We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Our holiday exceeded our expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suite Hotel Eden Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Ranked #10 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our holiday exceeded our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Madeira and the Eden Mar really exceeded our expectations. Our 8 year old described it as his 'best holiday ever'. We thought the hotel was better than many 5 star hotels we have stayed in and certainly better than most 4 star hotels. We had booked a junior suite and the hotel did not have our booking; said they were fully booked, so had to upgrade us to a suite! The suite was huge with a balcony the size of a ballroom with sunbeds, 2 TV's, plenty of wardrobe space and kitchenette. We were very reluctant to leave our room and had many meals on the balcony, including room service one evening. The whole property is spotlessly clean, equipment of a high standard and we used the fabulous indoor pools and jacuzzis every day. I loved the spa feel of the white bathrobes that everyone used walking around the property. There did not seem to be many people around for such a large resort and we thought it was very quiet. Our son enjoyed the outdoor chess, table tennis and crazy golf.

All staff were exceptionally professional and pleasant but particularly the reception staff. Toiletries in the bathroom and tea and coffee making facilities were well stocked but I was a bit disappointed that there was no hair conditioner. The breakfasts were good and included sparkling wine and it was nice to start the day with such an amazing view across the gardens and pool. The gardens were amazing to walk around and we loved the fact that plants were named. We did find that the resort is a little lacking in car park space but you can park under the residence apartments and this is a few minutes walk.

Next time we want some luxurious pampering we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Womble769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

So rewarding to know that we were capable to exceed your holiday expectations. Thank you for sharing your feedback about it on tripadvisor.
I will pay good attention on the minor things mentioned and see what we can do about it.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you soon in our hotel

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    943
    246
    28
    7
    3
See reviews for
210
835
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights at this resort, which we booked at very short notice. On arrival the staff at reception were extremely warm, friendly and professional. We had booked a junior suite and were pleasantly surprised when we walked into the room.

Everything was spotless and all of the amenities were in good condition. The kitchen area was small, but modern and fully functional. The bathroom was large and with an excellent powerful shower. The beds (2 singles placed side by side) were extremely comfortable, with good quality bedding and pillows.

Outside, the grounds and pool areas are maintained to a very high degree, with excellent bars and restaurants. There were a considerable number of loungers and parasols available and pool towels and robes are provided in the room. Each room had a small balcony area with views of the gardens, pool areas and the sea.

We are keen to come back here again and the reception staff showed us a standard room, which again was of excellent quality and size, with all of the facilities one would require for an enjoyable stay.

The only item that we found strange was the requirement to pay a small daily fee for the use of the room safe. It is only a small sum, but in this day and age a safe in the room is sadly a necessity.

This is an excellent hotel operated by a great team of staff, offering a fabulous quality stay for a very reasonable price. This hotel is part of a small chain and we shall definitely stay here again and will certainly look at staying at other hotels in the group. We would recommend this hotel to family and friends.

Room Tip: Very difficult, as the two types of rooms that we saw were both excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodan64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the comprehensive review about your holidays at our property . We are really happy to learn that you had such a positive experience

It will be a pleasure to welcome you in any of our properties.

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

... and that should tell you something! This time I went on the garden tour [most informative] and had some Portuguese lessons as well as the Madeiran wine tasting. The gardens are as nice as anything you would pay for and the breakfast in the Atlantida followed by a stroll through them is a great way to start the day. I always rent a car when visiting this wonderful island, so the free parking and convenient location are just right. It doesn't say anywhere that you can't smoke in the room; an ashtray is provided and every room has a balcony with a view to the gardens and ocean. Restaurants, supermarket and shops are all within easy walking distance. What more do you need?

Room Tip: Higher rooms have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cojacq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your support by staying with us once again and for your positive feedback about your holidays.
It is rewarding to know that we have been able to maintain the standards and by that meet your holiday expectations after some regular visits.

Sincerely hope to welcome you soon,.

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We went to Madeira and to the Eden Mar for 2 weeks for a special birthday and loved it. We were on a bed and breakfast rate which really suited us. The room was spacious and very clean (although we had a minor issue with ants which was speedily rectified by housekeeping). The kitchen had a hob, microwave and fridge and was very handy.

The staff were exceptional and helped my husband make arrangements for my birthday and in fact decorated it with balloons etc which the staff said they were happy and pleased to do. They were also really helpful in helping us with trips using local transport and gave us ideas on different restaurants to try in Funchal. All the staff from the reception to waiters to housekeeping were all friendly and helpful and are a credit to the hotel.

The hotel is an easy walk downhill to the town centre although we made good use of the free bus back to the hotel.

We had a couple of meals in the Med restaurant which were delicious and the steaks to die for. The alfama restaurant was one of the breakfast restaurants and although we really liked the smaller restaurant there was a better selection at the Atlantida Restaurant but it was a lot busier.

The pools were very clean and always had enough beds and brollies. There is a shopping centre below the hotel and there was a really good little supermarket within the complex which made it easy to buy essentials.

I had a facial in the spa and can honestly say that it was one of the best I've ever had. I felt very relaxed and the staff were professional and very friendly.

We would go back to the Eden Mar and really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChunkyMonkey53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a positive feedback about your recent stay at Eden Mar hotel.
We are really pleased to know that we were able to offer you good service and that you left also happy with the facilities you have used during this special holiday occasion.

We will be most pleased to welcome you in a near future,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a superb hotel with all the facilities you could possibly want. Lovely, well maintained gardens, excellent food and most importantly friendly and helpful staff for whom nothing is too much trouble.

If you are intending to go to Madeira try this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 494peterB494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for the “high standard” review shared on tripadvisor about your recent stay at Eden Mar hotel.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you once again in a future visit to Madeira

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham Wales
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago with my mum and we had a wonderful time as always and they make you feel welcome whether it is the first time you visit or as in our case the fifth.

The hotel was its usual high standard in everything - from the food and bars (special thanks to Nelson for my raspberry cosmopolitan! ) through to the cleanliness of the room and the reception staff such as Denise.

If I had one gripe it was that the room was not ready on arrival until 3.15pm and we were left hanging around waiting. However we did get a free drink while we waited.

Overall a great holiday in a great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lizzieWrexhamWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback about your holiday experience at Eden Mar. Thank you for the public praise of Nelson & Catia, I am sure they will be most happy to receive your thoughts which I will share with much pleasure.

Sincerely hope to see you in our property for many times.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from our third stay at the Eden Mar and once again we have absolutely no complaints.Everything about the staff and food is first class. The rooms are spacious and the daily housekeeping is excellent. Overall you can see the commitment and dedication to customer service from each staff member which is the reason people re visit.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review about Eden Mar hotel posted on tripadvisor.
Thank you also for the 3rd visit to our hotel and sincerely wish to see you around soon for the fourth visit.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#8 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,727 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 736 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 2,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 723 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#7 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 978 reviews
0.6 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#13 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Hotel Eden Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Eden Mar

Property: Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Address: Rua Gorgulho 2 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#8 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#10 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Eden Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divided into studios, superior studios, junior suites and suites, this four star hotel's 146 spacious rooms have been redecorated with textiles in warm pastel colours, completely new furniture and LCD televisions. The kitchenettes have been completely renovated and are equipped with a stove, fridge and microwave oven. The Suite Hotel Eden Mar belongs to the Vila Porto Mare resort, and shares facilities which are also common to other outlets – Hotel Porto Mare and The Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Suite Hotel Eden Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Hotel Funchal
Eden Mar Madeira
Suite Hotel Eden Mar Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing