We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday at the Eden Mar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Ranked #8 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2013

All the good things that have been said are true. Although we had a basic room (not a suite), all our needs were catered for - tea and coffee making facilities, bath robes, English TV channels (ITV, BBC1 and 2), air conditioning, kitchenette with everything you need to make a drink or a full meal. The staff were friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. The food was very good, especially breakfast where you could get a full English style breakfast and champagne (Portuguese fizzy wine) if you wanted - surprising how many people did! The hotel is surrounded by shops, restaurants and cafes. There is even a "proper" (as opposed to a tourist) supermarket underneath the hotel where you can get everything, including a very palatable bottle of white wine for under 2 euros. The pool areas, both indoor and out, were great and plenty of sunbeds for everyone. I can't really fault it and will definitely be back as I loved Madeira (this was our first trip) and will definitely return to this hotel. Just a couple of observations - if you want "real" tea, take some with you as the tea supplied in the room and for sale in the supermarkets is not the same. Coffee supplied in the room is decafinated but you can easily pick up the full fat stuff in the supermarket. Last but not least, take some skirt hangers if, like mine, your skirts have lost their loops for hanging.

Room Tip: I asked for a high room and wasn't disappointed - we were on the 5th floor and had fantastic sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kayboia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Good to know that we were able to “sponsor” a first positive holiday experience in Madeira. Next stay in our hotel and you will be entitled to some benefits as you will become a prestige member of our hotels…
Thank you for sharing on tripadvisor your thoughts about your holiday experience.

It will be a pleasure to see you around.

Warm regards

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

637 - 643 of 1,463 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was our first visit to both Madeira & the Eden Mar & we weren't disappointed with either. We chose Eden Mar as all reviews were positive & there seemed to be nothing negative apart from the 'sunbed wars' which we didn't really encounter there was some reserving of beds in favourite spots but there was still plenty of choice in other areas. We assumed this is more of a problem in Summer & as we are returning in June perhaps we'll find out!!
We celebrated our Anniversary whilst there & we were treated to beautiful flowers rose petals &
sparkling wine. We stayed in a junior suite it was spacious with lovely views & immaculate. In all our years of travel we have never returned to the same Hotel so I think that says it all - see you in June Eden Mar.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maturecouple70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

We will be most pleased to welcome you in June 2014…
Next summer we will be implementing new rules on sun lounge and pool towels use so we can do a better service to all our guests.
Thank you for taking some of your time sending us feedback about your first holiday experience at our hotel. Luckily there is a second coming soon and who knows in the future.

It will be a pleasure to see you around.

Warm regards

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Once again the Eden Mar provided us with a fantastic weeks holiday. We were there in late September to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. As always the staff in the Porto Mare complex were attentive and friendly towards their guests. The food is always of a high quality especially so in the Med restaurant where we dined on a couple of occasions. Here I would add that in my opinion the service and standard of the food in the Med is on a par with that in some Michelin Star restaurants I have eaten in in the UK. We have stayed in the Eden Mar a number of times over the past thirteen years and also in the Porto Mare hotel and we look forward to returning next April for our annual two weeks in the Residence.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank sherbornedorset_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Your review shared on tripadvisor increase the expectations about our hotel, services and facilities,…several stays during the last thirteen years , different times at Med restaurant and more… I have already shared your thoughts with all my team so they now how their work is recon by our dear guests. THANK you so much for everything

Sincerely hope to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Once again the Eden Mar gave us a wonderful, relaxing holiday.
I've lost count of the number of times we've stayed there and cannot praise the staff enough for their professional approach to making their guests feel welcome on Madeira.
It would be difficult and unfair to single out one group of staff for their efforts to give the best possible holiday experience to their guests as all work together to provide excellent food, immaculately clean rooms, beautiful pool area and gardens, not to mention the Reception Staff who have all the local knowledge you could ever need should you want to explore the island.
Thank you once again!
We’ll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tilly096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the “Back Again” review sent to tripadvisor and for another stay with us.

It will always be a pleasure to see you around,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was our second stay at the Eden Mar, two weeks late Sept to early October. Once again a great experience at this excellent hotel. We stayed in a standard room which although not as spacious as the suite we had last time is still above average in size compared to most hotels we have stayed in, and includes a kitchenette with fridge. We requested a higher floor to benefit from unrestricted sea views. The hotel reception staff were just brilliant and set the standard for others to follow. The extensive gardens and pool areas make this a great place to relax. Our only negative comment is a wish that the hotel would enforce their stated policy of not allowing pool side sun beds to be reserved; this may be a culture thing where elderly Brits & Germans feel the need to reserve the best sun beds even though they spend little time using them. We ate in the hotel on a couple of nights and the food as ever was excellent, but mostly we enjoyed exploring the restaurants both local to the hotel and in Funchal old town. We checked out several other hotels in the area, but can find no reason to stay anywhere else in Madeira other than the Eden Mar.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for staying again at Eden Mar hotel and for taking some of your precious time sending us feedback about it.
Glad to know that overall you had another positive experience.

We will be most pleased to welcome you back in your third visit to Madeira,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Been to Eden Mar 5 times and it is such a great hotel. All the rooms I have stayed it have been great and we had a brand new kitchenette this year. This is one of the good things about Eden Mar, the ability to cook small meals and keep food and drink cold. Having access to the next door Porta Mare hotel facilities means there are 4 pools, 2 jacuzzis, several bars, a great gym (I used it every day) and 2 breakfast restaurants. The hotel also does an offer for dinner so that you can by tickets for the buffet restaurant at a discount. We went there 5 times. There is lots of choice but I did find the puddings disappointing. Loads of choice but they were all tasteless. The nightly entertainment wasn't mostly to my taste but the tv had loads of channels - nearly 50. The hotel has beautiful gardens to enjoy and the staff are really nice. We also went onthe cider trip arranged by thr hotel and were thoroughly spoilt. That was a day out to remember. I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catherinewillows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Another stay at Eden Mar, 5 times…Thank you for your support by staying again with us. Thank you also for your review shared on tripadvisor.
So pleased to know that you have enjoyed the visit to Santo da Serra on the cider day. That is one of the activities we organize and were we show our visitors some of the traditional things we still have in our island. Thank you for participating on it.

See you soon,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed in junior suite for 2 weeks at the end of Sept. New carpets fitted in corridor after painting finished also in corridor outside suite. Upgrading of pool bar below our balcony during day and drilling below the hotel in shopping mall . To be able to say that it was a holiday enjoyed and a return planned shows the excellent staff and facilities that was on offer. The food is to die for and the gardens and pools are world class. No should be worried about staying at this paradise in the garden of Eden. Thomson rep Margaret was on hand if needed and was always able to advise as required .

Room Tip: Rooms on level 2 or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillybean49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

First off all thank you very much for your understanding regarding the works who did take place in our resort during your holidays. Also good to know that in spite of this facility upgrades you managed to relax and enjoyed your stay with us.

Doce Lima is already opened with tasty ice creams and some more gastronomic options in Alfama mainly at lunch time…next time do not forget to try it.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you in a another future visit

Warm regards

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 88 in Funchal
2,217 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
869 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Hotel Eden Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Eden Mar

Address: Rua Gorgulho 2 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Funchal
#6 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $132 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Eden Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divided into studios, superior studios, junior suites and suites, this four star hotel's 146 spacious rooms have been redecorated with textiles in warm pastel colours, completely new furniture and LCD televisions. The kitchenettes have been completely renovated and are equipped with a stove, fridge and microwave oven. The Suite Hotel Eden Mar belongs to the Vila Porto Mare resort, and shares facilities which are also common to other outlets – Hotel Porto Mare and The Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Suite Hotel Eden Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Hotel Funchal
Eden Mar Madeira
Suite Hotel Eden Mar Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing