We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Even better second time around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suite Hotel Eden Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Ranked #10 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Even better second time around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was my second visit to the Eden Mar hotel. The previous visit was in 2001 before the Porto Mare complex was built. The hotel was good before but is now exceptional. The facilities of the Eden Mar are shared with the Porto Mare hotel which adds fabulous swimming pools, gardens, a spa, sports facilities, restaurants and bars.
Everything from the reception to the bedroom to the pool was first class. The staff were very helpful and always smiling. The bedroom was kept very clean and tidy and the leisure facilities were excellent.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanB14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Happy to know that we were able to exceed your first holiday experience. In fact Eden Mar has gained more value with the opening of Porto Mare as all the facilities and servicies can be used by all the guest of Vila Porto Mare.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    941
    246
    28
    7
    3
See reviews for
210
834
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
north staffs
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We recently stayed at the Eden Mar to celebrate our 40th Wedding anniversary. The hotel was recommened by friends. We can only say what a wonderful hotel it is. The location was excellent. The hotel facilities were spot on. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and kept very clean by the housekeeping staff. The food was always delicious. We can also recommend Restaurant Med (see separate review). We will be returning to this wonderful hotel. P.S. The hotel grounds and gardens are out of this world. Kew watch out!

Room Tip: You could ask for a high floor to get a marvellous sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EDANDCYNTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Glad we made a positive contribution on the celebration of a special event at Eden Mar hotel. Thank you for sharing your opinion on tripadvisor and we really hope to welcome you soon.


Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just arrived back in England from a 2 week stay in this wonderful hotel, could not find one fault in two weeks, staff so helpful and friendly, hotel modern and clean, fantastic pools, great food, rooms spacious and quiet, good gym to work off the food and beer in, this is the best hotel I have ever stayed in and reasonable price to boot, wonderful Eden Mar and a fifteen minute walk down to the city of Funchal with all its classy bars and cafes.

Room Tip: The rooms are all great, but the higher rooms have a better sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MARK H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you’re the “wonderful Eden Mar” review posted on tripadvisor. We are really pleased to know that you had a very positive holiday experience in our resort.

Sincerely hope to welcome you on a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Having stayed at the Eden Mar in January we searched around for an alternative location for our June break. After lengthy periods scouring the internet we concluded we could not do better than make a return visit.
The level of service and individual attention in the Porto Bay group is of the highest order and really hard to match elsewhere. Sophia in reception deserves a special mention but honestly everyone is so kind and helpful it is hard to pick out an individual. Lovely surroundings, great entertainment in the evenings what more can one want.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david_major24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion shared on tripadvisor about your recent visit to Madeira. I will proudly share your thoughts with Sofia for which I thank you.

Sincerely hope to see you around soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Back from our first trip to Madeira staying at the Eden Mar. On arrival at the hotel, we were greeted by Cecilia, one of the receptionists. She was very informative and professional and a worthy ambassador for the hotel of which the management should be very proud. We had a full sea view room which was very spacious and cleaned by our house keeper Judy who did a fabulous job. The grounds are beautiful, full of different flowers, shrubs and trees and are kept immaculate. The pool area inside and out is excellent and plenty of sunbeds. The breakfast was great and so was Andre who looked after us for most of the time. I would highly recommend this hotel for it's facilities, grounds, views and most importantly the staff. We will return. Thank you to the Eden Mar for a wonderful first trip to Madeira!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent visit to Madeira. Thank you also for the public praise of some of my team members. I am sure they will be most pleased to receive your thoughts.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you on a future visit to our island.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Back to the Manchester rain yesterday from our second visit to this lovely hotel. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful and what can I say about the food - the array was like a picture and I felt guilty spoiling it by taking a portion. The restaurants cater for all tastes and the facilities at the complex are amazing. There are lots of areas to relax both inside and outside and whether you want to be near the action at the poolside or in a more tranquil area it is all on hand.

Funchal was a lovely place to explore despite the renovations on the seafront and the trip on the cable car to the palace and gardens at Monte was excellent. We used the courtesy bus several times but the local taxis are very reasonable and a good alternative. I spent my birthday there and had a lovely surprise when we returned in the afternoon to find a bottle of 'bubbly' awaiting. (Many thanks to the hotel for this thoughtful gesture).

Can't wait to return again (maybe for a bit longer next time!) - meanwhile it's back to editing all the photos I took.

We will definitely be recommending the Eden Mar to all our friends.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite on the first floor over the restaurant and really liked it. As we came in Jun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazzanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the “fantastic” review about your holiday experience at Eden Mar Hotel
We are pleased to know that you had such a pleasant stay and hopefully will give us the pleasure of welcoming you on a future visit to Madeira Island.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

If you book in the Eden Mar you have all of the facilities of it's more expensive sister hotel Porto Mare. The restaurants are lovely, good quality food with excellent service. The pools are lovely and so are the spa's. The grounds are really well kept, immaculate in fact. The people are friendly, plenty of sun beds and parasols. There are shops and other restaurants within walking distance although there is an incline up to the road. Loads of taxis and a courtesy bus into Funchal (if you can bear to tear yourself away from the resort) we will most definitely be back.

Room Tip: The higher the floor level, the better the view and there are lifts. Ask for a sea view not facing o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback about your recent stay at Eden Mar and happy to learn that you have enjoyed it.

sincerely hope to welcome you back on a near future,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#8 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,719 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 735 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 2,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#7 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 972 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 722 reviews
0.6 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#13 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Hotel Eden Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Eden Mar

Property: Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Address: Rua Gorgulho 2 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#10 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Eden Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divided into studios, superior studios, junior suites and suites, this four star hotel's 146 spacious rooms have been redecorated with textiles in warm pastel colours, completely new furniture and LCD televisions. The kitchenettes have been completely renovated and are equipped with a stove, fridge and microwave oven. The Suite Hotel Eden Mar belongs to the Vila Porto Mare resort, and shares facilities which are also common to other outlets – Hotel Porto Mare and The Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Suite Hotel Eden Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Hotel Funchal
Eden Mar Madeira
Suite Hotel Eden Mar Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing