We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable first visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Ranked #6 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Enjoyable first visit”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

First ever visit to Madeira and first time staying the Eden Mar. We booked with Thomson and were looked after well by Margaret.

Very busy check in when we arrived, so the reception staff were rushed but surprisingly managed to tell us everything we needed to know. Keys at the ready, off we went to find our rooms.As we sauntered through the hotel initial observations rendered it very clean and as we later found out that is consistent throughout the resort. My mum was initially very disappointed with her room. We had upgraded to superior rooms and they are HUGE. However, our booking had indicated a "sea view". We could not see out to the sea instead we had the view of the courtyard. The receptionist apologised and explained that all rooms facing the sea were considered to be "sea view" rooms (whether you can see it or not). Due to the busy check ins she was not able to find rooms with better views but reassured us she would speak with the manager the next morning. This was not necessary as my mum discovered our second room had a lovely view of the courtyard/opposite side of the hotel albeit no sea view. We simply swapped rooms and my sister and I were not overly fussed. Perhaps the "sea view" ought to be explained more clearly so expectations are not set. The room itself I cannot fault. I love the kitchenette facility. The bathroom was huge and I nearly died seeing double sinks! I have never seen double sinks in a standard hotel room.

Aside from initial hiccup we were very happy with the resort. It was great to have the benefit of 3 resorts, so this means numerous pools. There were plenty of sun loungers but realised that in order to get decent beds you needed to reserve with your towels first thing in the morning.

The buffet breakfast was amazing. There was a huge choice and we thoroughly enjoyed the selection of breads. The staff were very polite and friendly, again a running theme throughout the resort.

We only stayed on a b&b basis but decided to experience their seafood themed buffet. It was lovely. Large selection of sea food, I overloaded myself with fresh prawns.

The only negative is the lack of internet. This was only available in the public areas namely the reception areas. Although whilst we were there (second week of July) there were installing internet for rooms. Not sure if this is going to be a free service.

The location was excellent. Just a short stroll into the town centre. There was plenty to see on the route which kept us enthralled. It was just a shame the freak heatwave resulted in the use of their courtesy coach. This was a massive plus for this Porto Bay resort. Lots and lots of places to eat within short strolling distance just beware the extreme slope up to the main road. A tip to avoid that is to stroll across to Porto Mar and exit there instead. It adds additional distance but for those unable to make the steep climb it is a better alternative route.

All in all a terrific resort worthy of all the positive reviews it has received. I would certainly recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Roaringmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for let us know that you had a positive first holiday experience in Madeira and our resort in particular.

Regarding the room types of Eden Mar, we do not sell our rooms by the view.
The room categories we have are studios, superior studios, junior suites and suites. The majority of this units do have a sea view, but some don’t.

Sincerely hope to welcome you on a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,054
    270
    30
    7
    3
See reviews for
235
938
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have just returned after another wonderful holiday this time we celebrated our golden wedding ,the hotel were great on the morning of our event we received flowers and champagne on the evening we had our meal in the Med restaurant with our family .They also gave us more champagne and a lovely cake,the table was covered in rose petals a lovely touch.We had a suite this time what a view ,the staff are very nice and helpful also the the food great .As this is our 10th visit to this hotel we must be one satisfied customer . We are now looking into our next holiday there a big thank you once again to the staff and manager of the restaurants.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ronald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is rewarding to know that we had a positive impact on your special holiday at Eden Mar. Thank you for your recent stay and for sharing with so many holiday makers your holiday experience.

Sincerely hope to welcome you on a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelton
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just returned from the Eden Mar/PortoMar 4 star hotel complex in Funchal Portugal. After booking the Eden Mar we arrived and found we had been moved to the Porto Mar which is the sister hotel ajoined to the Eden Mar. This suprised us but after a short discussion with Excellent staff at the reception it was no problem just an issue with the type of room booked not being available in the Eden Mar. The porter led us to our room where we found Wine and Fruit,Water and a beautiful room with great sea views so a good move on our part. The hotel complex has beautiful grounds and great out door pools and a beautiful Spa and Indoor pool that was very clean as was the whole complex to be fair. The hotel staff in all the various departments were the nicest of people, always having a smile on their faces and only to willing to help whatever the request. The cleaners ensure the room and bathroom were cleaned to the highest standard every day if wanted and nothing was missed. The bar staff on an evening followed the general trend not missing a trick from being efficient and always having time for a chat, the general manager even made an appearance and same result nice and helpful.
We were on B&B basis, so breakfast was important and it didnt fail, the main restaraunt in the Porto Mar side had everything including Champagne if you wanted, it is said to be the best breakfast of most hotels in Funchal. The grounds around the pool areas and gardens generally had enough sun loungers but the usual reseving beds fwent on but we could generally get a bed somewhere but not always where we wanted unless we reserved it, the odd occasion going down around 08.00hrs just to make sure, not bad really. The garden area where we tried to sit was looked after very well, clean and the grass well cut.
Not a lot of kids around the hotel but the families that were there appeared to enjoy themselves although the entertainment at night was good for adults but we did not see much for children. the grounds appeared to have been well thought of for disabled people, plenty of ramps good access to elevators and once again a great attitude from the staff to help, this being shown when a child hurt her foot and the hotel provided a wheel chair and any help the family wanted.
Just a word regarding the Thomson rep, Margaret was always available if required, she was chatty and very knowledgable. The Reps meeting with her lasted approx 1.30hrs and was informative and helpful so dont listen to any poor reports, yes some info we didnt need but there were other people that may have done, and the 2 restaraunts she advises to go to, Hotel de Forte and the Solar da Ajuda were both excellent and of the highest quality.

Room Tip: The views from the Porto Mar looked to be better most having sea views with decent balcoies, ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stewart773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Porto Mare and for sharing on tripadvisor a full report about our resort. We are really pleased to learn that you had such a great holiday experience with us.

Regarding the sunbeds around the pools area, yes some days it has been a bit more difficult to control, most probably we will come up with a another solution to be implemented during summer 2014 so we can be more effective on the control of these of equipment.

Sincerely hope to see you around soon,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey Uk
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We booked this trip as a last minute week away following the feedback on trip advisor the bar was set quite high, but the experiance didn't disappoint. Compared to our last couple of holidays in much bigger all inclusive resorts this was bliss, no hassle trying to get tables and sun beds!
Very clean and linen napkins make it feel a cut above!
We did ask to ask to change room on arrival and the receptionist organised this for us.
Food was excellent and we tried many things that we would not normally order, loads of traditional fish dishes.
The hotel is in a great location, we used a tourist bus to spend a day out.
Will definitely be back...........

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

So good to know that we were able to meet your holiday expectations. Thank you for sharing your feedback on tripadvisor.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you on another opportunity,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at the Eden Mar in July 2013. On arrival the receptionists were very friendly and welcoming and our junior suite was spic and span. We were delighted to find a small kitchenette with 2 hobs, a combined microwave/oven/grill, large fridge and an array of crockery, cutlery and pans. The balcony overlooked the pools with a sea view. There is a supermarket just around the corner. There are three hotels linked together with shared facilities (but different type rooms to cater for all tastes). The grounds are extremely spacious (13,000 square metres) and there are enough sun loungers available any time of the day. My only grouse (a small one) is that the loungers are not particularly comfortable. There is a courtesy bus into town (a 40 minute walk away). We stayed a week and took it once (and then walked back). The hotel is in the main 'hotel complex' and is up a fairly steep hill. Before we came to Madeira some friends described it as 'heart attack hill'. This is a gross exaggeration. There is a beautiful park half-way to break your journey if you need to do so !

We flew with Thomson. Having experienced them before I had several misgivings, but I am delighted to say they proved me wrong. Thomson were efficient, helpful and friendly. We purchased extra leg room seats for £15 per person per trip and these were worth every penny.

Yes I would definitely go again ....both to the Eden Mar and with Thomson.

Well done...we had a fantastic week. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonCitytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your “Excellent Hotel on Paradise Island” feedback shared on tripadvisor.
Thank you also for sharing with so many different holiday makers your opinion about our resort and Madeira in general.

It will be a pleasure to welcome on a future visit

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have just returned from a one week stay at the Eden Mar. Having heard lots about it from family who have stayed here on a number of occasions, we were really looking forward to coming and hoping it would be as good as it sounded. Well, we were certainly not let down. We stayed in a studio which was clean and spacious and the shower was amazing! The room was cleaned daily and toiletries and tea/coffee were replaced whenever needed. The breakfasts were lovely with so much choice and we had two meals at the buffet restaurant which were very tasty. The entertainment team at the hotel work so hard and we really enjoyed many of the activities including football, water volleyball and water gym. We also attended the BBQ and the Pink Party which were great fun. The staff are really fabulous- we don't think we've ever been somewhere where every single member of the staff are so polite, kind and happy all the time. We can't wait to return but just hope next time the sun bed saving will have been stopped as this is the only reason we haven't given it 5 stars. (Perhaps someone could be out by the pool early in the morning making sure nobody is leaving their towels down?)Thanks for a really great holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexjoe2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor and for your stay at Eden Mar hotel. It is good to know that in general we were able to meet your holiday expectations in spite of the sunbeds issue which we are looking for solution…(not easy…)

We will be most pleased to welcome you again in any of our hotel properties.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyneside
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was our first time to Madeira and we chose to stay at the Eden Mar Suites and were very pleased with what we found. The staff proved to be excellent, being both friendly and helpful. The receptionists were especially so, they were a mine of useful information and always appeared interested and cheerful even though they are probably asked the same questions by most visitors.

The public areas, reception, the restaurants, bars and gardens are spotless and very well maintained. All the rooms open out onto the pool/garden areas. Our room was large, comfortably furnished and had a good view over the gardens and pools to the sea. The bathrom was also very spacious with twin sinks, a bath and good shower. We also had a small kitchen area with fridge, microwave, hotplate and plenty of utensils, crockery and cutlery.

Breakfast was buffet style and could be taken in the hotel or its adjoining sister hotel which we opted to do because of the lovely views. The was a wide choice of food, from cereals, fresh fruit, various breads, hams cheeses, toasts and jams or a cooked selection. We mainly ate out on an evening but opted for a couple of evening meals (themed buffets) which were also good.
We did not really stay in for the evening entertainment as we preferred to walk into Funchal, however, other guests we spoke to seemed to enjoy the various offerings provided.

The swimming pools (inside and outside) are very well maintained and there were plenty of sun loungers and umbrellas. I used the spa once for a sauna, and would have used it more but did not because it cost 5 euros an hour which I found surprising. The gardens are also beautifully kept and it was good to be able to find a shaded quiet comfortable spot to sit and read.

The hotel is in a good location about 20 - 30 mins walk from Funchal. There is a frequent courtesy bus(coach) which drops off and collects in Funchal if you did not want to walk.
I would definitely recommend the hotel as we had a very comfortable and relaxing holiday there.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter and have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darkdweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor and for your first stay at Eden Mar hotel.

Thank you also for such a comprehensive review and really happy that you took a very positive impression of our services and facilities.

We would be most pleased to welcome you on a second visit to our island,

arm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,852 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
2,036 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#8 of 86 in Funchal
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
1,883 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 86 in Funchal
2,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Hotel Eden Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Eden Mar

Property: Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Address: Rua Gorgulho 2 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#10 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Eden Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divided into studios, superior studios, junior suites and suites, this four star hotel's 146 spacious rooms have been redecorated with textiles in warm pastel colours, completely new furniture and LCD televisions. The kitchenettes have been completely renovated and are equipped with a stove, fridge and microwave oven. The Suite Hotel Eden Mar belongs to the Vila Porto Mare resort, and shares facilities which are also common to other outlets – Hotel Porto Mare and The Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Suite Hotel Eden Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Hotel Funchal
Eden Mar Madeira
Suite Hotel Eden Mar Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing