We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eden Mar Suite wins again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suite Hotel Eden Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Eden Mar Suite wins again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We recently returned from a two week stay in Eden Mar. As usual all staff were friendly and most efficient; the hotel was clean throughout. We ate in all restaurants - including Il Basilico - and could not fault either the food or service - particularly when I was not well the staff in Alfama were exceptionally helpful. In the evenings it was always a pleasure to walk in the garden where the smell of Jasmine practically bowled you over. Away from the hotel, the Jacaranda trees are a sight to behold! We look forward to our 20th visit next May!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wisteria841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

… We look forward to y(our) 20th visit next May! ..Thank you for sharing your feedback on tripadvisor . Happy to know that once again we managed to fulfill your holiday needs and that you had another positive holiday experience.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,006
    265
    28
    7
    3
See reviews for
224
899
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

There's little we can add to what we've written before (see reviews June 2011 and June 2012). As usual nothing is too much trouble for the brilliant staff. The hotel grounds are still beautiful and our room was spotlessly clean with an extremely comfortable bed. I'd spend time sitting there for part of the evening with one eye on the TV (among other English stations you receive BBC 1, BBC 2 and ITV) and the other at my amazing views. At breakfast on Thursdays we were unexpectedly entertained by a small Madeiran folk band, working their way round the tables. What a wonderful start to the day!

When we arrive at the hotel it's like coming home, and when we leave it makes me cry.

Thank you again Eden Mar.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DHSLEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

“Our second home”..I will proudly share your thoughts about your recent visit to Eden Mar. I am sure all my team will be most pleased to read your comments THANK YOU.


We will be most pleased to see you around soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We went with a travel company on a package and just chose from their brochure with no real idea of what to expect [first visit to Madeira]. We were very pleasantly surprised. It was our first experience of a complex with 3 hotels surrounding a garden with shared facilties but it worked very well. We tried all the pools and most areas of the garden which was lovely. The Eden Mar was well located and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The Eden Mar rooms have a small kitchenette which was useful for making tea and the fridge was very helpful. We would highly recommend the complex.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kvasirsblood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the “Exceeded expectations” review posted on tripadvisor about your holiday experience and for let us know that you have enjoyed it.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you for your second trip to Madeira.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weymouth
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

we have stayed at the eden mar hotel in madeira the room was fantastic, but the hotel food was second to none, the quality and selection was fantastic we ate there every night for two weeks, never wanted to venture out for a change it was so good the service and the chefs were so helpful; the pastry chef even had one of his masterpices recipes printed for us we hope to go back to the Eden Mar next year, pity all hotels cant be like this one or the sister hotel next door,from patrick and bernadette flynn weymouth uk

Room Tip: all rooms which we saw were of a very high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such a positive review about your recent stay at Eden Mar hotel. Glad to know that you have enjoyed the different gastronomic options of Vila Porto Mare and the services offered.

We will be most pleased to welcome you soon in one of our hotels.


Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just returned from a 7 day holiday at the Eden Mar, it was our first time although we were with family who come regularly. The room was fantastic, kitchenette really useful and a lovely large bedroom and sitting room. The food was fantastic, the staff so attentive and friendly, we breakfasted at both the Eden Mar and Porto Mare both as good as one another, the gardens are beautiful especially the herb garden and orchid garden.I really enjoyed using the pools, preferred the indoor one with the jacuzzi but swam in them all. I am sure we will be back again.

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony and we never noticed any excessive noise, if you want extra room the suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank metickner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Just a short note for the review shared on tripadvisor

I am really happy that you had a good time with us and it will be a great pleasure to welcome you for your second visit to Madeira.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Returning for our 5th stay at the Eden Mar we were not disappointed to find the same friendly atmosphere, and welcome, that we had experienced previously. The entire Porto Bay facility here seems to be extremely well managed by General Manager Antonio Pais. He and Food and Beverage Manager Joao Paulo Rodrigues are both very visible and approachable in the hotel which really has a benefit for the guests because, if there are any concerns, they can be raised immediately. We didn’t have any worries actually and enjoyed our room which got some later afternoon sun. Breakfast in the Alfama Restaurant was very good with Helena and Luciana being very friendly and we could also have used the Atlantico Restaurant in the Porto Mare.

There’s a Happy Hour in the Bar Oceano every afternoon from 5.00pm until 6.30pm (who’s watching the clock?!) which is worth taking advantage of and there is a similar opportunity at the Porto Mare.

There are always plenty of sunbeds available throughout the facility and there’s no need to reserve them with towels although, of course, one or two people did! There are also plenty of parasols.

The gardens are beautiful and have really come on over recent years.

If you are inclined to watch TV on holiday the rooms now have BBC1, BBC2, ITV1, Sky News and Eurosport, although the latter is not in English.

Up the hill to the main road there are a number of restaurants in all directions including Ca Te Espero (wonderful) across the roundabout and up the hill (past several other restaurants) and Casa Italia along the road to the left. Another Casa Italia is situated down the hill towards the Lido. A new restaurant, the Shelter, opened at the end on 2012 just outside the hotel to the right. We tried it and it was chaos as no one seemed to know what they were doing. The food wasn’t the worst in the world but we won’t go again! We did go to Londres in the town which is very local and friendly with great food.

The hotel runs a regular courtesy bus into the centre of Funchal if you don’t fancy the half hour walk.

There’s a Pingo Doce supermarket down this hill but be aware that they don’t take debit or credit cards for under 20 euros which is a change from previously.

We’ll be back at the Eden Mar in the future and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, and Porto Bay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank notwen44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent 5th visit to Eden Mar hotel and for being such a great supporter of our properties.

I will proudly share your thoughts with all me team but in particular with the colleagues mentioned by you. THANK YOU

Sincerely hope to welcome you on a future visit to Madeira.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Very friendly staff, lovely breakfast buffets, great pools (although could have been warmer!), grounds and facilities all great. Room furniture slightly outdated but otherwise room big and good sea view.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rooonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for your recent stay at Eden Mar and for your review abut it on triadvisor.

Happy to learn that overall you had a positive holiday experience.

Hopefully see you around soon.

Warm regards

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,673 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,926 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#11 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Hotel Eden Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Eden Mar

Property: Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Address: Rua Gorgulho 2 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Eden Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divided into studios, superior studios, junior suites and suites, this four star hotel's 146 spacious rooms have been redecorated with textiles in warm pastel colours, completely new furniture and LCD televisions. The kitchenettes have been completely renovated and are equipped with a stove, fridge and microwave oven. The Suite Hotel Eden Mar belongs to the Vila Porto Mare resort, and shares facilities which are also common to other outlets – Hotel Porto Mare and The Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Suite Hotel Eden Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Hotel Funchal
Eden Mar Madeira
Suite Hotel Eden Mar Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing