We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent if you want a fridge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Ranked #8 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Excellent if you want a fridge”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We like SC although the catering rarely extends beyond salad lunches so the fridge* is the only essential element of the provided kitchenette for us (a little bit of room for the salad and plenty for the cold drinks!).
There's plenty of praise in the other reviews for the Porto Mare complex so I won't repeat that. I'll just list 3 negatives (in case the 'Management' is listening in!).
1. The complex is well-located (in 'The Hotel' district) with some good restaurants nearby. Nevertheless other restaurants and activities are Downtown which is c2miles away. The hotel does run a free bus service 7 times a day but this ends at 5pm so no good for evening activities. Fortunately there are frequent public buses (#1, and #2) which serve until late, but what a pity this isn't provided by the hotel.
2. They seem to have changed their Sat TV service provider with the loss of (listed on the menu card) BBC1, BBC2, and ITV. Seeing as so many of the guests are British this seems to have been an unfortunate change? Anyway Drats!
3. WiFi is free in reception (good), but has to be paid for in rooms (bad).


*plus plates and cutlery.

Room Tip: We had a room with full sea view (but no view of the pools, gardens, etc) which we initially thought...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank rennatian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Eden Mar and for your stay with us.

Regarding the points raised by you, yes we have a courtesy bus that runs from 9am to 17pm. According to our records the last trip to Funchal is the one with less guests as the majority tends to stay in the hotel or nearby. That is the main reason why the last bus ends at 17pm.
Wi-fi is free in the lobbies but yes chargeable in the rooms and will continue like that for the near future.

About the TV channels, we regret to inform you that we did not change our satellite service provider but the service provider that we had from UK ( BBC for example) changed satellite provider, therefore we and other southern European countries stopped receiving the signal for those channels. We are looking for solutions.


Warm regards

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,028
    270
    30
    7
    3
See reviews for
232
919
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We chose the Eden Mar based on previous reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. The hotel is extremely friendly, the restaurants are first class with quality food at very fair prices and cleanliness throughout the hotel was to the highest standard. The SPA facilities were exceptional. No problem finding a sun lounger throughout the complex, the hotel has a rule that only their own towels are provided therefore negating the practice of reserving loungers with one's own towel. The only slight negative is that the room furnishings, although all in good condition, are a bit dated.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAROLL280354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent first stay at Eden Mar hotel and happy to learn that you had a positive holiday experience.

Soon we will be doing some refurbishment works in the hotels rooms and corridors. Hope to receive your feedback in a future visit to our property.


Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We spent 2 weeks in Suite Hotel Eden Mar during the May 2014 with my wife. Our junior suite was big enough for us and it was well equipped. The view from the balcony (a direct seaview) was very nice especially during the evenings. Especially good thing was that Pingo Doce (supermarket) was very close by and there were quite a good selection of food and other stuff. We did enjoy the visit to Suite Hotel Eden Mar and Madeira. It was a nice relaxing holiday.

Good points:
+ Clean
+ Relaxing atmosphere
+ Supermarket close by
+ Close to the "beach"
+ Heavy curtains, so room was almost completely dark
+ 2 breakfast restaurants
+ Bartender was a very friendly guy

Bad points:
- Not so friendly reception staff (professional, but not that friendly)
- The gym was pretty bad. Only a few old big machines, some cardio equipment, free weights from 4-22kg. No barbells, no cable machines, no place to do chinups. There is a gym in Lido Monumental, but it costs 15€ per visit or 27€ for week.
- Insulation wasn't that good. You can hear noises from the outside, from other rooms and from corridor. I had to use ear plugs a whole time, but my wife could sleep without them.
- The breakfast was quite ok, but the selection could have been a little better. The selection was made especially for English and German guests (bratwurst, baked beans etc.)
- Free WiFi only in lobby.
- Safe in the room was 10€/week

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Snoopy520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your thoughts shared with so many other travelers about your recent visit to our hotel
We have taken good note of your points positive and not so positive, and try to do better where we can.

Sincerely hope to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from our third visit to the Eden Mar Suite Hotel, and our fourth to a Porto Bay Hotel. Another fabulous week. The welcome from the reception staff was warm, friendly and efficient. The hotel and the rooms were beautifully clean, and all the staff at the Varanda bar and the Oceano bar provided a great, friendly service. We were worried about getting sun loungers by the pool in July if we needed them, because we usually visit in either April or October when it's a bit quieter, but we had no problem at all. The new policy about putting down a deposit for pool towels, and removing them if people have not returned to the sun loungers after one and a half hours, seems to be working. We only stayed for a week, and wish we could've stayed longer, but we will definitely return next year. The hotel is near the Lido part of Funchal, and there are some very good restaurants, so we didn't eat in the main hotel. We did try the IL Basilico restaurant, next to the hotel, and the food was good.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank LKB621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the “Another fabulous stay” review shared with so many other holiday makers and also manly thank you for your support by staying with us once again.

We would be pleased to welcome you whenever you decide to revisit us.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Just back from a lovely week in Funchal, stayed at Eden Mar. From the minute we checked in till the time we left we could not fault our stay. We were told on arrival (by a really nice, very pleasant receptionist) that our room wasn't quite ready so we wandered around the gardens which were beautiful. Everywhere appeared to be very clean and well kept. When we went to our room we had been left a bouquet of flowers, sparkling wine in a cooler and petals scattered across the table and in the bathroom which was such a nice touch. They had been told we were on our honeymoon and wanted the room to be special for us. Breakfast was taken on the outside terraced area which was buffet style and lots to choose from. Again staff very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Would very much recommend this accommodation, room cleaned every day - towels and bedding of a high quality and all staff went the extra mile to ensure a great holiday :-) x

Room Tip: We had sea view - floor 4 - wonderful view and sun late afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jakepeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Eden Mar hotel and happy to learn that you took a positive impression of our property and services provided during such an important moment of your lives.

We will be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to our Island,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

First visit to this complex but 5th holiday in Madeira. This hotel offered the best accomodation, even better as we were upgraded from a junior suite to a suite, with the biggest terrace we are ever likely to find. All areas of this 3hotel shared complex are lovely. Beautiful gardens which really add to the tranquil feel of the place. We like to venture out to different restaurants in the evenings so did not use the hotel restaurants but the bar areas are nice. First visit for our daughter, she was very happy and would travel there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LFrancisClevedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Eden Mar hotel and for sharing your comments about it.

Good to know that you had a positive holiday experience with us and that you daughter enjoyed the Madeira experience

We will be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to our Island,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Jut back from Eden Mar after our 6th visit. I don't know how majority of reviewers receive such good attention and perfect rooms with perfect views of the ocean as it has just not happened for us... We usually enjoy Eden Mar but just did not work for us this time. After paying substantially more for a Superior Suite we were disappointed when we discovered we were in the darkest, bleakest corner of the complex looking on to palm trees with a glimpse of the sea. No way sunlight/daylight was going into this room No. 1434. We returned to Reception to advise that we were not happy with the accommodation and that this was our 6th visit and we would have liked a better location/room. First of all staff said we had only been 5 times but I said we had already been sent 2 gold cards and this was our 6th visit. After lots of frustrating conversations about us not being on their computer another receptionist 'found' us on a manual record. Anyway they said to change rooms we had to downgrade as the hotel was full. This was 16th June - and we had to wait until 17th June. So changed on 17th June to a smaller but brighter suite room no. 1515 - and low and behold we were faced with all the palm trees with a view through them of other apartments. No compensation for downgrading was offered. Our holiday was spoiled from day one when the staff were just not interested if you were not pleased with their choice of room for you but noticed they were always helpful to guests who had lovely bright rooms with views of the Atlantic Ocean. I hope all reviews are truthful because mine are and I am sad to say that I wont be returning to Eden Mar as I dont want my holiday spoiled on day 1. Food at breakfast was also changed as I thought all meats and cheese were much poorer quality - lots of plastic type cheese and wafer thin 'meat'. Tables took ages to clear and water for tea was always lukewarm but hey everyone has different standards. Anyway don't know how guests get the best rooms/attention but maybe someone will let me know!! Enjoy your Hols if you are still there. By the way Funchal is still a lovely place. Back to the drawing board now.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Broons2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

First off all thank you for being our guest once again.
Secondly I must say that it is always sad to me and my team when we are not able to meet all the expectations and needs of our guests. It seems to be the case.

Among all the points you have mentioned, there were things that we could have done in a more appropriate way.
Other points, like the type of room booked and assigned, I have personally explained that the room you were looking for was a different room category that you had booked, but you just wanted and accepted to stay there.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you in another opportunity if you decide to do so.

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,764 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
0.5 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Hotel Eden Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Eden Mar

Property: Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Address: Rua Gorgulho 2 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Eden Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divided into studios, superior studios, junior suites and suites, this four star hotel's 146 spacious rooms have been redecorated with textiles in warm pastel colours, completely new furniture and LCD televisions. The kitchenettes have been completely renovated and are equipped with a stove, fridge and microwave oven. The Suite Hotel Eden Mar belongs to the Vila Porto Mare resort, and shares facilities which are also common to other outlets – Hotel Porto Mare and The Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suite Hotel Eden Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Hotel Funchal
Eden Mar Madeira
Suite Hotel Eden Mar Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing