We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Short break Maderia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suite Hotel Eden Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Ranked #10 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Florence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Short break Maderia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Arrived in Maderia after leaving storm swept Britain! Check in at Hotel Eden Mar was a breeze and immediately we were made to feel welcome. We loved the informal atmosphere of the complex, the use of all facilities and the beautiful gardens. What a delight to see orchids and an array of beautiful flowers in well kept gardens in November!! You could easily spend a week in this complex of hotels and not visit anywhere else. Everywhere is spotless, we never once saw a piece of litter. We ate in both the Med and Basilico Italian restaurants, both the food and service were excellent, the managers in the Med Restaurant were very attentive and had time to chat about the hotel and the island of Maderia. Thoroughly enjoyable stay, I would highly recommend this Hotel and hope to return soon, but for much longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review posted on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at Eden Mar. So good to know that overall you had an enjoyable experience profiting of the hotel grounds and facilities. Our apologies for some noise due to some outlet changes in Eden Mar, already finished.


We will be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    928
    242
    28
    7
    3
See reviews for
205
825
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We have recently returned from a week long holiday at the Eden Mar, it is a beautiful hotel and the staff are generally charming and friendly.
One area that could do with improvement is the check-in procedure, as we arrived with a coach load of people and our cases were last off we were faced with an unacceptably long wait while we queued to receive our keys, other hotels tend to have some sort of meet and greet with a welcome drink allowing people to drift off to reception in their own time to register?
There was was a bit of an issue with building noise bit when we pointed this out it was reduced to an acceptable level and the hotel management gave us some tokens of apology (wine, free meal, fruit basket)
The hotel is smartly decorated and furnished and the kitchenette is more than adequate to prepare a simple meal if you so wish.
The gardens are simply stunning although probably past their best for the year when we stayed.
Probably due to the time of year there were none of the issues with sunbeds thankfully but that didn't stop one of my fellow Brits shamefully making a show of himself by using foul language over something trivial - shame on him!
We got into the habit of watching some of the evening music acts which I enjoyed a lot, they were generally local and not the usual cheesy holiday singers.
Would I return to Madeira? definitely, would I stay at the Eden Mar - probably yes.


Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Max P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Eden Mar hotel and for sharing it on TripAdvisor.
Good to know that overall you had an enjoyable experience with us.

We will be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We have travelled to Madeira about 10 times but this was our first stay at the Eden Mar Suite Hotel. A fabulous hotel, in a great location with friendly and helpful staff. The gardens and pool complex are just lovely. By far the best hotel we have stayed in. We had a junior suite which was just the right size for us - two adults and a nearly teenager. The only downside is that the outdoor pools are cold, but they have been at every other hotel we've stayed in on the island. The indoor pools are nice and warm, and not crowded.
We didn't eat in the restaurants in the evenings, so can't comment on the food, but we had plenty of ice creams at the Dolce Lima which moved to the Eden Mar complex during our stay. The breakfasts at the Alfama restaurant were good.
We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LKB621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Eden Mar hotel and for sharing it on TripAdvisor.
Good to know that you had a positive experience with us and for sure that we will be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to madeira

Please note that among the five pools we have within the Vila Porto Mare complex ( including the children pool) three are heated two are not.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Just back from a lovely week at the Eden Mar. Most of the points have already been covered in other reviews but a summary:
Positives: Position, spacious and beautifully kept gardens and grounds, large swimming pools (wonderful indoor spa pool), excellent gym, very helpful staff (my two requests for an extra chair for our suite and to book a trip couldn't have been dealt with better), great breakfasts (although we preferred the smaller restaurant in Eden Mar, rather than main restaurant), very good a la carte restaurants (great quality, good service, fair prices), lots of other bars and restaurants within just metres of reception, great supermarket underneath the complex.
Negatives: The main buffet Med restaurant is over priced at 27 Euros unless you are REALLY hungry and can do full justice to the food available (soup, starter, main, dessert, cheese). We didn't use it. Some of the entertainment wasn't to our taste - a bit old fashioned but that's a personal thing.

We had no problem getting loungers - masses of space - but the hotel wasn't full. Chatting to staff the hotel gets full again in Dec/Jan esp with Northern Scandinavians escaping their winter!

Overall I think it is wonderful hotel and complex and we will be returning!

Room Tip: All the rooms face the seas but try to get a room higher up (floor 2 or above). Also some central ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TIM D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the “Great week at the Eden Mar” review about your holiday experience at our hotel.

Happy to learn that overall you had a great week.

See you around soon,

Warm regads,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Just finished a week stay at the Eden Mar. Room was very nice and kept very clean. The gardens and pools are lovely. This is the perfect place for a quiet week in the sun. The breakfasts were tasty. Best to take breakfast in the Porto Mar restaurant rather than the Eden Mar. The only disappointment during the stay was the dinners. I had bought three nights half board but I would not recommend that. Best to eat at the neighbouring restaurants. The Porto Mar Buffet and the Med were below expectations. However, we did have a very nice meal in the Alfama restaurant.

Room Tip: Take a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nhb001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at Eden Mar hotel.

We regret to know that we did not reach your expectations on the gastronomic area of our operation… In a future visit please contact our me so we can discuss this point in a more detailed so we can have more information about your dissatisfaction.

We will be most pleased to welcome you,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

just back from another wonderful stay in funchal. what a spectacular hotel this is with its wonderful pools, catering and location. lots of nice little restaurants within walking distance. ideal for the two of us who needed a fairly quiet holiday with lots of sunbathing surrounded by beautiful flowers.

Room Tip: a balcony facing west meant that we had all morning to look forward the sun when we came up from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for another stay and for the review shared on TripAdvisor about it. So pleased to know that you had a positive holiday experience.

It will be a pleasure for all of us to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,


Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have just returned from an excellent week at the Eden Mar. We stayed in room 1421 which is a Junior Suite on the fourth floor, overlooking the pool with a lovely sea view. The room was large, had a television in the bedroom and another in the seating part. The kitchen area was more than adequate for our needs with a decent sized fridge and we we had plenty of glasses for beer or wine on the balcony and plates etc for a quick snack lunch. The bathroom had his and hers sinks a very good shower over the bath, as well as the obligatory toilet and bidet. Bath robes are provided as are beach towels and as a bonus, a beach bag for you to keep. The room was cleaned every day and was kept spotless. The hotel appears really well run, being exceptionally clean with friendly staff who were always helpful. Breakfast can be taken in either the Eden Mar or the Porto Mar restaurant whichever you prefer. There is a good selection of restaurants nearby including Portugese, Italian and Chinese all within a 2 minute walk. Underneath the hotel is a largish supermarket which sells most things including fresh bread and fruit, and an excellent roast chicken perfect for a balcony lunch. The hotel is quiet, and having two indoor pools, jacuzzis, and a spa there are things to do if the weather turns a bit wet. We found the evening entertainment is a bit mixed., the guitar act was really really good, some of the other acts were not to our taste. There is a happy hour from 5 til 6:30 with two different cocktails each day at half price. We did not experience any sunbed blocking at all, although it's hardly peak season right now.

Room Tip: I doubt there are any poor rooms here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Really happy to know that you had a relaxing stay at Eden Mar. Thank you for choosing us, for such a comprehensive review about our hotel and your holiday feelings.

Sincerely hope to meet you in a future stay with us,


Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,675 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 728 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 2,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#8 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 965 reviews
0.6 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#13 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,007 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#14 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Hotel Eden Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Eden Mar

Property: Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Address: Rua Gorgulho 2 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#10 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Eden Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divided into studios, superior studios, junior suites and suites, this four star hotel's 146 spacious rooms have been redecorated with textiles in warm pastel colours, completely new furniture and LCD televisions. The kitchenettes have been completely renovated and are equipped with a stove, fridge and microwave oven. The Suite Hotel Eden Mar belongs to the Vila Porto Mare resort, and shares facilities which are also common to other outlets – Hotel Porto Mare and The Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Suite Hotel Eden Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Hotel Funchal
Eden Mar Madeira
Suite Hotel Eden Mar Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing