We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star 'plant' but 3 star food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Ranked #18 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The hotel premises, pools, location and facilities are all what we expected of a five star hotel. However, the dining room food and ambience, both for breakfast and dinner, is unimaginative and definitely not five star. As a result, we ate elsewhere most evenings. By comparison, the adjacent restaurant 'Mama Mia' which is owned by the hotel, is excellent. If the hotel dining could be managed by the Mama Mia staff then everything could be five star as advertised.
This is a large hotel and very well maintained, with a few exceptions. Bedroom towels were old and frayed at the ends. One of the (only) two elevators was out of order for four consecutive days - in a 300 room hotel on eight floors. Fortunately the hotel was only half full.
We got the impression that the staff were operating under tight budgetary pressure - maybe because we heard that the hotel changed hands recently and hasn't yet built up to full occupancy.
The Spa is the best we have ever used and both spa and pool staff were outstanding

Room Tip: Almost all rooms have sea views so just get as high up as possible to enjoy the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wilkinsDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,778)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,593 - 1,599 of 2,778 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

PRO: Good location, spectacular ocean view, just 30 minutes from the Funchal's old center.

The hotel is very big, with two blocks with rooms and shared area (floors 1-4). At the beginning it can be a little bit dificult to get where you want to go (for some facilities you have to use only one of the elevators in the blocks), but after you get used there are no more problems.

Very big room, nice furniture, big bathroom with 3 walls made of mirrors. All rooms have ocean view and balcony. The double bed (king size bed) is huge.

Free parking, squash, tennis, table tennis and billiard - some need reservation.

The staff is very friendly and helpfull, they give you all the information you need. You can buy from reception bus pass or can rent a car.

In the area aroud hotel there are some expensive restaurants and several pubs. If you want cheaper restaurants, go to the center - 30 minutes walking or 5 EUR taxi one way or 1.9 EUR bus ticket one way.

There are 2 ouside pools (each with one small children pool), both with salt water. The indoor pool is quite small. There is also direct acces to the ocean, but you have to take care of the waves. you can have (extra) massage in a tent between pools, facing the ocean.

CON :At 10PM everything shuts down in hotel (bar music, billiard, etc). Each evening dinner has a different specific, but it costs 28 EUR / person. For the same money you can have dinner at a restaurant in center for 2.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors have better view and are quieter. For example, in this hotel stays TAP crews a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Neamtu2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a lovely hotel with loads of attention to detail. The whole complex is in top condition and spotlessly clean. It was very quiet when we stayed, and appeared a little soulless at times, but I guess that's the price you pay for a top quality hotel. The breakfast was very good indeed - extras that you normally need to request (soya milk and yoghurt, skimmed milk, porridge) were all provided as standard, as was just about every other breakfast food you can name. The pools are excellent, and towels are provided at both indoor and outdoor pools so no need to take your own unless you intend to go to the beach. Nothing compares to lying in the sun by the infinity pool, with all the comforts of a pool area but with the Atlantic crashing on the rocks only a few metres from your feet. Bliss! The restaurants on the complex (including the 'Irish' pub) looked a bit bland and uninviting, but we had opted for B&B and I would heartily recommend this as there is a good selection of reasonably priced restaurants and bars within 5 minutes walk.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Quality place, and the staff are excellent, very trustworthy and hardworking. A credit to their employers... Only stayed B n B because we like to explore but the breakfast buffet is excellent... A very stylish complex and a great place to be. The staff are wonderful... I left my wallet on a table in Velvet Piano Lounge one night and within a minute I had a call in my room to tell me....if that member of staff had not being doing his job that night, by not going over to clean the table etc and taking a note of my room number and using his initiative I would of been a very poor holidaymaker! The rooms are cleaned EVERY DAY, views great, Spa staff excellent, pool staff too... Never saw any member of staff doing nothing the whole time we were there.. If they weren't dealing with staff they were maintaining the place or trying to improve it! Would stay there again...

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JCookiex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just back from a week in the fab CS Madeira hotel, and cannot recommend this hotel enough, the staff were very friendly and helpful, breakfast was plentiful and included everything from bacon, pancakes, fresh fruit to meats and danish pastries. The pool area was large enough to accomodate all the beds and there was always plenty to choose from, 2 infinity pools were just pure bliss and the views from our room on the 5th floor amazing. We celebrated our first wedding anniversary while there and they left a bottle of champagne and chocolate cake in our room on the day. really nice touch. The bed were huge and very comfortable, the room was excellent in size with a double bed, desk and chair, couch and sofa chair with good size balcony wiht lovely views. The only negative thing i could say about this hotel is the price of drinks / ice -cream but it's typical of a 5 star resort, €2.20 for cornetto and €5 pint of beer while it's only €3 in the Irish bar (O'Briens) located on site. overall this would not stop me for returning, the location is excellent, the Lido area is only 5 mins walk, although beware there are a number of steep hills...don't pack the high heels ... i'll doubt you'll wear them. 2 resturants that i would recommend a visit while there are the Italian at the back of Porto Mar hotel in Lido, and Beef & Wines, both hotels are just a 5 min walk from the hotel. I will be back and would without a doubt stay again in this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the 5th Floor, reception is on the 4th floor. rooms above this have stunning vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SmileygirlIre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Have just returned from 7 days spent at the CS Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea SPA. On arrival staff could'nt have been more welcoming and helpful.Our room was on the 7th floor with a sea view room which was well worth the difference as the view was superb.Breakfast buffet were excellent with an amazing variety.Facilities really good,bars,gym and spa(Sadly did not get to try out) Lots of restaurants and bars around, with two bars to recommend O'Briens on the site of the CS Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea SPA and The Hole in One on the main road opposite the Hotel.Very convenient for Funchal either walking in or catching the bus on the main road.

Room Tip: Can recommend the Sea View rooms - High Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank s_jhorrocks666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Have just spent 7 days at this hotel and it was our fourth stay here. On arrival staff were very welcoming , As we were returning customers we had a large bowl of fresh fruit delivered to our room shortly after arrival. Our room on floor 3 with seaview was spacious and very comfortable. The facilities at this resort are excellent . Two very large infinity pools overlook the antlantic. The buffet breakfast is great. The restaraunts within have varied menus particularly Mamma Mias with great food at reasonablly good prices. Obriens Irish bar is a great place to drink and the bar staff are very friendly, Hotel is ideally located with some excellent although pricey restaraunts on the main Estrada . You will be spoilt for choice. This is an excellent Hotel very modern and comfortable . We will definately return here in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
2,972 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 88 in Funchal
2,359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
921 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira

Address: Estrada Monumental 175-177, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal (Formerly CS Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea SPA)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#4 Business Hotel in Funchal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#14 Family Hotel in Funchal
#15 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#18 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $191 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA has a privileged ocean front position with direct access to the Atlantic. It is located on the main touristic area of "Lido", at walking distance from shopping centres, bars, bus stops, supermarkets and tourist attractions. The Madeira International Airport is only at 18 km. Designed in a modern architectural style, the Hotel offers 300 quite spacious rooms (39m2), all sea facing and with private balconies overlooking the gardens and the Atlantic Ocean. Rooms are equipped with individual air-conditioned/heated system, cable TV, sitting area and desk, tea and coffee making facilities, free safe, fridge and Wi-Fi. The room service is available around the clock. VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA offers a wide variety of restaurants. Here you can discover the DINE AROUND concept featuring open air, sea view and sunset dining options. From romantic dinners to family fun restaurants, Dine Around privileges a special dining scheme that allows VIDAMAR guests to sample around various cuisines throughout the Resort: the international Ocean Buffet Restaurant, the Italian Mamma Mia, the Madeiran Casa das Espetadas and the Japanese KOI Sushi Bar. The Sea Platform, the biggest on the Island, offers infinity salted water swimming pools as well as private and direct access to the Ocean, restaurant, bar, multi-activity court and Aquatica Kids World. For those who look for a sport experience, the VIDA Health Club offers several group classes and cardio fitness equipment, floodlight tennis court, squash court, tennis table, as well as an Aqua Area with indoor heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. All facilities are free to our guests. The seaside MAR Thalasso SPA guarantees sensory journeys or, at least, relaxing experiences assured by the animated Talassotherapy swimming pool, the 14 treatment rooms (one exterior) and the magnificent views to the Ocean from all spa areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea Spa Hotel Funchal
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort And Sea Spa
Cs Madeira Atlantic Hotel Sea
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing