We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eden Mar Suite Hotel Funchal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Ranked #8 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We have just returned from our 7th visit to the Eden Mar Suite hotel and we have had a wonderful time. The hotel is a delight to stay in and the staff our so genuinely friendly. The rooms are spotless with maid service every day. There is always a good choice of foods at breakfast as we only do b and b, but you can do full board etc. The grounds are beautiful and so beautifully kept. Plenty of pools and bars if that is what you want. This certainly wasn't our last visit to Eden Mar as we have made some wonderful friends there it is like going to visit friends as the staff seem to recognise you even after months of not seeing you. I love the Eden Mar and wouldn't stay anywhere else

Room Tip: Higher floors are better as you get a better view from them and you also get less noise. Although th...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pauline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Guest

Muito Obrigado … After staying so many times in our hotel you probably know that this two Portuguese words means Thank you…and after seven stays at Eden Mar I have to say at least for seven times…muito obrigado.

It will always be a pleasure to see you around

Warm regards,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,399)
There are newer reviews for Suite Hotel Eden Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

731 - 737 of 1,399 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was our first visit to Madeira and we chose the Eden Mar on the strength of the reviews on Tripadvisor. Despite being in the suite hotel we chose to stay half board, and the food was excellent. You can choose to eat in any of the 4 restaurants, in two of which you get an allowance from their a la carte menu. The gardens are immaculate, and the pool and all other facilities are spotlessly clean and well maintained. We had a superior sea view room and I think these are actually better than the junior suites. Not much else to add - if we were going to Madeira again we would be happy to return the the Eden Mar, definitely worth a 5 star rating.

Room Tip: We had a superior sea view room and would choose this agaim over a junior suite.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian-SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for the “excellent” review posted on tripadvisor about your first visit to Eden Mar hotel. Good to know that you profited from the different gastronomic options we have at Vila Porto Mare, that goes from an international themed buffet to Mediterranean/Italian and Portuguese cuisine.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you for a second holiday at our hotel,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We are into our 2nd week at this hotel. Our 7th visit to the hotel group. It is such a fantastic place. The hotel staff are so friendly, helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The grounds are a joy the gardens are so beautiful there is so much to see. The hotel facilities are are perfect the pools and surrounding areas are spotless. The spa has so much to offer. The bar areas are excellent as is the dining areas with great food choice. We would recommend this hotel to all. Once you visit you will not want to leave and will always come back

Room Tip: High floor east side for the evening sun
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret186380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Guest

First of all many thanks for your support by staying so many times within our hotel group.
Secondly it is a great pleasure to know that you had another positive experience and took advantage of our facilities and services.

Looking forward to see you,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had a lovely west facing room with a balcony overlooking the sea and cannot recommend this hotel too strongly. Staff were friendly, food was good, facilities all you could ask for and the hotel's 'signature', its gardens, were really beautiful. Plenty of sun loungers, two bars in the gardens, two great outdoor pools, two indoor pools, gym, mini-golf etc etc. it is about 20 minute brisk walk into Funchal but there are plenty of buses, including a shuttle bus owned by the hotel. Going away from Funchal there is lovely flattish seaside promenade. The room was well equipped, with fridge, hob, two TVs, minisafe; the only thing missing was a sofa - we had two comfortable though slightly utilitarian chairs. But plenty of space. Btw, the hotel is part of a complex owned by the Port Mare group; we thought this was a better choice than the other two, the Port Mare itself and the Residence (a timeshare), due to the way it faced. But if you prefer the morning sun, they might be better for you. It has a 5 star sister, the Cliff Bay, which looked v nice, particularly its swimming pool complex, which faced right into the sea but not so much better that we would pay the extra for it if we came back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a due west facing view if you want the longest sun. You want to be fairly high u...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ian096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Guest

Really happy to learn that you have enjoyed your holidays at “Garden of Eden” and thank you so much for giving us your feedback on tripadvisor.

It will be a pleasure to see you in any of our hotel properties in Madeira, so please do not hesitate to contact me in case you need any further assistance.

Warm regards,

Muti obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

WE have just returned from our holiday ,this hotel is one of the best we have stayed at for several years. The staff were wonderful and nothing was too much trouble for them.The rooms are large and well appointed. The kitchen contained every piece of equipment you would ever need .Tea coffee and milk were replenished each morning by our first class maid named Carol
Entertainment was to the average hotel standard.We did not see any mosquitoes the whole two
weeks we were there.I must mention the little Italian restaurant round the corner from the hotel
it served excellent food for 15 euros per head including wine or beer. Great steaks are served
at The Red Lion and good entertainment is provided by the staff

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1135 which was a corner room and very spacious .All rooms seem to be very quiet
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giljon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for sharing your opinion on tripadvisor. It is rewarding to know that overall you had a positive holiday experience.

Sincerely hope to welcome you again soon,

Warm regards,

Muti obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here for a week and really liked the hotel and would go back - it has great facilities, really nice swimming pools - one indoors with a pool to swim outdoor to and has outdoor jacuzzi, all set in beautiful gardens.The hotel is tastefully decorated with spacious rooms with kitchenette It has good bars and restuarants, when we stayed ( first week in November) it was fairly quiet too, but there is some low key entertainment in the bar areas in the evening. The breakfast buffet is great - everything you can think of - including champagne!
If we had any complaints it was paying for the room safe (including a 20 euro deposit) and the useless hairdryer which cuts out after about 30 seconds use. The restuarnt food wasn't great - walk up the road to Mamma Mia,Villa Cipriano or the pub with outdoor garden over the road.

Room Tip: High up with balcony and sea view.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review shared on Tripadvisor . Glad that overall you had a positive holiday experience.

I have taken good note of points raised and do everything possible to improve it.

Sincerely hope to welcome you soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado
...
Antonio Pais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the hotel half board in October 2012. The cleanliness could not be faulted and we found all staff to be courteous and helpful. They all had a good knowledge of English which always helps us when travelling abroad. The hotel is linked to it's sister hotel the Porto Mare in one extensive complex which includes a variety of restaurants, swimming pools and other leisure facilities all of which are available to guests of either hotel. We were a little disappointed with some of the food selections in the two buffet restaurants, main courses and accompanying vegetables were a bit unimaginative. You could book tables in the various Al A Carte restaurants for which you received a credit against the cost of your meal, the credit was unlikely to cover the full cost.
Our junior suite was well equiped, if you were self catering the kitchen area provided all you needed including full size fridge and microwave. As we had a suite there was a separate bedroom and larger balcony. It advertised sea view but it was a distance away.
Situation of the hotel was excellent, near to the promenade and about a mile and a half from the centre of Funchal. The walk was pleasant or you could alsoi book the free courtesy coach. The island is by it's nature very hilly and some older visitors seemed to be struggling to get around. Overall we had a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We booked a junior suite which was on the ground floor near to reception. There was little disturban...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cazzy093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your thoughts about your holiday experience in Madeira and Eden Mar in particular. It is rewarding o know that overall you had a positive stay and we promise to give good attention to points raised.

Looking forward to welcome you in a near future,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.0 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 88 in Funchal
2,108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
2,934 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
906 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 88 in Funchal
2,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Hotel Eden Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Eden Mar

Address: Rua Gorgulho 2 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $108 - $1,210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Eden Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divided into studios, superior studios, junior suites and suites, this four star hotel's 146 spacious rooms have been redecorated with textiles in warm pastel colours, completely new furniture and LCD televisions. The kitchenettes have been completely renovated and are equipped with a stove, fridge and microwave oven. The Suite Hotel Eden Mar belongs to the Vila Porto Mare resort, and shares facilities which are also common to other outlets – Hotel Porto Mare and The Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Suite Hotel Eden Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Hotel Funchal
Eden Mar Madeira
Suite Hotel Eden Mar Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing