (872)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The CS is a large property with a big feel on arriving and supported by welcoming staff at all levels of service.

Arriving in Maderia we opted for the upgraded meet and pick up at the Airport. Our driver was on hand with a good visible sign to met us and we were soon on our way. Please note a supplement of 20% is applied to weekend bookings.

Arriving at the hotel we were impressed how speedy the check in was and given our mid morning arrival to find our rooms available was impressive too. No hassle and a quck registration process we were escorted to our rooms on the tenth floor of tower two. Perhaps I should mention here that the hotel consists of two towers for accommodation purposes.

On arrival at our rooms we were indeed impressed by the size, cleanliness and of course the views over the Atlantic and outside pool aeras. Given the good instructions we were given by reception staff we set about having a good look around. As we arrived on a Saturday we very soon found the Irish Bar featuring Sky Sports and settled in for lunch and of course the match. The ladies however declined and headed off to look at the Hotel's Spa facilites.

We had opted for a bed and breakfast package and to be honest the full style buffet brekfast catered for everyone's needs. Well presented, good choice and excellent value. The hotels Mama Mia restaurant is also well worthy of a visist or certailnly if in the Pool area then the Ocean Restauarnt offers great service and a range of snacks, drinks and meals.

Overall good staff, well trained and customer focussed.

Room Tip: Top floors offer the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhickerSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England
Level 6 Contributor
701 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,181 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed for 5 nights at the CS hotel, attending the 15th Madeira Bridge Festival. The hotel is in two separate blocks, each with its own pair of lifts. The view from every bedroom is excellent, overlooking the sparkling Atlantic ocean. Each room has an adequate balcony too. The beds are comfortable with plenty of good pillows. The bathroom and fittings are modern and of good quality.

The breakfast covers all the bases with a big selection of fruits, juices, cereals, bakery, and the usual cooked fare: eggs, mushrooms, bacon, potatoes, etc... everything you could wish for. You are very speedily presented with a large jug of coffee. If you like chilled sparkling wine with your breakfast, that is available free of charge too.

We always ate lunch and dinner at the wonderful Madeiran restaurants, in Funchal and across the island. The final prize-giving dinner was held in this hotel and was well done, with an accomplished band playing music for dancing. The bar has a good outdoor area (mainly for smokers) and it was fine to sit out there, even at 3am in November.

There is an additional lift to take you down to sea-level. There are two infinity pools there, also smaller pools and a step ladder in the Atlantic. I surprised myself by trying the sea and found it excellent, even in November, a translucent deep blue in colour and around 22 degrees. There are plenty of loungers to benefit from the sun and towels are provided. The previous week the weather had been rougher, I heard, and a lady who had ventured into the Atlantic (together with a hotel lifeguard who had tried to assist her in returning to land) were rescued from the difficult water by a lifeboat from Funchal. So, best to obey the notices and look at the sea condition.

Walking around the hotel, you benefit from the vast windows, exposing the sky and the ocean. It is a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BroLucius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is in a fantastic location with wonderful views. The rooms are spacious and well equipped with good size balconies. Breakfast suffered because there seemed to be no control or management of the service staff so they ran out of the basics like butter and you had to chase down someone to serve you coffee but this was the only issue with what is a great hotel.

Lots of good restaurants around from fish, steak on a stone, Italian, etc more or less on your doorstep plus there are a couple of good pubs and bars close by.

The spa was great, plenty of swimming pools and good sea access.

Room Tip: Go high, 6th floor or above. Also if you are lower you get a lot of noise if there is a function or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeartyEaterUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed at the CS Atlantic in Madeira 21-28 October. It was amazing. Fabulous views, excellent faciiities and wonderful staff. We were only B&B and the breakfast was a full of choice buffet. I enjoyed one lunch in the Ocean restaurant down by the pool but did not stay in any evening for dinner. There are wonderful restaurants around so there's no need to go full board - I strongly recommend the little Italian Pizzaria down a little alleyway 200m to the right of the hotel (towards Funchal) and the wonderful Salon da Ajuda about 500m to the left (towards Lido). The only fault I would have with the hotel is the access to wifi. It is free in the lobby, but very expensive everywhere else. I used to sunbathe near the Cliff Bay Hotel for the free wifi which met all my needs. Otherwise the CS Atlantic is a marvellous hotel and I will stay there again on my next visit.
Weather was wet and windy on days 2 and 3 so we hired a car to see the Island. Well worth the trips - and Europcar is outside the front door.

Room Tip: Great views from the Main 2 towers (the higher the better). Rooms on floors 9, 7, 5, 3 are non-smoki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinnymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Returned here after a long time, it was the Crowne Plaza last time we stayed. Hadn't noticed we'd booked a garden ocean view as I'd struggled to book flights. However on arrival at 11am, not only had the hotel got a room ready but we were upgraded to a 6th floor room. So good views and a sunny (occasionally) balcony.

The room was very comfortable, nothing lacking (sofa and chair to relax on) and good to have a kettle. Housekeeping was excellent, and on a day we didn't go far she abandoned doing the room to allow us time to sort ourselves out.

Breakfasts were OK, the "egg lady" was there when we first arrived, so was sadly missed when the rains came and thereafter. Coffee at breakfast was weak, unlike the excellent coffee everywhere on Madiera. We didn't eat in the hotel at night, other than Mamma Mia one evening which was good food and very good service and reasonably priced.

I found the reception staff very helpful, we needed to print our boarding passes for our online check in for TAP flights (to give us an extra 1/2 hour in bed!) and they went out of their way to help.

The free wifi in reception is great, but when its busy it can be slow. However we found standing on the balcony on 6th floor we could still get get the free wifi! Would have been nice to have full wifi in the rooms, wasn't outrageously expensive but enough to bear the inconvenience of using the free wifi.

Room Tip: As others the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank banstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed around 24 Sept for 7 nights and couldn't wait to leave. In comparison with other 5* hotels we've stayed in around the world, this one was by far the worst. I know we shouldn't compare it to the most wonderful hotel we stayed in last year in Cyprus, but we couldn't help comparing. Particularly bad in the Atlantic Resort is the variety of food with staff sometimes unhelpful. Bathroom towels pretty much threadbare, thin and horrid. The sun beds were a disgrace, grubby plastic beds with mattresses that were also grubby and insubstantial and not at all what you expect from 5-star. No poolside service either so if you want a coffee, you have to go to the poolside bar which also doesn't have a good variety of snacks. And don't even get me started on the actual trek you have to get down to the pool area through dodgy lifts and dark corridors, all very spooky & carries an air of neglect! You have been warned...if you like true 5 star hotels then this is not the place to go to, we were very sorry to have chosen it. We went via Thomson Holiday who were helpful and nice, but if I were Thomson's Chairman, I'd scrub this hotel off their list. Looks very good on website which attracted us, but the reality is very different, food lacklustre and same things served up most evenings - salads virtually the same, service also lacking. There's absolutely no atmosphere around the hotel which is more like a blank and dead conference centre, you can walk around for hours and not see anyone, the hotel bars empty day and night, the room not always hoovered, toiletries sub-standard, balcony furniture also sub-standard (and rusty), altogether a truly awful experience, put us completely off Madeira, we'll never go again.

Room Tip: Try another hotel but if you really must go here, then Tower 2 above the 6th floor, better ocean vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Lin-Gord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,887 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 86 in Funchal
2,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
1,907 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.2 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#7 of 86 in Funchal
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira

Property: VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Address: Estrada Monumental 175-177, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal (Formerly CS Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea SPA)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Funchal
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#14 Family Hotel in Funchal
#15 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#19 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA has a privileged ocean front position with direct access to the Atlantic. It is located on the main touristic area of "Lido", at walking distance from shopping centres, bars, bus stops, supermarkets and tourist attractions. The Madeira International Airport is only at 18 km. Designed in a modern architectural style, the Hotel offers 300 quite spacious rooms (39m2), all sea facing and with private balconies overlooking the gardens and the Atlantic Ocean. Rooms are equipped with individual air-conditioned/heated system, cable TV, sitting area and desk, tea and coffee making facilities, free safe, fridge and Wi-Fi. The room service is available around the clock. VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA offers a wide variety of restaurants. Here you can discover the DINE AROUND concept featuring open air, sea view and sunset dining options. From romantic dinners to family fun restaurants, Dine Around privileges a special dining scheme that allows VIDAMAR guests to sample around various cuisines throughout the Resort: the international Ocean Buffet Restaurant, the Italian Mamma Mia, the Madeiran Casa das Espetadas and the Japanese KOI Sushi Bar. The Sea Platform, the biggest on the Island, offers infinity salted water swimming pools as well as private and direct access to the Ocean, restaurant, bar, multi-activity court and Aquatica Kids World. For those who look for a sport experience, the VIDA Health Club offers several group classes and cardio fitness equipment, floodlight tennis court, squash court, tennis table, as well as an Aqua Area with indoor heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. All facilities are free to our guests. The seaside MAR Thalasso SPA guarantees sensory journeys or, at least, relaxing experiences assured by the animated Talassotherapy swimming pool, the 14 treatment rooms (one exterior) and the magnificent views to the Ocean from all spa areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort And Sea Spa
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea Spa Hotel Funchal
Cs Madeira Atlantic Hotel Sea
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing