We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New year in Madeira”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Ranked #6 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“New year in Madeira”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Spent two weeks at the Eden Mar to see in the New Year and see the Christmas lights. We have stayed at the Eden Mar many times and, as usual, the surroundings, staff and restaurants were first class. This was our first 'winter holiday' and found the climate very good.
The Junior Suite we were provided with was in a perfect position and was always looked after by the staff.
Everywhere we went we met helpful, kind and caring staff who obviously love working there as this was shown in the way all guests, returning or new, were treated.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Eden Mar hotel and for your “New year in Madeira” review posted on TripAdvisor.
So good to know that you had such a positive holiday experience with us.

It will always be a pleasure to welcome whenever you decide to visit us,

Have a great year,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,054
    270
    30
    7
    3
See reviews for
235
938
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed at the Eden Mar for the first time for a week during Christmas. Having reviewed other guests comments on 'tripadvisor' we thought it looked fine for us but the overall experience exceeded our expectations, all the boxes were checked with a very bold tick. The suite we had was perfectly positioned, well equipped and furnished, the choice and quality of food was outstanding and the staff without exception were extremely helpful and friendly from the moment we arrived.
If there was one point I feel could be improved it's the smoking policy within the grounds. I am not exactly sure what the policy is but I think there should be specific smoking areas as we experienced some discomfort from guests smoking around us whilst sitting in the grounds and in our ground floor room - dedicated smoking areas would help.
All in all though 'a perfect week' thanks to the Eden Mar (and the weather). Having holidayed in various countries and cruise lines I can say the standard of service,quality of food and total experience was up there at the top.
I can't finish without saying how much we enjoyed the island itself - the people were so very friendly and helpful it puts to shame some other resort worldwide that have a much higher profile.
Carry on The Eden Mar and Madeira you are doing a great job.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you do much for your first stay at Eden Mar hotel and really happy to learn that you have enjoyed it. Also thank you for sharing with TripAdvisor the review with your thoughts about your holiday experience.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you in a future soonest visit

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado



. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This was our 3rd visit to the Eden Mar (our 2nd over New Year) and once again we could not fault it. The welcome we got from the reception staff on our arrival was fantastic and the company/staff go out of their way to make returning guests feel really special. As a family with slightly older children we had booked 2 superior rooms and once again were not disappointed with the location, quality or views from the rooms. Our rooms were not quite ready as we arrived so we were given a voucher to get some drinks whilst we waited, which was a lovely and very welcome touch.

Having been before, we knew what was on offer for New Years Eve and booked into the Gala Buffet (included in our Thomson pacakge) which was absolutely brilliant. The hotel put on a fleet of buses to take guests high above the town to watch the world famous fireworks and provided 'bubbly' to toast the New Year.

We had booked on a B&B basis and took breakfast in the adjacent Porto Mare hotel each morning. The breakfast menu is excellent with a full choice of hot and cold buffet items. Breakfast can be taken in the Eden Mar but the choice is slightly more limited.

Everywhere is spotless and you have full use of the facilities at both the Eden Mar and Porto Mare hotels which include large gardens, plenty of sunbeds and 2 indoor pools.

There are benefits to being returning guests, for example 1/2 price WiFi in the rooms (only €12.50 for a whole week for up to 2 devices) and free use of the safe. There is free WiFi in public areas.

The centre of Funchal is about a 20 minute walk from the hotel and is full of very reasonably priced restaurants. There is a good bus service and a Taxi costs about €6.

We hope to return to the Eden Mar again next New Year but are so impressed with the Porto Bay group we have booked to stay at the Cliff Bay Hotel in the summer to celebrate our 20th Wedding Anniversary.

Thank you to all the staff for a lovely holiday and who made us feel so very welcome!!

Room Tip: We like the superior studios on a high floor overlooking the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqui C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

May I start to wishing you all a great 2014 and sincerely thank you for your review posted om TripAdvisor about your recent holiday experience at Eden Mar hotel.
What a pleasure to read that you had such a fantastic New Year commemoration with us.

It will always be a pleasure to welcome you in any of the Porto Bay hotels.

See you soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,



. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is our fourth Christmas Holiday at this fabulous hotel. The facilities are terrific we used the gym and indoor pool every morning, a fabulous way to start the day. The breakfast buffet caters for all tastes with fresh omelettes and pancakes cooked to order. There are plenty of sunbeds around the pool and fun facilities for young children.

We ate most nights in the Med Restaurant rather than the buffet as we found the food irresistable.
The wine list has been very carefully chosen by Paolo, the Manager and compliments the food perfectly. His efficient friendly and welcoming staff made our dining experience at the Med just perfect and one we will be repeating. Nothing was too much trouble and the Gala Meals on Christmas Eve and New Years Eve were faultless. Many thanks to all the staff who made our Christmas and new year holiday so enjoyable. Hope to see you all soon Sue and Colin Rhodes

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your support by staying with us so many times mainly during such a special period of the year..
Thank you also for your feedback about your recent stay and for let us know that you had another enjoyable holiday experience.
Also thank you for the comments about Med and team. I am sure they will be most pleased to read it.

We will always be pleased to welcome you back and all wish you a great 2014,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed at the Eden Mar the week before Christmas 2013 for the second time. We booked late but paid extra for a superior room with a sea view with Thomson - so I was disappointed with our 1st floor room which was in the shade and had only a glimpse of the sea. When I asked at Reception whether we could change our room, even though the hotel was busy, they could not have been more helpful and we were upgraded to a Junior Suite with a lovely sunny balcony and sea view. That experience sums up the Eden Mar - it is a lovely hotel in a great location with great staff who really seem to care about their customers and go the extra mile to ensure they enjoy their stay. It is that commitment to quality and service that will encourage us to return again next year.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors are generally quieter, have fabulous sea views and get more sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maxandted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

May I start to wish you a great 2014 and sincerely thank you for your “Lovely Hotel, Great Staff, Fantastic Service” review posted om TripAdvisor about your recent holiday experience at Eden Mar hotel.


We would be most pleased to see you around soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,



. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon and had an amazing time.
The hotel complex is a pleasure.. the pools (indoor and outdoor) are great.
The restaurants serve good food especially the breakfast.
The free coach service to Funchal was very convenient.
If we ever return to Madeira we will definitely stay at the Edar Mar.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KKH786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

So rewarding to know that somehow we had a positive contribute to such a special holidays. Thank you for sharing your thoughts about it with so many other holiday makers,
We sincerely wish you all the best and a great 2014,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado,



. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Cleverly designed hotel: every room has big windows and a wonderful seaview, framed by the lush gardens and pools. We very much enjoyed our large studio with a well-equipped kitchen, large bathroom and lovely terrace. We felt like heaven on earth, pampered with an elaborate breakfast on the magnificent poolside terrace, lots of daybeds to quietly relax in the gardens, lovely outdoor jacuzzi, extensive Christmas decoration and attention for details. We highly recommend this hotel complex!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annemie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Eden Mar hotel and for you “Heavenly!” review posted on TripAdvisor.
So good to know that you had such a positive holiday experience with us.

It will always be a pleasure to welcome whenever you decide to visit us,

Have a great year,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,857 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
2,040 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#8 of 86 in Funchal
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
1,886 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 86 in Funchal
2,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Hotel Eden Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Eden Mar

Property: Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Address: Rua Gorgulho 2 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#10 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Eden Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divided into studios, superior studios, junior suites and suites, this four star hotel's 146 spacious rooms have been redecorated with textiles in warm pastel colours, completely new furniture and LCD televisions. The kitchenettes have been completely renovated and are equipped with a stove, fridge and microwave oven. The Suite Hotel Eden Mar belongs to the Vila Porto Mare resort, and shares facilities which are also common to other outlets – Hotel Porto Mare and The Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Suite Hotel Eden Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Hotel Funchal
Eden Mar Madeira
Suite Hotel Eden Mar Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing