We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Nearby Hotels
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$145
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
$353
$315
Expedia.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$562
$521
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pestana Palms(Funchal)
$182
$125
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa(Funchal)
$157
$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$351
$341
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$317
$308
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,479)
Filter reviews
1,479 results
Traveler rating
1,138
298
30
9
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,138
298
30
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmed restaurantporto bay groupwhole complexprestige clubrose petalsbooked a junior suiteil basilicocourtesy busorchid gardenseparate bedroomsea viewsmall kitchenetteanother wonderful holidayhotel restaurantsbuffet restaurantkitchen areaself cater
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
608 - 613 of 1,479 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Just back from a week at the Eden Mar, had a great time, lovely hotel in well maintained grounds. First time visit to both hotel and Funchal. Staff look after hotel to a very high standard. Only gripe I had was that some of the staff serving breakfast could be more accommodating having tables ready and quicker to serve tea/coffee when you arrive. Small but made us avoid breakfast one morning.
Really enjoyed the option to choose the entertainment at night from the Porto Mare also, varied programme and really enjoyed it.
Totally deserving of the 4 star rating.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on the wing to the left of the pool at 5th or 6th floor, for afternoon sun.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your first visit to Madeira and our hotel in particular. Also thank you for the kind review posted on TripAdvisor.

So good to know that overall you had such a positive holiday experience with us. I have taken good note of the breakfast issue and try to improve it.

It will always be a pleasure to welcome whenever you decide to visit us,


Warm regards

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We haven't been to Eden Mar for two years and had forgotten just how good it is. This is one of the most comfortable hotels we have come across. wonderful service, from excellent and cheerful staff, an on going improvement and refurbishment programme, and attention to detail make this a terrific hotel for a holiday.
If you are looking for relaxation, in elegant surroundings, and the most beautiful gardens, then look no further.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mlloyd01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your support by staying with us once again and also for your feedback about your recent stay at Eden Mar hotel.
It is so rewarding to know that after some time without visiting us you took such a good impression of our hotel, facilities and services provided.

We will always be pleased to welcome you back and all wish you a great 2014,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This is still the hotel by which we judge others, and our second visit over Christmas and the New Year. We do not usually return to the same place or hotel, but such is the standard set by the staff and the hotel that we could not resist a return visit. Further re-visits are also highly likely. Being Prestige Club members (that is the hotel loyalty scheme) we would recommend this to others to benefit from a variety of discounts and offers. Such is the standard and welcome at this hotel that there is a high volume of returning customers, many of whom leave their comments on Tripadvisor. In addition, the hotel lays on an evening reception for Prestige Club members, and I was amazed at just how many people were there - all returning customers, many for 5, 10 or even more visits. This year we treated ourselves to almost 3 weeks (23rd Dec to 10th Jan), and were not disappointed. The Reception Staff are magnificent, and extremely helpful, Nothing is too much trouble. The restaurant staff are also exceedingly helpful, and give a warm and friendly welcome to all. We particularly like the Alfama Restaurant, where meals are served to the table, and the staff here are also exceptional. Even after just two visits we are treated like old friends.
The Christmas atmosphere and general ambience in Funchal over the Christmas and New Year period is also addictive. And when taken together with the warm climate, makes it very difficult to resist. There is currently a huge development project in and around the harbour and marina in Funchal, which will result in some astonishing improvements along the promenade, including terraced flower beds and an additional cruise liner dock. However, do not let the building site appearance put you off. We found it quite interesting to watch the workmen making progress.
So, do we recommend this hotel - most certainly. Will we return, without doubt.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view, particularly those facing the sea.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Eden Mar hotel and for review posted on TripAdvisor.
So good to know that you had such a positive holiday experience with us through X-mas and New Year.

It will always be a pleasure to welcome whenever you decide to visit us,

Have a great year,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Spent two weeks at the Eden Mar to see in the New Year and see the Christmas lights. We have stayed at the Eden Mar many times and, as usual, the surroundings, staff and restaurants were first class. This was our first 'winter holiday' and found the climate very good.
The Junior Suite we were provided with was in a perfect position and was always looked after by the staff.
Everywhere we went we met helpful, kind and caring staff who obviously love working there as this was shown in the way all guests, returning or new, were treated.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Eden Mar hotel and for your “New year in Madeira” review posted on TripAdvisor.
So good to know that you had such a positive holiday experience with us.

It will always be a pleasure to welcome whenever you decide to visit us,

Have a great year,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed at the Eden Mar for the first time for a week during Christmas. Having reviewed other guests comments on 'tripadvisor' we thought it looked fine for us but the overall experience exceeded our expectations, all the boxes were checked with a very bold tick. The suite we had was perfectly positioned, well equipped and furnished, the choice and quality of food was outstanding and the staff without exception were extremely helpful and friendly from the moment we arrived.
If there was one point I feel could be improved it's the smoking policy within the grounds. I am not exactly sure what the policy is but I think there should be specific smoking areas as we experienced some discomfort from guests smoking around us whilst sitting in the grounds and in our ground floor room - dedicated smoking areas would help.
All in all though 'a perfect week' thanks to the Eden Mar (and the weather). Having holidayed in various countries and cruise lines I can say the standard of service,quality of food and total experience was up there at the top.
I can't finish without saying how much we enjoyed the island itself - the people were so very friendly and helpful it puts to shame some other resort worldwide that have a much higher profile.
Carry on The Eden Mar and Madeira you are doing a great job.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you do much for your first stay at Eden Mar hotel and really happy to learn that you have enjoyed it. Also thank you for sharing with TripAdvisor the review with your thoughts about your holiday experience.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you in a future soonest visit

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado



. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews