We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the Class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Ranked #8 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Premier league this place with a spacious suite to die for ,superb breakfast and above all peace around the pool which a lot of places get wrong.No noisy music to distract like many places so we could read ,swim and enjoy the beautiful gardens .
Well done to the staff and Funchall was excellent all round.Great walk into the City and the whole experience was very pleasurable.Even provided dressing gowns.Thanks.

Room Tip: 1421 was lovely.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank geoffreybanwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for “Top of the Class” feedback regarding your recent holiday experience at Eden Mar hotel.

So happy to know that you took a positive impression of us and Funchal in general.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,398)
There are newer reviews for Suite Hotel Eden Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

520 - 526 of 1,398 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

Recently had a week at this hotel with my wife and two pre-school children. We had a suite which had plenty of room for all of us. We did not eat in the hotel in the evenings, we ate breakfast and lunch in the hotel. Standard of food and hotel was very good, staff were excellent as all the other reviews state. We used most other hotel services with no complaints.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank djgonewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Eden Mar hotel and for sharing your comments about it with so many other holiday makers.

It is rewarding to know that you had a positive holiday experience and we would be most pleased to welcome you again in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed for a week in a Superior Room and couldn't have been more satisfied.
Everything was first class and have never seen so many sunbeds in our lives!
The gardens are so well looked after as is all the 3 hotels in the complex.
All the staff were so pleasant and helpful nothing was too much trouble.
We had booked for 2 weeks last September but had to cancel because of illness so this was a tester week and so we will be coming back definitely for 2 weeks this September.
We had an extra night in Madeira as all flights in and out were cancelled because of the strong winds, but Thomson looked after us so well, took us to another hotel and we had dinner, breakfast and lunch with wine/beer and took us back to the airport for our flight home.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for feedback about your recent holiday experience at Eden Mar hotel.
We are happy just because you have enjoyed it.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from Madeira and the Eden Mar hotel. Normally we would never or rarely visit the same hotel or resort because the world is a big place with other resorts to explore but we have been to this hotel 6 times now (which we can't believe) and it never fails to deliver.

The customer service is excellent, the food is great and the hotel is spotless. It's in a great location and I find it relaxing and enjoyable to go there.

Cecilia on reception, Joel who makes the cocktails in the Portofino bar and Susana in the Spa all deserve special praise this visit. We had a wonderful time. Thank you.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
5  Thank lizzieWrexhamWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a nice review ” “Another fantastic holiday at the Eden Mar” shared with so many other travelers and also thank you for your support by staying with us once again.

Really happy to know that you took advantage of hotel facilities and services provided by our team and thank you for the public praise of some of them. I will be most pleased to share your thoughts with the ones mentioned.

We will always be most pleased to welcome you.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We have just returned from our first holiday in Madeira staying at the Eden Mar hotel. From the moment we walked in were treated so well. Our junior suite on 5th floor with a sea view was a wonderful surprise as there were red petals everywhere and a bottle of cava on ice (it was my birthday whilst we were there.) The rooms looked like they had just been refurbished. Lovely colour scheme. Wonderful big comfy bed. The only downside was the redevelopment of the Lido which did cause a bit of noise but to be honest we were so happy with our balcony and view this didn't bother us at all. We had beautiful weather all week so spent a lot if time on our balcony - a real sun trap all day. All the staff are lovely and so pleasant - always cheerful and willing to help. Nothing is too much trouble. Everywhere is spotlessly clean and it is in a great location. The gardens are beautiful and overlook the sea. Lots of lovely places to sit and take in the views. Lots of nice places to walk. We even liked most of the entertainment especially 'Black Dog' (I think that's the name!)

The other great thing is that guests can use the Porto Mar which is part of the same group and literally within the same grounds. We particularly enjoyed having our breakfast al fresco overlooking the pool. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice - cooked, freshly prepared fruit, croissants, waffles, pastries, omelettes to order and cava everyday if you could manage it!!
Some useful information ( in no particular order!):-
-Pool towels provided with a useful bag to carry them in.
-Spa that can be used by all guests - beautiful indoor pool that goes outside too with a jacuzzi. Beautiful setting. This pool was a bit warmer than the main pools which were a bit cool but very early in the season so understandable.
-Excellent supermarket under hotel - really reasonable. Amazingly cheap Portugese wine which we loved. Lovely fresh fish and meat cheaper than UK. We were B&B so it was convenient to use the supermarket and eat on our balcony for some of our meals.
-Good kitchen facilities - well equipped for cooking basic meals within the suites. Great fridge!
-Bus shuttle to Funchel hourly. If you miss it only €1.85 on excellent bus service.
-Cable car trip - a must (€15 each return)
-Nun's walk trip €10 each. Half day trip into the stunning mountains. Well worth it. Book with Happy Tours outside front of hotel - advised by receptionist that cheaper offers usually mean a Timeshare talk!
-Scat - an excellent, modern music and jazz restaurant. Food and service outstanding ( walk out of back of hotel, turn left along the sea front and about 10 minutes walk. Very contemporary - we loved it so much we went twice. Prices €10-€20 for food and €12 for a decent bottle of wine. Live pianist whilst you ate. Jazz group was on at the weekend - excellent and very popular with the locals it seemed.
-Cliff Bay Hotel - take a look - it's amazing and part of the same Porto Mar group. It's just a 5-10 minute walk going towards Funchal. Stunning view towards Funchal and Reid's Palace Hotel.
-The Med restaurant within the Porto Mar hotel is an excellent restaurant and well worth treating yourself. Lovely atmosphere, great food and great service.
-Restaurant under hotel called Shelter (along the roadside) did an excellent 3 course meal for €15.
-pizza restaurant and takeaway under hotel (also along roadside) good for a snack.
-Afternoon tea at Reid's Palace. Beautiful hotel and setting. Food lovely but I maybe watch too much Masterchef!! The pastries weren't quite as impressive as I thought they might have been for €33.50 pet person. They did give me a birthday cake though so that was really special. We had a great look round at this very impressive historical hotel. We would do afternoon tea somewhere different next time though - not really worth the money - €18 each for a glass of champagne - we didn't bother!!!
-Funchal is definitely worth at least one visit especially to the old town. Very quaint and interesting. Interesting to see the cruise ships.

We would definitely return to the Eden Mar and highly recommend it as it was recommended to us by a relative. Not too far outside Funchal - within walking distance (half hour ish). Very good transport service.

Thank you Eden Mar for making my birthday special - there was even another bottle of cava on my actual birthday brought to our room!!! Love Madeira and planning a return already!! The climate is absolutely perfect.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Alan196611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your first stay at Eden Mar hotel and really happy to learn that you have enjoyed it.
Also noticed the most comprehensive review about our hotel and about other places you have visited. Madeira is all about that, a small touristic destination with such a good variety of things to visit and…to enjoy.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you in your second visit to our island.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

What a lovely hotel, set in a wonderful gardens with sea views. Some of the rooms are a little tired but, they are in the process of redecorating some rooms. You have use of the 3 hotels on the site. All the staff are friendly and very happy.

The food was exceptional The Med Restaurant was so good, the Italian Restaurant again wonderful. We also used the buffet, where most people on half board go. This was just as good. Lots to choose from well cooked and well presented. It still felt special.

We did go to see the 5 star hotel in this group just down the road, and that was beautiful, very calm and quiet.

Would I go back yes, to any one of the hotels in this group. Madeira its self is a beautiful island the people are kind and happy, and we felt safe walking through the streets.

The old town in Funchal was lovely with lots to see and do. Although the town has some works going on after the floods a few years ago. It is still very easy to get around.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have a sea view, some full on some side view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sally444Derbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your support by staying with us and also for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor about your holiday experience at Porto Mare. We are really pleased to know that overall you took a positive impression of our hotels.

We really hope to welcome you for many times in the future in any of the Porto Bay hotels,

Warm regards,


Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Location is very good and quiet (only renovation in Lido makes noise),Room was ok.Staff was very pro and cleaning works.And the garden ++++. Parking ok. Breakfast was good. Thank you and see you again

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms in righthand side from the main door you dont have any view or sunshine.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Markku21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind review shared with so many other holiday makers of TripAdvisor.
Thank you for being at our hotel and happy that overall you had a positive stay.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you in a future visit,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.0 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 88 in Funchal
2,104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
2,933 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
906 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 88 in Funchal
2,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Hotel Eden Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Eden Mar

Address: Rua Gorgulho 2 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $125 - $1,272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Eden Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divided into studios, superior studios, junior suites and suites, this four star hotel's 146 spacious rooms have been redecorated with textiles in warm pastel colours, completely new furniture and LCD televisions. The kitchenettes have been completely renovated and are equipped with a stove, fridge and microwave oven. The Suite Hotel Eden Mar belongs to the Vila Porto Mare resort, and shares facilities which are also common to other outlets – Hotel Porto Mare and The Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Suite Hotel Eden Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Hotel Funchal
Eden Mar Madeira
Suite Hotel Eden Mar Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing